We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with good staff”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with good staff”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed bed and breakfast at this hotel for a weekend break in February 2012. Booking early through the hotel website we got a special rate. Before our stay the staff were happy to chat about special dietary requirements and were very accommodating to our needs. However, despite calling over a week before hand, we were unable to get a table in the restaurant and ate in the brasserie instead. The food is the same as the restaurant although you don't have to have as many courses as the set menu in the restaurant. The setting and atmosphere are far inferior but we had a nice meal all the same. Breakfasts were excellent with a fine selection of continental and cooked choices and the hotel were able to provide us with an early breakfast on our second day. The public spaces are comfortable and grand. Our room was a double woodland view - the woodland is on the other side of a fast country road and we were overlooking the loading bay which was actually quite noisy. The room was big with a sitting area and large bathroom with bath. I would visit again, but I would ask not to be in this part of the hotel again. The pool and spa were pleasant although we did't have any treatments.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake are quieter with a lovely view - they come at a premium though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kateyclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    314
    89
    29
    19
See reviews for
288
678
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We very much enjoyed our weekend stay at this relaxing, friendly, comfortable and well maintained hotel. The location could not be better, situated as it is at the southern end of Lake Windermere. There is walk on access to the lake cruisers which provide a service to Bowness and Ambleside. The leisure facilities were excellent with pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Food is of a very high standard and appears to be locally sourced and seasonal. One small gripe is the restaurant seem to prefer oversized plates which often do seem a little big for the table! The only negative to our stay was the heating system in the room, think sheltered housing complex with the thermostat on max and you'll get some idea what it was like! At one point I had to get a drink of water during the night and noticed that room temperature was over 24 deg. This was compounded by there being no control valve on the "always on" radiator and the only window in the room didn't open!

Room Tip: Ask for room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Have visited this hotel on a number of occasions and it never fails to impress! The welcome you receive frrom the moment you arrive (luggage quickly taken from your car to your room and your car parked for you) until you leave is second to none.
Our room was on the ground floor with patio windows leading to a terrace overlooking beautiful Lake Windermere. It had just been redecorated and furnished with new drapes, carpet, bed linen and covers which gave a calm, luxurious feel - it was delightful.
The staff are quietly efficient and always greet you with a smile - nothing is too much trouble.
Ths swimming pool is great and the spa treatments were very much appreciated.
The menu is interesting and delicious (perhaps our only quibble was that it could have been changed more regularly). Once again, the service is excellent.
The hotel is very conveniently placed next to the steamer terminus from where you can sail to Bowness and other stops on the lake.
Our 3 night stay was wonderful and we can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: There are disabled rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russell349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to relax in absolute comfort and friendly luxury, I can't think of a more perfect hotel. It's location overlooking Lake Windermere is second to none. We only stayed one night - in an executive suite overlooking the lake - but it was enough to erase the stresses of work completely. Our meal in the restaurant was lovely, with an interesting, varied wine list. If you want to try any of the wonderful treatments in the spa though, make sure you book early - I wasn't lucky enough to get in for the one I wanted.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed for a 4 night break at 1/2 term in Feb.
Great position right on the lake. Lovely hotel and very good service from all staff. Leisure facilities very good, well equipped gym (if a little small). Spa treatments good. We had a family room which was very spacious and well equipped, shower lacked power and the showers down at the pool were infinitely better.
Breakfast was great.
Drinks on pricey side, but only what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.
We ate one night in Ruskins and were frankly disappointed. I ate the vegetarian bake, which was about £16 and was bland. My children tried the £21 fish and chips and though they were reasonable, we all felt they were not worth the money. As there was limited options for veggies in the main restaurant, we decided not to eat there and went out every other nights. We found some great pubs in the good pub guide.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights and the setting, atmosphere and staff were all second to none! From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty and wanted for nothing! The food was excellent and cooked to perfection and the poached eggs at breakfast were to die for!! A fantastic stay which left us wanting to return at the earliest opportunity!

Room Tip: Room 52 the Executive suite was fantastic with great views across lake Windermere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

we went off to the lakes for a little break we stayed at the lakeside which fulfilled our needs ie . pool and spa and walking in beautiful area . the hotel was excelent . cosy clean . rooms spacious . overall all you could needs . only downside was the restraunts were quite exspensive with not a lot of choice at the one we ate in . you would of had to drive to the next nearest one , which we didnt want to do .

Room Tip: we asked of we could have a lake veiw but would of had to pay a further 5o pounds .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debra138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing