We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace and quiet . with beautiful walks .”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 15 February 2012

we went off to the lakes for a little break we stayed at the lakeside which fulfilled our needs ie . pool and spa and walking in beautiful area . the hotel was excelent . cosy clean . rooms spacious . overall all you could needs . only downside was the restraunts were quite exspensive with not a lot of choice at the one we ate in . you would of had to drive to the next nearest one , which we didnt want to do .

Room Tip: we asked of we could have a lake veiw but would of had to pay a further 5o pounds .
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debra138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
There are newer reviews for Lakeside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was a birthday surprise for me - BB and ED. Superb service from the minute we got out of the car. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who are very attentive without being intrusive. The lakeside view room was lovely, very cosy and warm with tasteful decor and a lovely view. Evening Dinner was perfect - 5 course Valentine Menu - all courses exquisite. The Spa and Pool are excellent and the conservatory offers a chance to unwind with a coffee or a glass of wine at any time of day.
Looking forward to a return visit in the Summer Months. Keep it up Lakeside staff - you make a great team!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossyRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Booked this hotel because the blurb said 'we overlook nothing but the Lake' - we overlooked nothing but the Spa (and the people using it who I'm sure were as pleased as we were to be part of the view!) and also the swimming pool next to the spa. There was also a path directly outside our room which, of course, was used by hotel occupants and staff alike. The spa occupants could exit just outside our room (courtyard) if they wished. All very friendly though - they waved to us and we waved back!! Also - cleaner entered the room although we had a do not disturb on the door. When challenged the girl said that she asked management and they had given her permission to do so as they had seen us going out!! Will hardly mention the hoover going outside the room (also outside the Spa immediately next door) at half eight in the morning. The 'manager', when questioned by me said 'Well it's not as if you've paid full price for the room (it was well over £300 for 2 nights B&B) and 'it's the hotel that overlooks nothing but the lake - it doesnt say all the rooms' but this was on 29/30 Dec '11 and he informed us that this would be doubling in price for N Year the following night. When we paid the bill and left the next morning he did not even ask if we'd enjoyed our stay.....too busy sucking up to the REALLY RICH people who were arriving for a NY break. In short, if you're staying here don't book a special offer (it's not cheap and it's not worth it!!) and make sure your room isn't 'overlooking the courtyard!! That said - the food was to die for and the restaurant staff 100 percent outstanding in service and friendliness. Maybe we got the 'wrong' manager....there was obviously some sort of problem or we werent his 'type'......What a shame because we love good hotels and service.....

Room Tip: Ask does it REALLY overlook the lake - or settle for viewing the spa/swimming people/other residents...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Lakeside Hotel is one of the finest four star hotels on Windermere. It has long been a highly regarded venue for business meetings and conventions. Pat and I were invited to stay and view the recently-opened Windermere Suite adjacent to the hotel.
The suite can accommodate up to 100 delegates. It’s air-conditioned and equipped with Wi-Fi and wired internet access and an integrated AV system for easy connection of any laptop to a projection screen. Playback of DVDs and live terrestrial broadcasts is possible. Radio mics and presentation audio distribute sound throughout the room.
Exclusive use means corporate branding materials can be displayed so it’s a confidential venue for hush-hush presentations and new product launches. Companies have the suite to themselves offering delegates privacy and the four-star splendour of the hotel.
And splendid it certainly is. Our room overlooked the lake – the fells beyond making a lovely backdrop for the passing yachts and ferry boats – a bedroom with a beautiful blend of country house character and contemporary design. Dinner in the charm-filled dining room was unsurpassed – the staff attentive, discreet and impeccably attired. This was 5-star treatment which doesn’t come cheap yet discerning guests are prepared to pay the price. It’s a pity some of them don’t spend more on their evening wear. Breakfast bowled us over! We could have lingered all morning.
Lakeside Hotel is spacious, richly decorated and sumptuously furnished throughout. It retains the welcoming atmosphere of its 17th century coaching inn origins, with oak panelling, real fires and grand floral displays. Snug lounges and traditional bars provide a relaxing retreat, while the conservatory looks out over landscaped gardens that lead down to Windermere.
Nearby are the Lakeside Aquarium and the Haverthwaite Steam Railway. Surrounding is an archetypal Lake District countryside of fells, forests and crystal clear streams.
Nothing comes close... except the Lake!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonyuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Second visit to this hotel. Stayed in a Forest View "superior" room - much improved on the courtyard room we stayed in last time. Spacious room including sette and easy chair and spacious bathroom ( with very hot water). The staff are the best feature of the hotel - very efficient and friendly without being over bearing - you certainly get the impression they enjoy their work. Breakfast is superb with a very leisurely serving between 8 - 11:30 am - so no morning rush. Did not try the dinner - seemed expensive for what it was. Plenty of good pubs within 10-15 minutes drive. The hotel was quite full but plenty of nooks and crannys to find peace and quiet. Excellent.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room at least - I must try a garden view next time.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My friend who lives in Kendal , treated us to a wonderful day here on her birthday. The Spa is beautiful, clean and modern. The conservatory restaurant overlooking the lake is relaxing, comforting and classsy, the views are outstanding. The attention to detail on furnishings , plants etc is second to none. The staff are very friendly and helpul. Cannot wait to return! Just loved it.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOTELINSPECTORABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was the first time we had stayed in this Hotel as we normally take a break in Keswick. I cannot complement the hotel and staff to highly. We actually arrived very early and after our luggage had been taken from us the concierge even parked our car up for us. We were then taken around the hotel to show us where dining rooms and bars were as well the the Spa area. As we were so early we had lunch in the conservatory and after about an hour were told that our room was ready and we could go up. The room itself was very clear. We decided that we would go down to thye spa and use the pool which we had to ourselves for 2 hours using the Steam Room,Sauna and Hot Tub as well as swimming.
We ate our first meal in the restaurant and the food was par excellence and the service outstanding. In fact the service was outstanding throughout the visit. Meals are not large but very filling. I would recommend the Monk fish starter. Breakfast was the same, do not expect a normal cooked breakfast, this is fine dining apart from the normal cereals, toast etc.
On the second night we ate in the Bistro and our main course was the hotels take on fish and chips. I am normally a big eater however both of us could not finish all of it (and I hate leaving chips).
The whole experience at this Hotel was one of exceptional service, cheerful and helpful staff all round.

Room Tip: If you decide to have the fish and chips do not eat lunch.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_richards32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
437 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
697 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
515 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £144 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing