We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travellers have booked this property
Eller How House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eller How House
Sitting room A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
The view from the first floor balcony
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Onepea1
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

Eller Howe house was absolutely ‘up our street’. We had loads of space and everything was of good quality and worked perfectly. Everything was decorated tastefully, we were greeted with a home-made cake and tea when we arrived. The owners John and Helen were so unintrusive that we barely saw them even though they were quick to respond to any questions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHollie
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Stunning house, fantastic stay, loved it”
Reviewed 7 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We just loved this house, it opened up and welcomed us in such a friendly way. The kitchen is well stocked. The bedrooms all ensuite the lounge so capable of accepting all of us without a squash. The bath was splendid. And the cake was so light. We sat outside for breakfast and congratulated ourselves on such a find. We hiked up through the woods and were rewarded with a stunning view. Loved it

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2018
Thank you for such lovely comments. Eller How House is our family home and we have tried to make it feel as welcoming as we can. You have had the first of the good weather this year so we are glad that you could breakfast underneath the magnolia tree.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katefdixo...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A special place.”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Full of character, lovely grounds, friendly hosts. A great location to explore the lakes or on a wet day it’s just lovely sitting in the cosy lounge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2018
We are glad that all three generations (and Stanley the dog) enjoyed their stay at Eller How House. Thank you for taking time to write a review and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Eller how house was a great house, very clean with excellent facilities. We loved the log fire and cake on arrival. The house is set in a superb set of surroundings, excellent views and great to wander around the garden. We hope to be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your weekend break and were able to take advantage of the woods.....I’ll bet the dogs had fun exploring.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl L
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 night stay in an amazing property”
Reviewed 3 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We (group of six) stayed for three nights at Eller How House to celebrate my father in laws 70th birthday. The house, grounds and history of the property is stunning and you can't help but be drawn into its relaxing atmosphere, Whilst the history of the property has been maintained the owners have done a great job in providing all the modern day essentials, in particular in the kitchen and utility room. The sitting room is the best room in the house especially with the open log fire on a cold night!

The owners are very welcoming and friendly whilst respecting the privacy of guests. We are looking forward to returning in the summer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you all again. The gardens are especially lovely in May and June when the roses are out.
John and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonka T
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Such a stunningly beautiful place. So lucky to have the chance to sleep in a bit of history. Thank you for opening up a part of the house for visitors to stay in such a perfect part of England. Can't wait to come back with all of the family next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Eller How House. We have just reserved the dates for your stay again in 2018 and we look forward to catching up with you then.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful idealic holiday location”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Our family of four and one cockapoo had a wonderful holiday at Eller How House. Tucked away from the hustle and bustle, we enjoyed long walks, a quiet read, chats over a 1000 piece puzzle, horse rides at both Witherslack's and Cumbrian Heavy Horses, and leisurely meals followed by cards or a family game. It was the perfect antidote to our usual busy lives... The house is amazing, clean and well equipped. Helen and John are wonderful hosts and we received a lovely reception of cake and tea on arrival that set the pace for a perfect family holiday. Any concerns or queries were quickly answered and we could not fault our experience. Don't hesitate to book your stay - you wont be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your family holiday at Eller How House. We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay and that you were able to explore and take advantage of some of the activities on offer in the Lake District. We hope that you will be able to come again in the future. John and a Helen Churchill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing