We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A joy everytime! I can't be positive enough!!”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The only reason the hotel isn't 5* is they don't have 24hour reception....but who needs it!
We stayed in a large family group over Christmas and enjoyed the food, accommodation and the hospitality.
The rooms offer great space and views, a more powerful shower would be my only request. Lovely fluffy towels and great free toiletries.
The food quality is outstanding and the silver service is superb. The staff are all obviously well trained and as well as being great at their jobs they have the ability to interact with the guests without being forced/cheesy and even the managers are good fun while running a tight ship!
The leisure facilities are top notch and the spa quality divine.
Every business with customer facing staff should use this as an example of how to give excellent customer service. Is it pricey? Yes. Is it worth it? Most definitely!!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are great , the back rooms are a bit noisier as closer to the working parts of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

First stayed here in December 2002 and have been back on 6 subsequent occasions including a 4 night break for my 40th in 2004. Had a one night package complete with dinner this time for a total of £209. stayed once again in room 71 (6th time) which is a lakeview room with a 4 poster. the bed was as comfortable as ever and as for the bathroom ( complete with a jacuzzi bath built for 2- it remains the FINEST bathroom i have ever used. Dinner was lovely and the staff could NOT do enough for us. The whole experience was superb

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed here to celebrate a family members birthday.
On arrival, staff were very welcoming and the rooms we were all given were great, lovely view across the lake. It can take a bit of getting used to to navigate around the building, lots of corridors etc but it was an adventure!
Can't say enough about the staff really, everyone was was very friendly, polite and helpful, probably the best customer service I've ever experienced in a hotel and they should be commended for it.
Food was lovely - breakfast was fantastic, loads of cold and hot options and a vegetarian cooked breakfast menu too. We ate in the brasserie twice, again food was very tasty and well presented. All I can say here is that the menu's are very traditional british food, which is great but there is only 1 main veggie option so if you don't like what's on offer you're stuck and if you dine there more than once you're doubly stuck! However, I was offered a different dish on the second night after talking to the chef which turned out to be beautiful.
Our room was great - views onto the lake, very spacious, comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities provided. The bathroom was again spacious and had a jacuzzi bath which got tested! Only thing in here was the lack of frosting on the window which meant that whenever you were in the bathroom you had to close the blind so no one would see! No robes provided in the wardrobe as we were told but that wasn't a problem for us.
Slight concern was my parents room being left open after the room had been serviced - we came back from a day trip to find the door wide open. Nothing had been taken but still, it was a basic error.
The Spa was excellent, I had a body treatment and the girl who carried out it out was fantastic and made the whole experience very relaxing and enjoyable.
The electric went out for 3 hours one day which meant breakfasting by candlelight and the pool and spa being closed but the staff coped brilliantly and it didn't impact on our trip at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake. The Rydal Suite is an excellent family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clementine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed for 5 nights as our mini-moon immediately after our wedding in September. We stayed in one of the two lodge suites. It was a wonderfully relaxing stay and the lodge suites were beautiful. It was very tastefully decorated, had a very good sauna which felt quite new, had a patio with a stunning view over the lake. The pool and spa are very good. Breakfast is amazing (and lots of it!). The hotel is in a very good, near to the little port and quite unspoilt location (Windermere and Bowness feel rather touristy which the Lakeside isn't). The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My husband and I very much enjoyed our four night stay at the Lakeside Hotel over Christmas. As mentioned by other reviwers who stayed over the same period, the staff were lovely, the food was excellent and there was a good range of activities on offer. The hotel staff were also very kind to my elderly Mother who joined us for the daytime meals and activities (at an extra charge). The Christmas package was not cheap but there was so much included that it felt like quite good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Just a lovely hotel with a great view, in a great location! Spa and swimming pool is very very nice! Breakfast was lovely!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blondemoment84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Visited on a work trip, such a beautiful location - food to die for.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
5.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
9.1 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £143 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing