We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury by the lake”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I can't recommend this wonderfully comfortable hotel highly enough. We stopped by at the bar for a quick lunch, liked the food and service and position by WIndermere so much that we changed our plans and stayed here for an anniversary night.
Our room overlooking the lake was well appointed, clean and pretty. If you like log fires, panelled dining rooms, pretty conservatories with beautiful views over Windermere, then this is definitely the hotel for you. The restaurant was excellent and specialised in local produce. All in all a memorable experience in a truly traditional English hotel. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel was a work conference destination and whilst quite a distance from Hertfordshire I decided to go and also take my wife and extend the stay by a day.
We were both astounded from the minute we arrived. As the taxi pulled up, staff were ready to collect our bags. We signed in, were shown to our room (407) and the bags soon followed.
Our room was huge, had its own private garden with bench (the white garden), the bed was massive and so was the bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean.
The hotel sits by the lakeside and is idyllic.
Our next surprise was the quality of the food, not simply the food itself but the presentation and the way it is served. Pretty much better than anywhere else we have eaten. Top class.
My wife tried the spa and said it was warm and clean and again, top marks.
There was a wedding when we were there and I can understand why people would choose this hotel. All in all an excellent 4 star hotel with highly attentive and well trained staff.

Room Tip: We were in the linked house, room 407 with our own garden. No lake views but a lovely quiet and rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mediamagnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Simply the best hotel in the UK, Everything about the place is fantastic , staff, rooms, spa facilities , food & wine & the location.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy250767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife & I had a short break in this hotel with my daughter & her husband. We found it to be excellent with wonderful views of lake Windermere. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms were very good & had the added attraction of being able to walk straight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlkleyJamesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at the Lakeside for one night. We received a really warm welcome and stayed in a ground floor room overlooking the lake. The room was tastefully decorated and spotless with a small seating area next to patio doors which opened onto the garden. We literally had ducks eating from our hands and trying to get into the room. We went straight to the spa and had a treatment each. The girls were lovely and friendly. The spa and pool area were very quiet - due to the fact that this is a residents only gym and spa. The pool area was lovely, clean and peaceful. The treatments were great and the products on offer were really tempting! We ate in the main restaurant. The price is billed at £39 per head but this does not include the many supplements which were littered through the menu for side orders (and a little sparse on quantity!) and the cheapest bottle of wine was £25. The food was nice although not mind blowing and the atmostphere in the restaurant was lovely. A pianist played throughout dinner and beyond. The following morning we had exclusive use of the pool jacuzzi and sauna and then pampered for the rest of the day trying out the products with good advice from the beauty therapists. We checked out later that day feeling refreshed and definitely pampered. Big thanks to the staff. I dont really have anything to grumble about - this is a good 4 star quality hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 103 - ground floor overlooking the garden and the lake around 200 yds away - perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharmainPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed on business for 2 nights and had a very good stay. The location and views are fantastic. Room was a good sized double, warm and clean. Breakfast was good, if a little pricey. Service was good. Overall the hotel is good and I would recommend but it's just not quite five star, for example whirlpool bath did not want to work, desk light kept overheating ang going off.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed at the hotel with my partner recently where we got engaged, the service and staff were amazing. Great setting and lovely views of the lake. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel valued by the staff within the hotel. wonderful place and made better by the wonderful staff. Food and spa were of an excellent standard and we enjoyed both during our stay.. No negatives, you have to stay here to experience world class customer care!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martinw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
555 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
771 reviews
9.1 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,867 reviews
1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £150 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 15 minutes from the M6 we are Overlooking Lake Windermere. A stone’s throw away from the water's edge, this 4 star Superior hotel in the Lake District World Heritage site, offers 5 star service and choice. The exclusive 17m pool & Spa has the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. A range of dining experiences with two restaurants, offering a traditional Lakeview Grill and contemporary John Ruskins Brasserie & Bar, alongside the all-day Conservatory and Terrace on the lake shore, offering lunch and a renowned afternoon tea experience. The bedrooms & suites, most with stunning lake or garden views to wake up to. Contemporary design meets classic country house in a rich blend of colour and texture that feels stylish, warm and welcoming. Family accommodation sets new standards in luxury and privacy for mums, dads, youngsters and teens. Discover the Business, Celebrations & Weddings facilities by the Lakeside Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing