We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyndhurst Country House
Ranked #3 of 4 Newby Bridge B&B and Inns
Horwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for one night while meeting up with friends in Newby Bridge. It was fantastic!!
The room was very clean and comfortable and the en suite was well stocked with all the essentials. The breakfast was great and freshly made to order.
The home made biscuits in the room were an added treat!
Thank you for a lovely stay and we would definitely return when we're next in the area!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at Lyndhurst Country House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for leaving your review. We are always delighted to know when our guests have especially enjoyed their stay with us. We do hope to see you again. Christine and Les
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
37
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at the Lyndhurst this weekend just gone for a friends wedding over the road. The location was perfect for us, the rooms were great, gardens are lovely, breakfast was amazing and Christine was a cracking host. Would recommend to anyone looking for great value for money in a fantastic location to head out either east or west sides of Windemere straight from the base of the lake. Thank you very much for having us, Damien & Heather

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at Lyndhurst Country House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for leaving your great review. It is always good to know just how much our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We do hope you come back to the Lakes soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauty Point, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We recently had 3 very comfortable nights at Lyndhurst after being warmly welcomed by Christine and Les.
The house has a peaceful ambiance and comfortable feeling. It is immaculate and tastefully furnished with attention to the details. The owners are lovely friendly people who go out of their way to make you at home and offer advice on the area and what it has to offer.
Newby Bridge is a great location, a little from the bustle of the main tourist towns but only a few minutes away when you want to be in the thick of it. There are plenty of nearby places for evening meals - Christine has a few secret favorite pubs and restaurants she will share.
We come to the UK from Australia every year and will stay at Lyndhurst again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at Lyndhurst Country House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind words, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you both again next year. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived in Newby Bridge and knocked on the door. No booking. We were greeted with a lovely smile from Les and Christine. They made us feel very welcome, offering us a cup of tea and biscuits which we enjoyed in the lounge room. Our room was on the first floor with lovely views of the garden. The guest house is modern and very clean., but still with English features. It is in a great position to the lake and has lovely walks in the bush surrounding Newby Bridge. Les and Christine were very helpful with advise on our travels for the next few days. They suggested areas to see and villages to stay in on our way back to London. Excellent for us as we are from Australia and wanting to see less touristy places. I would highly recommend Lyndhurst Country House to anyone visiting the Lake District.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at Lyndhurst Country House, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Many thanks for leaving your great comments, and we are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us in Newby Bridge. I hope that you also enjoyed your visit to the Peak district and on to the Cotswolds before your long flight home. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were very happy here and hope to come again.
It is right on the A590, although with the length of the drive there was no noise nuisance; we crossed safely to the Swan for dinner with some care. There is another hotel for dinner on the same side as Lyndhurst.
We enjoyed the good standard of the breakfast and a welcoming cup of tea and cake.
Everything was very clean and recently re-painted.
The space in the bedroom was above average.
There is wifi and a combined breakfast / sitting room with a good view of the garden.

Room Tip: We had number 1 which was excellent, but have no reason not to try the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very comfortable place to stay and very good value for money. Our bedroom was excellent with a wonderful large bed. The decor was lovely and it was spotlessly clean with a lovely en suite, tea and coffee making facilities and lovely toiletries too. Excellent position for the south Lakes and within walking distance to two hotels for meals and a few drinks. Very warm welcome from Christine with a cup of tea and delicious chocolate cake. Breakfast was very nice too. We will go back and would recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 which was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at Lyndhurst Country House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Many thanks for leaving your lovely review. We are always pleased to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My friend and I were looking for a short weekend stay for walking in the south lakes, with easy access to the motorway for our return south, and Lyndhurst Guest House was the perfect location. On arrival, Christine made us very welcome, with tea and cake in the lounge, and lots of advise about where to eat, and local walks we might like to try. Throughout our three night stay both her and Les were on hand to give advise and help, but without being intrusive in any way.

The room was very clean and pleasant, a good size, with tea and coffee (and home made biscuits!), light and airy and more than enough room for two people in a twin. It was cleaned for us each morning, with beds made and supplies replenished for our return.

The breakfasts are super - good quality local food and plenty of tea, coffee and toast with Christine's home made bread (which was a lovely smell the evening before!). Having a small lounge for visitors to sit and read is a nice touch.

We did think that being next to the busy road to Barrow in Furness might make it a noisy location, but not at all. The B&B is set back from the road, which is quiet at night. Newby Bridge Hotel 5 minutes walk from the B&B serves good food.

All in all a lovely stay at a B&B we would thoroughly recommend to other travellers to the south lakes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine D, Owner at Lyndhurst Country House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for leaving you great review. It was lovely to meet you both, and we hope you decide to visit us again soon. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa
Swan Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakes End Guest House
Lakes End Guest House
#4 of 4 in Newby Bridge
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyndhurst Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyndhurst Country House

Property: Lyndhurst Country House
Address: Newby Bridge LA12 8ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyndhurst Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lyndhurst Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyndhurst Country House Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing