We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Spot for a Large Family Gathering” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Graythwaite Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newby Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Graythwaite Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Spot for a Large Family Gathering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I booked four cottages (BullPen, HomeFarm, Crabtree & CanBrow) at Graythwaite for a Christmas gathering of 26 people. Having four cottages around the courtyard for the week allowed the entire family to come together in the evenings, but allowed some space during the days. All of the cottages were well equipped and on the day of arrival the caretaker Bob (I think his name was) popped around to make sure everything was in order and was on hand to fixed any little things that needed attention during our stay. We cooked most of our big meals in the Bull Pen and with the help of some utensils or pans from other cottages we were never short of what we needed to cook for our entire group. For Christmas we even managed a sit down dinner for 26 in the Bull Pen.
The manager, Peter, was very helpful from the early days of planning all the way through until departure. Whether we were inquiring about locations around the Windermere area or arranging deliveries to the cottages he was very informative and punctual with responses. He was even very flexible with our Tesco wine delivery, receiving and storing for a couple days before our arrival to the cottages.
On the quieter side of the lake this is definitely a spot to come if you want to get away from the busyness of the city. All of the cottages we lovely, clean and comfortable for a week stay. The swimming pool was definitely a bonus and there were some great views of the lake just a 15 minute walk from the cottages.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leithrosemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    24
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
62
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I should start off by saying that The Cottages at Graythwaite are in an absolutely beautiful location and elements of the one we stayed in - Holmewell - were great. It's very big and cosy, with log fires, nice flooring and bathrooms that are decorated well. The courtyard it's set in is lovely, as are the grounds. All in all, it should and could be perfect for a large family getaway.

However, there were a few niggles for us, which we all felt were a real shame given how much The Cottages have going for them - and consequently I was torn between giving this 3 or 4 stars.

First, you have to supply your own towels, which isn't what most people would expect from what's supposed to be an upmarket holiday let. A few pieces of furniture also require some attention: the main kitchen table, which was very wobbly, one of the double beds (also wobbly) and the two high chairs that were initially supplied with old straps that simply didn't work and consequently were unsafe.

I also must mention an issue that might not bother some people but did us soft city folk: The tap water. We were told on arrival that the water supply had been tested and passed by the relevant authorities, but we may prefer to boil it before drinking if we felt more comfortable doing so.

Even when you've done this, the water remains a strange, murky colour and - backing from the relevant authorities or not - I couldn't help feeling uneasy at the idea of making up our 11 month old baby's bottles with it.

We had a lovely break overall and, as I say, there are lots of positives about The Cottages at Graythwaite. But our whole party did feel that some attention was required in some fairly fundamental areas to make it as luxurious as it looks on the website.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crinklecutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at Graythwaite Cottages, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your review with regards to Homewell. The kitchen table has been repaired, thank you. I have checked the beds and we have purchased a new double bedded mattress for the double bedroom. All beds and mattresses are checked and replaced on a regular basis. All our high chairs have been safety checked and new harnesses fitted where necessary. Homewell is rated as 4 star by Visit England and I believe it easily reaches this standard. If you want to spoil your selves then look at Cunsey Lodge, it also sleeps 8 and is rated as 4 star gold. I look forward to welcoming you to Graythwaite again in the future. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We hired the cottage for our annual xmas getaway and found it very good for all our needs. Very very sociable living area and all lovely bedrooms. The pool was great and the log fire was just enchanting.

Is very isolated but that added to the charm and as we were having a "boozy" lunch we used a local taxi service with a mini bus who ran us in and picked us up from nearby Hawkshead which was just perfect.

Lack of towels was slightly irritating, as it is a luxury place, it did seem odd that there was not towels. Also, you need to bring hairdryers, docking stations and there is no wifi in the cottage. There is at the nearby reception tho. And a payphone which was actually nice to be off the grid for the weekend.

I really hope to return ,. It was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maevelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a fantastic stay over October half term. Hilltop is in a wonderful location, with views of Lake Windermere and surrounded by woodland. Deer in the woods and jays and squirrels in the garden. Warm and cosy inside. We loved the open fire with logs from the Estate.Very clean and well stocked cottage; so helpful having a drying room for wet coats. Hilltop seems remote, but Ambleside, Windermere and Hawkshead only a short distance away. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LundyHouseOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury lancs
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Excellent directions to the cottages which are on the Graythwaite estate, very secluded but within easy reach of Hawkshead and Newby Bridge. Nice welcome from Peter the Estate Manager, cottage was spotlessly clean and well appointed with modern kitchen and bathrooms. Unlimited supply of logs for the fire from the nearby woodshed which was a nice touch. Milk delivered on alternate days and a comprehensive selection of essential groceries available from the milkman as well.
Fantastic walks around the estate starting from the front door, completely undisturbed and quiet with a total absence of traffic, ideal for re-charging the batteries which is what we were able to do.
Thanks for a fantastic break, will definitely return.

Room Tip: A good torch is essential for walks out of the cottage at night, and remember to keep the dog on a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Well this was our first visit to Hullet Hall, although we have spent plenty of time at Hammerhole in the past couple of years. The position of the cottage was perfect, peaceful (off the beaten track) and is just a magical place to spend time away from the world. Inside was wonderful too, and the log burner added to the experience. Great private walks up and down the lake, and the whole Estate is just a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the wild life and scenery. We had Ducks, Swans, Owls, and Geese.Yet again Peter the Estate manager looked after us. Thank you. To sum up, GO. Book it, have a great time and soak up the landscape around the cottage, with a few mod cons at hand inside. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

we stayed in the cottages for the weekend, The cottages are well equiped to a high standard including a dish washer. There was a lovely courtyard and ample parking. Everywhere was very clean. We were told the sofa was due to be replaced and this was a little tired looking. We had an open fire and logs were provided but take some fire lighters as we struggled to get it going without sticks or paper.The weather was amazing and we took a trip on the steam train and found some good pubs around to eat. My daughter went to the near by spa for a massage which she really enjoyed. We had a swim in the pool in the morning which was very relaxing. Water temperature was fine ( and I am a wimp who won't go in if it's cold) Ideal place to explore the lakes, we took boatrides and took the car on the little ferry. I would love to stay here at Christmas. I would return here and urge people to consider booking you will have a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.5 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
6.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.2 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 mi away
The Knoll
The Knoll
#1 of 2 in Lakeside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graythwaite Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graythwaite Cottages

Property: Graythwaite Cottages
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Newby Bridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Graythwaite Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Graythwaite Cottages Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing