We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of paradise”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had 5 nights here and will return in around 2 years for a full week. We left the property only once so we could meet with friends at a local pub (around 10 minutes' away). This place is so self-contained that regardless of wanting a snack or a full-blown meal, there's a venue to match.

We had a suite upstairs with a gorgeous view of the lake. Large bathroom with beautiful toiletries. Comfortable couches and chairs in lounge room of our suite, and excellent quality cups and saucers, tea/coffees (and yummy short-bread biscuits). Beautiful 'thank you' gift box as we were leaving - which I carried back in luggage to Tasmania with me. Can't praise this property and the staff highly enough. It also has an Aveda spa, and the massage and facial treatments were beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Without the lake views this hotel would not command the £180+ per night rates.
The hotel sits smack on Windermere and is a couple of yards from the Lakeside Boat tour stop and the aquarium. We booked a lakeview terrace room, 103. It is a couple of steps from the spa& pool and the view from the french doors of the room leading out onto seating overlooking not only the lake but a beautiful garden with seating. The view is everything, simply stunning. The hotel is nice, food & wine is overpriced as you'd expect but the Spa, the view and the excellent breakfast makes this hotel a definite worthwile stay. The hotel normally gives you a £50 voucher off your next stay which is a very good touch and a clever incentive to return. However, for the price paid the hotel lacks the little luxury touches of other hotels at this price range, such as cheap tea/coffee/biscuits/basic tv.

Room Tip: Lakeview terrace room 103 is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ste236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Of course the location is amazing, situated at the south end of Windermere,on arrrival we were greeted by aconcierge who quickly and efficiently took our bags, parked the car and arranged for them to be taken to our room! An impressive start. Again check in was pleasant altough our table for dinner had already been pre booked for 8.30 (we were on a DBB deal) for far too late for us as my husband is undergoing gruelling medical treatment and could not possible eat so late, the only other reservation was for 6.30 in the lake view restaurant which we took but no change possible for the saturaday so we had to be booked into the brasserie instead, which disappointed me as I really wanted the fine dining experience of the main restaurant. We duly arrived at 6.30 and were the only people there for ages!!!! We sat in the bar later and listened to the wonderful live pianist and the restaurant did not appear busy . The food both nights was lovely although a four pound supplement for the cheeseboard is a bit of a cheek when the first two cheeses I asked for were unavaiable and only one blue cheese was on offer. The room was lovely, we had the lake view terrace room 104 it was delightful. The spa and pool were lovely, my swim on the second morning was spoilt by a family with four children who took over the pool area but this is not the fault of the hotel. Breakfast was nice, served until 11 which was lovely and the service at all times was very good

Room Tip: The lake view terrace rooms are lovely 104 was special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This Hotel was recommended to us by an older member of our family for our honeymoon. On arriving you can't fail to be impressed by the location, right on the side of the lake. check in was efficient with a tour of the hotel provided. we enjoyed lunch in the conservatory overlooking the lake which was nice. our room also overlooked the lake which was fabulous. The spa facilities are also quite impressive too. The hotel and it's service are quite traditional. Most of the guests were over 60 and I guess like things a bit more traditional. Our room was a bit tired, and the bed rather too soft but we did enjoy a good nights sleep. We ate in the brasserie and although the decor was contemporary we found the food not to our taste and the service at the table was a bit lacking. breakfast was great though. we did enjoy our stay here but on balance don't think we would return- it's just not for us.

Room Tip: A lake view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

After reading some of the excellent reviews of this hotel I thought I would book a suite with a lake view for an overnight stay for my mother and my self.
One cannot deny that the location of this hotel is fantastic and knowing this part of the Lake District as I do , because I was brought up in Bowness, this was an easy decision to make, to stay here.
We were shown to our room and our bags were kindly brought up later. The suite itself was ok but have to say nothing special for the £329 per night price tag, I assume we are paying for the view, which is magnificent of course. Would have been even better if the windows were clean. The bath room looks very glamorous but there were pubic hairs in the toilet and the bath, although a jacuzzi type bath, it looked old and had definitely seen better days. So I decided not to use it. The room was quite dusty and disappointingly, not even a mini bar, not even fresh milk for a cup of tea but those dreadful plastic cartons and only full fat milk. I didn't want to keep ringing down to reception. On a positive note, the bed was extremely comfortable,
dinner was very nice and service good, especially from two of the waitresses that served us. Breakfast was average and service ok but as we were down about 10am , milk and bowls had to be asked for and they expected us to use the left over marmalade from the guests before.
When checking out of the hotel there was not even a thank you for our payment as the receptionist was talking to another member of staff. However, if we were asked how our stay had been I would have explained that we had been disappointed with our stay. I do think that management need to think about re training SOME of the staff at this hotel , in good manners and etiquette , especially as this establishment is supposed to be a 4 *. To be honest, I wish we had stayed somewhere else .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLadyFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

if you are going to eat in Cumbria then this is the place...The food is beyond outstanding, sublime would do it an injustice, the staff are excellent in every department, The first time we ate at this restaurant was 25 years ago and it was superb then and it still ticks all the boxes and more...
fabulous !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleydog97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just returned from a four night stay at this wonderful hotel. As soon as we arrived the parking of our car was taken care of and our luggage taken to our room. As a previous reviewer has said, the food is outstanding and the service superb. This is not a hotel for you if you like "pub grub" it is good quality food, a lot of which I believe is locally sourced. We did not use the Spa facilities, but the pool certainly looked inviting and clean. Our room was quite large which included a sofa and armchair. The bed was comfortable and bathroom was spacious with a bath/shower. The staff work very hard at this hotel to make sure you enjoy your stay. We will certainly return in the future when visiting this area. Well done Lakeside - you do a brilliant job!!

Room Tip: Book a room lakeside if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
553 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
766 reviews
9.1 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,863 reviews
1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £148 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing