We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location with old english charm”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
essex
1 review
“Stunning location with old english charm”
Reviewed 6 September 2008

My husband and I stayed her for two nights midweek in August after looking at some reviews on Trip Advisor. I telephoned the hotel direct to discuss room types and received a comprehensive talk through all the accomodation on offer, no rush or pressure at all. We choose one of two lodges.that are situated outside of the main hotel .These have their own private garden, very spacious open plan bedroom/sitting room, well equiped bathroom and a private sauna! A glass wall opens up and you are right on on lake with stunning views and ducks that wander up to check if you will part with a biscuit for them. The main hotel is warm, welcoming with Old English charm in abundance. Food is exceptional, we ate in both resturants. The main resturant offers a 6 course meal for just under £50.00 per head, great value as one of the best meals ever! Breakfast is an experience not to be missed. Afternoon tea in the conservatory at around £30 per couple was my only slight moan as this was very overpriced and bore no relation to the cost of other meals on offer.
Our two night stay including meals cost us over £900, so very expensive, but service levels were very high, turndown service at night, plenty of staff on duty in all area's nothing too much trouble, fine china in rooms and in resturants, the highest quality bedlinens etc. at least you can see where your money goes.

We will be visiting again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavensentEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    310
    86
    28
    19
See reviews for
285
669
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

The Lakeside hotel staff really make you feel very welcome in a totally relaxed and friendly old world manner, nothing is too much trouble. Excellent food, pricey, but you get what you pay for. Decent local real ale in the bar. Thoroughly recommend a stay there for any lover of the Lakes.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank niallduxbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

My husband, our 10 month old baby and myself stayed here for 2 nights in August.

Booked this as a treat and were thrilled when we arrived to see we had been allocated a large, comfortable 'family' room when we had only booked a standard double.

There was a small room off of the main room with bunkbeds (and room for the cot which was provided - a proper cot as well with all bedding - not the normal plastic flimsy travel type). The main room had a huge double bed - settees, tea/coffe making facilities and water provided. The bathroom looked recently refurbished with a range of toiletries provided.

The kiddies room is divided from the main room by glass doors which have light fabric curtains - if you have a baby this really is unsuitable the flickering from our TV woke our baby several times - more solid doors or blackout curtains would be easy to put in place and would make the separate childrens room worth having.

We booked this as a late deal and did not know ultimately which hotel we would be placed although I must add our stay was not cheap costing £300 in total. (£199 for Sat night b&b and £99 for Sunday night) therefore we did expect some standards - the main one being a little peace and quiet.

Our journey from the west country took nearly 7hrs and when we arrived after spending so much time looked forward to relaxing in our room and allowing our little one to have a good crawl around to burn off some energy - however - the first thing that hit us was that our room seemed to be above the area where the staff who smoked took their ciggie breaks! Just under our windows - also it seemed the bottle store was nearby and there was an almost continuous clatter and clank of bottles. In addition to this and probably the most irritating thing was the constant humming noise of what we thought must be a refridgeration unit or maybe an industrial extrator - again just below our room.

We waited for some time to see if these noises would stop and when they didn't reported them to reception, after 3 calls the duty manager came to our room - she closed our window (keep in mind this was in August!) to see if she could still hear the noise - which we and she could - I am amazed others haven't complained as ours wasn't the only room overlooking this area. The staff seemed to move their rest room and the clanking of bottles stopped but the humming noise persisted until 11pm that night and didn't come back on for the remainder of our stay - we never heard back from the duty manager and cannot understand why it took 4 hours to switch off - whatever it was.

At approx 7am the next morning we could hear doors banging - as there was so much noise from doors we can only assume we could hear doors on other floors as there were only 2 other doors near to ours - perhaps the hotel owners should sleep in some of their rooms to experience this - I know we have a baby so don't get lie in's but there was no chance at all.

I had to request a baby cot - twice before one arrived.

Reception staff were keen to encourage us to book our evening meal but like other reviewers we were only keen to have a light dinner early on before putting our baby to bed - we didn't have a sample of a menu and the only menu we could see was for the main restaurant and at in excess of £45 per head decided this was a little extravagent when we were not overly hungry and also if others were paying this, they probably wouldn't appreciate the noise of a 10 month old. There is another restaurant but nowhere did we see a sample of the menu (with prices) for the Ruskins restaurant - undoubtedly this would have been more suitable and I am sure if we had been able to see a sample menu we would have booked and dined there - as it was we drove the 4* restaurant up the road who had a menu with prices on display.

The hotel has some great attributes - it's location on the edge of the lake - the lovely conservatory - the comprehensive wonderfully cooked breakfast - the luxurious bedding and great decorative order of the rooms - it is only a real shame that we felt let down by the attention to detail (no sample menus in rooms/blackout curtains) - and most of all providing peace and quiet for guests and following up on customer complaints did not seem important to the staff on duty during our stay.

We would welcome a response from the management of the hotel as they seemed disinterested in our contact with them during our stay - not once when we complained of the noise did they suggest an alternative room.

So to sum up - a lovely luxurious hotel - only don't go if you want peace, quiet and attention from the staff if you have a problem. In retrospect we should have complained far more vocally at the time - because we had a 'reduced last minute rate' we felt uncomfortable doing so - had we have paid the full rate for our room (in excess of £300 per night) we would have been seriously disappointed.

  • Liked — Standard of room, cleanliness, decor
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailingsampsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

My husband and I stayed at lakeside for our wedding anniversary and I can honestly say its the best hotel we have stayed in. The staff are the most friendly, helpful and polite people you could meet, nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are lovely and spacious and very clean. There is tea and coffee plus bottled water in the rooms plus hairdryer and bathroom toiletries and dressing gowns for you to go down to the pool and back. The pool area is gorgeous with a sauna and steam room and additional spa treatments that you can book. Towels are provided in the changing rooms as well as shampoo, conditioner and body creams. The surrounding area is lovely and the view across the lake form the hotel is beautiful. The food in the hotel is gorgeous but a bit pricey. The breakfast menu is fab with plenty to choose from. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel it was outstanding and I will definitly visit again.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing not to like
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clissy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Fantastic hotel. Booked through lastminute.com, as a "top secret" hotel- only get told star rating and rough location, so a bit of a lucky dip. Only £110 for 2 for B&B though so worth the risk.

Staff absolutely brilliant, we were a bit concerned hotel was a bit posh for us when we arrived, but welcoming friendly staff made us feel at ease.

Proper swimming pool, great for actually swimming in. Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room also good.

Ate in Brasserie, best lamb I have ever tasted, pudding excellent too. Not cheap but definitely quality of food justified cost.

Breakfast also fantastic, couldn't suggest any improvements.

All in all a wonderful hotel, certainly not a bargain break but really is quality

  • Liked — Excellent friendly Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arcsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n.ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

just returned from another wonderful break at lakeside.can not find fault with this place. so welcoming ,friendly, courteous staff the only downside was going to another hotel in the cotswolds after our stay in the lakes which just didnt compare. cant wait for our next short break to the lakeside which is definitely worth the trip across in the ferry from northern ireland.

  • Liked — setting and staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jekerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

A trip to Windermere is always such a relaxing treat, but this hotel makes it special. The accomodation is pristine and beautiful with outstanding lake views. The food is devine with breakfast being an event - as close to fine dining breakfast as you can get. The service is superb from the moment you arrive you are greeted with professional yet warm welcomes and this friendliness continues from all staff. The leisure centre too is wonderful with steam room, sauna, pool and towels galore, This hotel cant do enough for guests and the location is fabulous. Quirky odd touches like duck feeding each morning add to the charm. As do the scented geraniums in the conservatory.
Fresh flowers adorn public areas and the Wedgwood china is pristine.
A fabulous hotel that I recommend for lovers of food and comfort and relaxation.

  • Liked — quality food and accomodation
  • Disliked — the stay was too short
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MissDollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,836 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing