We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Weekend Break”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb Weekend Break”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just back from a celebration weekend away with grown up family and just had to post to say what a brilliant time we had. The hotel is in a beautiful situation, right on the lake and we paid extra for a lake view which was well worth it. Room was beautiful and very comfortable. The ladies in the group had massages in the spa and all thought it was great. The pool and surrounds are really nice. Ate in the Lakeview restaurant on the Saturday night and had a beautiful meal which was served by really attentive staff. Only slight fly in the ointment was the jacuzzi in the spa which only worked intermittently. Best recomendation I could give is that we would DEFINITELY go back......... next week preferably!

Room Tip: Pay extra for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    317
    90
    29
    20
See reviews for
294
684
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hotel is in a beautiful area, and is a lovely looking building (inside and out). Traditional décor is welcoming and warm. Staff all seem friendly and helpful, always smiling and making genuine conversation which is nice! Food is expensive but worth it, beautifully presented and hugely enjoyable! Would love to return.

Room Tip: If you have a particular request regarding the view you would like, make sure you ask in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CloudNine009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The weather was fabulous, which always helps - this is a wonderfully situated Hotel next to lake Windermere.
The Hotel is excellent in all respects, our spacious room was on the ground floor with terrace overlooking the Lake.
One comment - I do like a small fridge and fresh milk in the room rather than the small plastic thingies - that would certainly be preferred should we stay for 3 or more days.
The conservatory is a special area, very relaxing, a wonderful spot to read the newspaper and enjoy a pint of the local bitter !
The staff really are stars - they excel in their attitude and attention to detail - brilliant.
As part of our 1 night package we enjoyed dinner in the Lakeside restaurant and the following morning breakfast was equally well received.
The prices are what I would expect for an establishment of this quality located in this prime position - it really is a perfect location.

Thoroughly enjoyed and look forward to a return one day.

Final comment from another visitor, Bill W and his thoughts on Windermere

Standing alone, as from a rampart’s edge,
I overlooked the bed of Windermere,
Like a vast river, stretching in the sun.
With exultation, at my feet I saw
Lake, islands, promontories, gleaming bays,
A universe of Nature’s fairest forms
Proudly revealed with instantaneous burst,
Magnificent, and beautiful, and gay.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XodaSnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We attended our son and daughter in law's wedding on weekend of 31st August. The venue was fabulous and Gemma the wedding planner could not have been more helpful. The wedding went without a hitch many many thanks to all staff concerned to make this a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Lake view terrace suites were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisbethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just got back from the Lakeside Hotel. We had a lovely room with terrace overlooking Lake Windermere. A king sized bed with very comfortable pillows. The meals are beautifully cooked and presented - although not cheap £42 per evening meal. The only thing I found disconcerting was that the menu stays the same each evening throughout the Autumn. This is o.k if only staying for one or two nights but staying longer would be a real let down. Please try to be a bit more inventive as I know you have excellent chefs. The fish of the day was always salmon and although we stayed for only 3 nights the menu began to lose its appeal. You can eat in the John Ruskin brasserie but when we were there it appeared to be closed. The breakfasts were substantial but no different from most hotels or bed and breakfast accommodation. The spa and pool were lovely. They were empty for the time we were there therefore we had the steam room, Jacuzzi, sauna and pool to ourselves. The hotel does health treatments - best to book in advance. They are not cheap so be prepared for this. Staff are very pleasant. It was the first hotel where someone parked my car for me! The hotel is next to the steamer which goes to Bowness / Ambleside. It is worth going on this if only to avoid parking and to get a look at the beautiful properties on the edge of the lake. I suspect the hotel will be in need of some refurbishment soon but don't let this put you off. Many hotels have the same/better service and comfort but the site is what attracts people even if you have to pay for this. Would I go again - possibly.

Room Tip: Can get late booking terms. Also check out different rooms. They will upgrade if not busy free of ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
579 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had 5 nights here and will return in around 2 years for a full week. We left the property only once so we could meet with friends at a local pub (around 10 minutes' away). This place is so self-contained that regardless of wanting a snack or a full-blown meal, there's a venue to match.

We had a suite upstairs with a gorgeous view of the lake. Large bathroom with beautiful toiletries. Comfortable couches and chairs in lounge room of our suite, and excellent quality cups and saucers, tea/coffees (and yummy short-bread biscuits). Beautiful 'thank you' gift box as we were leaving - which I carried back in luggage to Tasmania with me. Can't praise this property and the staff highly enough. It also has an Aveda spa, and the massage and facial treatments were beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Without the lake views this hotel would not command the £180+ per night rates.
The hotel sits smack on Windermere and is a couple of yards from the Lakeside Boat tour stop and the aquarium. We booked a lakeview terrace room, 103. It is a couple of steps from the spa& pool and the view from the french doors of the room leading out onto seating overlooking not only the lake but a beautiful garden with seating. The view is everything, simply stunning. The hotel is nice, food & wine is overpriced as you'd expect but the Spa, the view and the excellent breakfast makes this hotel a definite worthwile stay. The hotel normally gives you a £50 voucher off your next stay which is a very good touch and a clever incentive to return. However, for the price paid the hotel lacks the little luxury touches of other hotels at this price range, such as cheap tea/coffee/biscuits/basic tv.

Room Tip: Lakeview terrace room 103 is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ste236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,363 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
506 reviews
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing