We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakeside Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Swan Hotel & Spa(Newby Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newby Bridge Hotel(Newby Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,401)
Filter reviews
1,401 results
Traveller rating
916
338
96
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
916
338
96
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewjohn ruskinafternoon teamain restaurantan aquariumfine diningtraditional hotellake districtper headnothing is too much troublesandwichesstunning locationspecial occasionlovely hotelhotel facilitiestop classsteam train
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
863 - 868 of 1,401 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were very disappointed with the family suite we were allocated for our two night half term stay. Although the suite was huge, it was tired and lacked proper planning and layout of furniture. All the shuttered windows looked onto a roof which was surrounded by other buildings so no view at all which was not what we expected for the £275 and £290 paid per night. We asked to be moved but there were no other family rooms available until the next day. We wondered why there were patio doors out to this area which was slimy and weeds growing out of the gutters. There were no wardrobes in either of the bedrooms, only a fitted slide robe in the bathroom! Obviously people who travel with children, or in our case teenagers, do not need to hang up clothes OR are content to walk in and out of the steamy bathroom whilst other family members perform their ablutions?? We were shown another room the following day which was smaller and still looked out onto a wall, so we chose to stay were we were. At 6.00am every morning we awakened to fans coming on, from what was likely to be the kitchens below and this loud noise and vibration meant that as light sleepers our day started early.
Breakfast was ok and the Bistro overpriced. In general we got the impression that this place was trying to live up to a reputation of days gone by and charge accordingly but just not cutting it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lifelight36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel is truly excellent. The breakfast is by far the best meal of the day! Housekeeping was very good, the spa and pool was very relaxing (although spa treatments are quite pricey). The food in both restaurants in the evening were great. The thing that makes this hotel impeccable is the staff and the service that they give. They are all very polite and make each guest feel special. The views in the conservatory were breathtaking. Afternoon tea was very very expensive although there is a cafe next door by the aquarium that offers reasonably priced food also.

Definitely will return!!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for views over the lake - its worth it
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Lakeside. The weather was awful but there was plenty to do in the hotel. After an excellent breakfast we sat and read the papers in the beautiful conservatory overlooking the lake, we enjoyed time in the gym, pool and sauna and had treatments at the Aveda spa. Dinner was served in the restaurant next to the conservatory and was excellent. The wine list is also extensive with a good selection of reasonably priced wines as well as more expensive ones. The staff were absolutely lovely and unfailingly helpful and professional, from the gentleman who helped with our luggage to the staff in the bar and restaurant. Our car was parked for us and returned when we wanted to leave...nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
We had a wonderful, relaxing stay and we will be back with our £50 off voucher....a nice touch! The hotel is not cheap but we have tried more expensive hotels that offer significantly less. We can't really fault The Lakeside at all.

Room Tip: Go for a suite or lake view room every time....it's worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCACNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Lakeside Hotel is a strange mix in many ways and some elements are poor and others very good. It still tries and on some levels achieves its aim of being a top class hotel and lets be fair it’s not cheap to stay here. They focus on service and as a consequence the hotel attracts a high proportion of the older percentage of the population. The location is superb but to enjoy that you must have a Lake view room, I see little point in staying here at these prices and not enjoying the views. The service is very good; there is a lot of staff in this hotel. However for the prices paid the bedrooms are tired and particularly the bathrooms. The general hotel areas are OK, reception area is small and a reflection of the contrasts in the hotel as it’s almost like they set up a couple of desks in the entrance hall. The restaurant is old fashioned but endeavours to achieve that ‘Grand’ feeling, breakfasts very good, dinner overpriced. The conservatory is a lovely room with great views and the Spa was enjoyed. So as said a real mix, they should undoubtedly invest in the accommodation. We stayed with friends in October on one of their offers. Had a good weekend but from a value point of view I would not pay the normal hotel rate to visit this hotel. Grab an offer and maybe it’s worth a try and do book a Lake view room.

Room Tip: Book a Lake view room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salochin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I took my sister for a day spa with afternoon tea (great value, especially with the special weekday offer which we took advantage of) for her birthday and from the moment we parked up we had a brilliant day despite the torrential rain! We were taken into the conservatory for tea and homemade shortbread, which was delicious. After relaxing for a while we were taken down to the spa and got changed into our swinwear and robes so we could be left to use the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room for a couple of hours before our treatment. We then went through and chose our 1.5 hours of treatments - we both went for the 25 min facial, 25 min back, shoulder and neck massage and 25 min mini manicure. All the treatments and products used were amazing - definitely the best we'd had (and we've been to quite a few spas!) The afternoon tea afterwards was just the best end to our day - the gazpacho soup to start was so refreshing and the sandwiches were really tasty and just when we thought we'd had enough - out came the cakes! An amazing selection and I'd asked for a special touch for my sister's birthday and they delivered with a huge sparkler in a cupcake! From beginning to end it was a relaly lovely relaxing day where we both felt really spoilt and stuffed - so much so we took most of the cakes home so our boyfriends were happy too! Would highly recomend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews