We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyndhurst Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyndhurst Country House
Ranked #4 of 4 Newby Bridge B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Lyndhurst Country House is a great place to stay. It is located just below Lake Windermere which is the perfect place to start your trip around the beautiful Lake District. Our room was very big, clean, quiet and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. Chris was very friendly with lots of local knowledge of places to see and great places to eat. We really enjoyed the warm and homely welcome we received when we arrived. We were celebrating a special occasion and were amazed to discover a lovely gift and card in our room. A really nice touch. Thank you Chris.
Lovely place and lovely people.

Room Tip: Just ask and Chris will do her best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaggartDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
34
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for two nights at this B&B. We were made very welcome and felt that Christine was interested in us as people, not merely somebody passing through. The room was excellent in every way and the breakfast was superb. The nearby Newby Bridge Hotel had a good restaurant and also a very acceptable bar serving food. A stroll down the bank of the River Leven after the meal was very pleasant. Newby Bridge is a good centre for the coast and also the Southern Lakes. We can't recommend this B&B enough.

Room Tip: The home made elements of breakfast were a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterGadabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at Lyndhurst Country House, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Newby Bridge and hope to see you back again soon. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just returned from 5 days at Lyndhurst, a really comfortable place to stay. Nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was perfect, the location, at the end of Lake Windermere, was ideal. We couldn't fault it, just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hertsnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at Lyndhurst Country House, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Stayed here 2 nights on business and Christine could not have been more accommodating. The room was lovely, the breakfast excellent but the hospitality and cleanliness were absolutely perfect. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lyndhurst Country House
Newby Bridge,
Cumbria, LA12 8ND, (015395 31245)
chris@lyndhurstcountryhouse.co.uk

Les & Christine Douglas

For visitors to the Lake District I would strongly recommend Lyndhurst Country House as a holiday venue especially for the south lakes and also the Grange-over-Sands area. This idyllic guest house is situated in Newby Bridge (A590) and the village is an excellent route centre affording access to a variety of different ways to Windermere (the motorist can visit this Lake District centre one way and use another approach (including a ferry B5285) if desired to return to the splendid isolation of Lyndhurst. Lakeside (Windermere steamers) is only a short distance away from Newby Bridge and Kendal can be accessed very easily. Lyndhurst Country House is a starting place of many wanderings.
We duly arrived at Lyndhurst during the mid afternoon and were greeted with a warm smile by Christine Douglas and shown to our room although our first impression of the place had been the beautiful formal gardens complete with a water feature. We were invited to the lounge for tea and coffee and homemade coffee and walnut cake. Afternoon tea was served soon after our arrival and our informal chat set the mood immediately and we both thought “Lake District here we come”.
Our room was spacious, light, airy and very comfortable. The bed was large and equipped with a firm mattress. The room had the benefit of two substantial and comfortable armchairs. The en-suite facilities in our room were excellent complete with an ample supply of towels and we later found that the shower was efficient. The tea and coffee making facilities were liberal and included homemade biscuits.
The breakfast menu would certainly suit all dietary tastes and we opted for the full English option. As in many places, guests helped themselves to starters. The food was of excellent quality and the portions on the plates were generous. The guest house had an excellent supply of relevant tourist information leaflets information for visitors.
The traditional gardens at the guest house are open to residents and the attractive grounds added to the enjoyment of our Lakeland holiday. The lawns are all trim and the species of shrubs are typical of those which thrive in the Lake District with a couple of exceptions. Lastly, one great blessing of our stay was the facility of car parking at the guest house. There is plenty of room to park a vehicle and also to reverse the same in front of the property. (Traffic wardens and competition for spaces get thee hence!).
Finally, chez Les & Christine is a property which has been tastefully extended and the guest house is scrupulously clean and tidy throughout. Les and Christine Douglas perform beyond the call of duty. Lyndhurst Country House sets very high standards for accommodation in the Lake District at an affordable price.

Ann Marie and Charles Leach

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at Lyndhurst Country House, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Well, thank you so much for your amazing and comprehensive review. You have provided so much information about us and the south Lakes area, more than we have on our web site even. We would delighted to welcome you back to stay with us again. Best wishes Les and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

You will not find a better place to stay in South Lakes. Made you feel as if you where staying with friends. On arrival pot of tea and some home made short breads still warm.
Breakfasts to die for. Room spot less even home made biscuits. Less & Christine went that extra mile which made the 2 day stay most enjoyable. Would go back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mossie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

What can we say after reading all previous reviews, we can only agree with all previous comments, on arrival Christine&Les greeted us, Christine made us a pot on tea and a slice of her home baked Victoria sponge, great choice of breakfast , very clean and pleasant Hotel with Christine and Les being one of the nicest couples we have met, have no problems recommending their Hotel, cheers Dani&Irene Crossan

Room Tip: We had a front facing room(3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at Lyndhurst Country House, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about us and Lyndhurst. We really enjoyed your company last weekend as did our other guests and we hope that you will stay with us next time you visit the Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lakes End Guest House
Lakes End Guest House
#3 of 4 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa
Swan Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndhurst Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndhurst Country House

Property: Lyndhurst Country House
Address: Newby Bridge LA12 8ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyndhurst Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lyndhurst Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndhurst Country House Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing