We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home farm house”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newby Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Graythwaite Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at graythwaite cottages in home farm house. The house itself is well equipped and spacious but needs an overhaul in the carpet department. The complex itself is ideal for walkers or people who just want to get away from everyone as its in the middle of nowhere. The nearest town is either a boat ride or long drive away so make sure you take everything you would need cause there are no shops close by.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jonomac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had previously stayed at the estates "Dairy Cottage" last January and had seen the graythwaite cottages courtyard complex and pool .With Dairy Cottage booked up for the half term we decided to try the courtyard cottages instead and got the last cottage available "Greenhowes" .The cottage was perfect for us (not your normal family group ; two parents ;two autistic teenage children ;a carer and a black labrador). Just to find somewhere that will have us is a bonus but to find a cottage so well equipped was just great . After a hour we felt so at home and relaxed in the well furnished cottage . The pool was great but the changing facilities are not good when busy with much strategic planning needed not to catch someone in a state of undress.Maybe giving people a chance to book a hour slot could be a good idea.
Nearby Hawkshead was great for a pub evening meal with the "Red Lion" giving the friendliest welcome if not the most consistent quality of food.The Sun Inn also gave us a cracking evening meal.
Great five day stay and we hope to be back in later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at Mill Cottage last weekend and to say I was impressed is an understatement. The cottage was really spacious but still had that cosy, country feel. The decor was lovely and it had everything you could need. I also need to mention the shower - it was one of the best I've ever had!!

The location of the cottage is really peaceful and the views over the Lakes were spectacular. The cottage is only about 1.5 miles from the ferry over to Bowness so it's easy enough to get over there if you fancy eating out & a couple of drinks or there are plenty of walks from the cottage door if you want to stay closer to home...there really is something for everyone. I would highly recommend Hawkshead which was only about a 10/15 minute drive and there are some really nice pubs and walks there.

I would definitely come and stay at Graythwaite again and can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were welcomed by Pete, the Manager who is very friendly and helpful giving us directions to our cottage, Hill Top. Both myself and my boyfriend we bowled over by how lovely this cottage was, with great views over Lake Windermere. It was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed, including a hairdryer and a drying room for our wet gear!! The hardest decision was to relax in the bath or have a power shower!

The log fire was a real treat every evening making it so cosy we didn't even want to go out for dinner.

We took our mountain bikes and cycled around the Lake stopping for tea and cake in Ambleside, before continuing on. The walks around the Lake are beautiful and its so peaceful on the west side. We had a drink down at the Swan Hotel in Newby Bridge which is lovely.

We only stayed Friday to Monday but neither of us wanted to leave. We will definately be back.

Thanks Pete for a lovely cottage

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlyBee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I booked four cottages (BullPen, HomeFarm, Crabtree & CanBrow) at Graythwaite for a Christmas gathering of 26 people. Having four cottages around the courtyard for the week allowed the entire family to come together in the evenings, but allowed some space during the days. All of the cottages were well equipped and on the day of arrival the caretaker Bob (I think his name was) popped around to make sure everything was in order and was on hand to fixed any little things that needed attention during our stay. We cooked most of our big meals in the Bull Pen and with the help of some utensils or pans from other cottages we were never short of what we needed to cook for our entire group. For Christmas we even managed a sit down dinner for 26 in the Bull Pen.
The manager, Peter, was very helpful from the early days of planning all the way through until departure. Whether we were inquiring about locations around the Windermere area or arranging deliveries to the cottages he was very informative and punctual with responses. He was even very flexible with our Tesco wine delivery, receiving and storing for a couple days before our arrival to the cottages.
On the quieter side of the lake this is definitely a spot to come if you want to get away from the busyness of the city. All of the cottages we lovely, clean and comfortable for a week stay. The swimming pool was definitely a bonus and there were some great views of the lake just a 15 minute walk from the cottages.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leithrosemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I should start off by saying that The Cottages at Graythwaite are in an absolutely beautiful location and elements of the one we stayed in - Holmewell - were great. It's very big and cosy, with log fires, nice flooring and bathrooms that are decorated well. The courtyard it's set in is lovely, as are the grounds. All in all, it should and could be perfect for a large family getaway.

However, there were a few niggles for us, which we all felt were a real shame given how much The Cottages have going for them - and consequently I was torn between giving this 3 or 4 stars.

First, you have to supply your own towels, which isn't what most people would expect from what's supposed to be an upmarket holiday let. A few pieces of furniture also require some attention: the main kitchen table, which was very wobbly, one of the double beds (also wobbly) and the two high chairs that were initially supplied with old straps that simply didn't work and consequently were unsafe.

I also must mention an issue that might not bother some people but did us soft city folk: The tap water. We were told on arrival that the water supply had been tested and passed by the relevant authorities, but we may prefer to boil it before drinking if we felt more comfortable doing so.

Even when you've done this, the water remains a strange, murky colour and - backing from the relevant authorities or not - I couldn't help feeling uneasy at the idea of making up our 11 month old baby's bottles with it.

We had a lovely break overall and, as I say, there are lots of positives about The Cottages at Graythwaite. But our whole party did feel that some attention was required in some fairly fundamental areas to make it as luxurious as it looks on the website.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crinklecutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Manager at Graythwaite Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your review with regards to Homewell. The kitchen table has been repaired, thank you. I have checked the beds and we have purchased a new double bedded mattress for the double bedroom. All beds and mattresses are checked and replaced on a regular basis. All our high chairs have been safety checked and new harnesses fitted where necessary. Homewell is rated as 4 star by Visit England and I believe it easily reaches this standard. If you want to spoil your selves then look at Cunsey Lodge, it also sleeps 8 and is rated as 4 star gold. I look forward to welcoming you to Graythwaite again in the future. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We hired the cottage for our annual xmas getaway and found it very good for all our needs. Very very sociable living area and all lovely bedrooms. The pool was great and the log fire was just enchanting.

Is very isolated but that added to the charm and as we were having a "boozy" lunch we used a local taxi service with a mini bus who ran us in and picked us up from nearby Hawkshead which was just perfect.

Lack of towels was slightly irritating, as it is a luxury place, it did seem odd that there was not towels. Also, you need to bring hairdryers, docking stations and there is no wifi in the cottage. There is at the nearby reception tho. And a payphone which was actually nice to be off the grid for the weekend.

I really hope to return ,. It was lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maevelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0 mi away
Bowland Fell Park
Bowland Fell Park
#2 of 8 in Skipton
112 reviews
0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,362 reviews
0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa
Swan Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,424 reviews
0 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
0 mi away
Lyndhurst Country House
Lyndhurst Country House
#2 of 4 in Newby Bridge
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Graythwaite Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graythwaite Cottages

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Newby Bridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Graythwaite Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Graythwaite Cottages Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing