We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position next to the lake”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Really nice hotel in great location next to the shore of the lake. Very nice public rooms and food with great service. The bedroom had excellent view overlooking the lake - the room itself was a bit dated - probably the least impressive part of the hotel but not too bad.

I think that the price is a little over the top for the standard of accommodation but for a weekend it's a very nice choice.

Room Tip: Lake view - costs more but, if you are going to the lakes it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

Stayed here for 3 days for a work conference/training event, so was seeing the conference facilities, too. Customer service was top-notch, valet parking and porterage, etc.

Bar was cosy and well stocked. Restaurant the same. Very good all round. Would consider coming back for a personal visit!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrowadat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We've stayed at this hotel many times over the years, with the first time being c2000. There have been a few changes in that time, mostly for the better but obviously as the facilities have improved it's got a lot busier then it used to be. However, this doesn't seem to have afected the overall levels of service or general atmosphere at all. It's still a lovely place to arrive at with a lovely welcome afforded by the porters who will park your car for you. On arrival this time our room wasn't ready so we were ushered into the conservatory for complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits while they sorted it out. In the end, they upgraded us to al ovely family room complete with separate lounge area which we thought was a lovely touch. Spa and pool still great, although very busy these days. Breakfast is to die for with the fantastic waitresses bringing your freshly cooked order to the table - it really is of the highest quality.We always eat out, but I gather the restaurant's a gem in the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tims2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I have just returned from a 4 night stay here with my oldest friend. From the minute we arrived in the pouring rain they came outside to unload our car and park it for us then took us to our room, but on the way showing us where to find everything. They were extremely attentive and certainly helped to make us feel this was total luxury. First night we ate in the Ruskins bar which was quiet and yes, quite expensive. The fish and chips we had were lovely but at £21 you would expect them to be. Room was extremely clean but although the shower was nice, it would be better to be a power shower. 3 pillows on each bed and very soft bed. Spa and pool were lovely as were the sauna and steam room. Breakfast was cooked to order and the quality of food second to none. As was the service of the staff. Evening meals in the restaurant at £37 for 3 courses was actually good value because the quality of the food was very high.Although it rained a lot it was still very nice to sit in the conservatory and enjoy views of the lake. We also had a few treatments in the spa which were a lovely addition to the holiday to help us relax. Sitting by the fire in the evening listening to the piano player was like a different era. All in all a lovely relaxing holiday and I will definetly be back.

Room Tip: our room faced the courtyard but was close to the staircase leading to the spa which meant we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We bought a voucher for afternoon tea for some friends who had recently celebrated their Golden Wedding Anniversary. My husband had also been given a voucher for afternoon tea some time ago so we decided to go as a foursome. I have returned home feeling disappointed and that we have let our friends down as well as being upset that our niece wasted her money on the gift for my husband. The reasons are as follows:
1. On arrival we were shown to a table at the end of the conservatory positioned almost at the bottom of the stairs and near a doorway that I assume led to the pool area (based on the number of people who wandered past in bath robes). A lady was hoovering the stairs. Throughout our meal various porters were pushing luggage trollies past as weekend guests arrived. Outside the window a boy was hoovering up leaves.
2. We were brought a pot of tea and then had to wait 25 minutes before any food appeared. The sandwiches were stale. The cakes lacked any WOW factor.
As we were leaving we were asked if everything was OK so I told the lady that we were very disappointed.
When you look at the hotel's website showing afternoon tea, it looks fine, but believe me do not be taken in.
I live locally and will certainly not be recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank SusanL499544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Superb service and food in the main restaurant - its fine dining and absolutely fantastic high quality food - the dinner is a set price at £37 with some extra costs for certain choices. It isnt cheap but its excellent quality and in my opinion well worth the cost for a special night away or weekend. It's a beautiful traditional fine dining restaurant too with great staff and service... most people dressed appropriately although there were the odd pairs of jeans and trainers!!!

The Fillet steak is the best i have tasted in the UK.... not just tender ..... but tasty and worth paying the extra £10 supplement although it is quite steep as an extra. it was so good I didnt want it to end.... complemented perfectly with Marques de murrieta 2004 rioja

My partner had the fabulous fish and chips at £20 and we were wondering if any fish and chips could possibly be worth that amount of money! They were superb!

The meal we had at Lakeside was excellent ! If the rooms are renovated in the near future we would be back several times a year!

The rooms are functional and clean but really need a make over - even the lake view rooms which have the great view. The rooms are not only on the small side but they really do need a refurb and then with the quality of the food and service, the hotel would be a real contender for 5 star status.

The pool area is good with jacuzzi steam room and sauna - very clean - excellent changing rooms with Molton Brown products and good size power showers. Would benefit from more chairs and loungers round the pool and quality magazines for more of a spa experience.

Breakfast was another great experience served in the fine dining restaurant which is always good in a top quality hotel instead of the usual annexe facility offered for breakfast in some high end hotels!! We received really good service again for breakfast with properly squeezed orange juice offered as soon as we sat down. Great personal service - the smoked salmon was superb!!! My partner only had poached eggs on toast as they dont serve beans with the breakfast which he likes..... thats a shame as the breakfast looked really good on other peoples tables!...... why no beans!!? I am sure lots of people enjoy beans with their breakfast!

Afternoon Tea was superb - beautiful real bone china cups, superb crockery and cutlery served in a traditional luxury high quality setting and matched with quality food, lovely sandwiches, cakes and scones

In summary beautiful traditional hotel offering top quality food and service - with renovated rooms it would be hard to beat

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A birthday weekend treat for my husband - we enjoyed a wonderfully located room overlooking the lake (see photo for view) with sitting room area and jacuzzi bath. We had an excellent meal in the modern Ruskins brasserie on the Friday night and fine dining (more traditional) in the Lakeview restaurant on the Saturday both delivering excellent food (accommodating allergies) with great choice of wine. The pool and spa facilities were particularly welcome on a wet weekend and all was rounded off well with an excellent breakfast (great choice and variety, with good quality local ingredients and great cooking) both mornings and some of the best espresso outside of Italy in the evening. Its not a cheap weekend but it is very good value for the standard of service (always welcoming, attentive and friendly), accommodation, facilities and food.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the garden/pool have a side lake view, have been recently modernised and represent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gairus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,441 reviews
1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
561 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £142 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing