We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Hotel with magnificent views”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Welcoming Hotel with magnificent views”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Really lovely hotel on Lake Windermere. Beds extremely comfortable and handy book of walks around the area in the room. The old oak panelled bar was quaint and cosy. Good choice at breakfast. Staff were polite and friendly. Overall a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    315
    88
    29
    20
See reviews for
289
678
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meols, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Staying on business for one night, I was very pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was.
It's set in a lovely lake side situation where there is a lot for families to do.
I had dinner in the restaurant and apart from me probably picking the wrong dish, ( beef burger did not seem home made, more like frozen) the service and rest of the meal was very good.
A very nice restaurant with various different places to eat, handy for half term.
The bar is nice with a log fire and I would recommend a stay here.
The breakfast was very comprehensive and was very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve2392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just returned from three night stay at Lakeside Hotel. I appreciate it is half term but it is also my half term as well. Relax by the pool - you must be joking. The Jacuzzi was full of children jumping around and playing ball - how could you possibly say this is relaxing. Three grown up children were running around the perimeter of the Jacuzzi while their father was throwing balls at them to dive in and retrieve which sent water over everyone sitting in the jacuzzi. I am not against children but surely there should be time set aside for family hour if children want to play ball games etc. There was no consideration for anyone who just wanted to relax. There should be an age limit on children in the Jacuzzi, no diving or jumping and no ball games only during family hour. There is absolutely no staff supervision - there needs to be some pool discipline put in place. So much for looking forward to a relaxing soak in the Jacuzzi. Had considered going for a spa day with three relatives later in the year but this is definitely now not even on the agenda at Lakeside. The management need to get a grip of this. I did mention this at reception and was told that one of the managers would speak to me before leaving - needless to say that did not happen.

Apart from that the hotel was good, food very nice and staff extremely polite and nice clean room even if it did look out onto a wall.

Expensive hence did not expect so many children spoiling the pool etc. We did have a spa treatment which was excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 815Evertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our yearly visit to relax for a long weekend after Christmas. Not as dramatic as last year - not snowed in this time! Hotel maintains its friendly service . Our room was cold on arrival but a call to reception had the hotel serviceman to fix the problem within 5 minutes followed by the duty manager to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction.
Eat twice in the Ruskin Restaurant the steak was excellent.
Cant wait till next year so will try to fit in another short break later in the year.

Room Tip: The lake view is so uplifting to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We overlook nothing but the lake is on The Lakeside Hotel's website. This is absolutely true, nothing is overlooked when it comes to service, comfort and food.
We have just had a lovely relaxing, welcoming, comfortable couple of days at The Lakeside Hotel.
A warm welcome, followed by a tour of the hotel, then on to a well appointed room with a view of the lake. What more could one ask for.
Breakfast was beautifully presented and tasted just as good. The service was excellent.
Evening meal takes on a whole new meaning. The food is delicious and beautifully presented. Again the service was excellent.
We were very lucky with the weather considering it was February but I can imagine even if the weather is not so good it will still look stunning and a warm log fire is waiting for you inside.
I can't praise the staff highly enough.

Room Tip: A Lakeview room is perfect for a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have a few weekends away without the children to relax. This was by far the most superbly ran hotel we've ever been to. We arrived on a Friday late afternoon and the lady on reception asked for our name. We gave her the surname and she replied using both our first names and welcomed us to the hotel. Attention to detail. A short second of research, that's all it took. We had a quick couple of minute accompanied tour and I had a spa treatment booked. Louise was brilliant and looked after me to a very high standard. when we had finished I went to the bungalow that we had reserved. Although obviously not built to last it was set in the most beautiful surroundings with an amazing view over the lake. I would imagine in the Summer time it would be a superb location. We had a few drinks in the bar that was designed to look like a proper wooden pub. A couple of beers and a wine later we retired to our accommodation to get ready for dinner. We ate in the brasserie on the first night. The staff were brilliant and the food was spectacular. There appeared to be a family party taking place in the hotel that lasted the weekend however we rarely came across them. On the Saturday we had breakfast (brilliant menu) then we got the boat to Bowness. It was a little rainy but seemed like the only activity available to us really. It was very enjoyable and a good use of a few hours. We returned to the hotel to have afternoon tea in the room and put our dinner reservation back a couple of hours. This was dealt with without any fuss whatsoever. Dinner in the main restaurant was equally as good as the Friday night. We retired to an empty drawing room and had a bottle of wine. This was the fist time we had reminisced about a weekend away and discussed when we were returning. We don't usually return back to the same place twice however will definitely make a trip to the lakeside a regular event in future.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the bungalows. I felt that I was going out to dinner each evening which was good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Lovely setting by the lake.A very traditional hotel with an old fashioned elegance Lots of little touches with the flower arrangements which have inspired me to copy some of them at home..Excellent service from the staff.We were made to feel very welcome.We had booked via superbreak and were given a lovely, if not traditional, room overlooking the fells.A lake view would have been the ideal but we were reasonably happy with what we were offered.There was a sitting area with TV and the bathroom was large and spotlessly clean.I found the bed rather soft for me although the quality of the bedding was super.To get to the room was a bit like navigating a rabbit warren and I wonder how disabled visitors would manage as the lift was nowhere near our room..There was some upgrading going on while we were there but the workmen did not cause us any problems.We were disappointed that the brasserie restaurant was not open throughout our stay as we would have preferred to eat in there.It was more to our taste décor wise and we did not want a three course meal at night.There was a hefty price tag of £45 per person with an extra £3 for scallops.We went down the road to the Swan Inn which was super.The breakfast was very nice, served in the main dining room which I can see why some people found it stuffy. It was reminiscent of arts and crafts to me and would have looked much more appealing with extravagant chandeliers.The piano music was a tad annoying and perhaps something lighter could have been played.Indeed one of the older diners was overheard asking her partner why on earth was the piano played morning ,noon and night?The breakfast was of miniscule portions with two slices of bacon,one mushroom,half a tomato and an egg.The conservatory looked like it was ready for an upgrade and there seemed to be a constant stream of people passing through to their rooms.Not a good experience if you were having afternoon tea.The pool was fabulous.Long enough for a decent swim with the added benefit of a Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna.Robes were provided in the bedrooms and there was a back staircase to use to gain access to the pool.There was a nice area around the bar but we found the price tag of £6.95 for a white wine and soda rather steep. We were also charge 75p for the delivery of a 60p newspaper which slightly miffed my other half.I would have been disappointed I think to have paid the usual hefty price tag for a few days at the hotel but was quite happy with what we actually paid. I know some people will say that you get what you pay for but I don't think this was the case in this instance.I think that it is more suited to an older clientele and definitely not for children.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,854 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing