We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Popped in here for a drink and look at the menu while we were out for a walk. The hotel area and dining room look very opulent so we opted for the cosy little bar area with a lovely warm open log fire.
Cocktails were okay and bar nibbles were available.
The restaurant menu looked okay but nothing jumped out as interesting and at £48 per person for a basic three course meal we thought we may loo out of place in our walking boots and coats so gave it a miss.
The hotel is right on the lake side so the location and view is exceptional. However, other than the scheduled boat cruises and seasonal timetable trains there is little to do near by. Except for the Lakeside Aquarium which is 1 minute walk away and definitely worth a visit.
Next time we stay in the lakes we might try this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazBouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    310
    86
    28
    19
See reviews for
285
669
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my fiance stayed for a saturday night a couple of weeks ago, we were impressed on arrival when our bags were collected from our car and sent to our room, our car was then moved to another car park and we were given a tour of the hotel facilities. We have stayed in some very nice hotels but have never been so warmly welcomed anywhere else before. Our room was very very clean and beautifully furnished. We ate in the conservatory for lunch which was ace and used the pool and sauna etc, all very clean and extremely good. Finally the breakfast was great, and flawless service. We will definatley return for a few more nights in the future

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h2odesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here for my husband's 60th birthday at the end of February. The hotel is beautiful. We booked a lakeside suite and both the room and view were simply stunning. The staff are very pleasant (apart from the main restaurant). The bar staff were lovely, as were the staff in the conservatory and the brassiere. The first night we ate in the main restaurant. £48 for 3 course meal. The food was a la carte so you got next to nothing. The food comes out on trays carried by members of staff. Then a waitress accompanies the tray and they all come to your table.The service was so slow. We were in there for two and a half hours. I had to take a phone call, so left the restaurant for 5 mins, then my husband took the call for another 5 mins.They said this was the reason for the delay as, and I quote, the foam on the plate had collapsed and had to be replated. I didnt find the staff in the restaurant to be pleasant but maybe they just didnt like me leaving to take a call. The following day we ate lunch in the conservatory and that was beautiful, so was the evening meal in the brassiere. The steak pie was simply stunning. The wi-fi was a bit hit and miss but it considering the location, it was ok.

I would totally recommend this hotel. The pool area is fantastic, staff are brilliant, rooms are lovely, bar is good, brassiere is wonderful and the conservatory is great. Just avoid the main restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Myself and my partner have just returned from 3 nights at Lakeside. We were lucky enough to get a room with a lake view (201) which was simply stunning and so lovely to wake up to. The room and bedding itself was very comfortable. The hotel is kept immaculate - I don't think I have ever seen cleaner bathroom chrome fittings. Loved the pool area - so relaxing and the Molton Brown products and fluffy towels. The staff made you feel very welcome and the food was really delicious with local made produce. We took the boat to Bowness which was very conveniently located just outside - the aquarium is also next door so perfect for entertaining children. I didn't try out the actual spa but enjoyed the pool, steam room and jacuzzi which was bliss. We hope to return again very soon! A big thank you to Jonathan Robb the Manager.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and spa in an absolutely beautiful setting. A mooring outside the hotel allows you to jump on a boat to Bowness (another picturesque town) We stayed in a ground floor terraced room with an outside table and chairs and views over Lake Windermere......stunning. Hotel spotlessly clean and the staff were really helpful. We ate in the John Ruskin restaurant and the food was excellent although it was expensive. At £12.65 for a Guinness and a glass of wine we felt that was quite expensive as well!! The spa is a great. The only downside for us was we had no wifi. This was apparently a problem in the area! As we need this for business proposes this was a huge issue for us. Would we go back.....absolutely, had a great weekend

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a relaxing break to celebrate our wedding anniversary and after extensive searching, my fellow trip advisors did not let me down with this hotel.
It is situated right at the end of Lake Windemere, which does mean that there is nothing in the way of local pubs or other restaurants within easy walking distance. However, the boat to Bowness does stop right outside as does the tourist train(seasonal). We took the boat rather than the car which not only saved on having find a parking space but afforded us a relaxing trip across the lake and gave us time to appreciate the views from the water.
The hotel setting right at the edge of the lake makes for wonderful views, choose a lake view room to make the most of them.
The food in the pub/bistro is limited in choice and pretty expensive, we didn't eat there and drove to The Swan as recommended by others.
Breakfast was very good, locally sourced and cooked to order, which I much prefer to the buffet choice so often offered in hotels these days.
We ate dinner in the fine dining restaurant on the evening of our anniversary. I cannot understand how others have found the portions to be inadequate. We were absolutely stuffed after pre dinner appetisers, a pre starter taster, starter, main course, taster from the pastry chef and pudding. The chocolates served with coffee went completely untouched! The dishes were beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. The menu is not changed daily, so if staying longer you would want to find alternative venues to eat. We also had the benefit of a pianist playing throughout the evening which added to the atmosphere.
We enjoyed virtually sole use of the swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room each day. The pool is a good size for a decent swim with windows overlooking the lakeside view.
We had a lake view room in the first floor. It was nicely decorated in keeping with the style of the hotel, the bed was very comfortable as were the armchairs in the window alcove. Bottled water is provided daily.
The bathroom looked newly fitted and was spotlessly cleaned. Towels and bathrobes were also big and fluffy.
Lots of efficient lighting and plug points thoughtfully situated next to mirrors.
I don't think I would choose to take children to this hotel, it is better suited to couples, we will definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Slimfastlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Having spotted this luxurious looking hotel perched on the side of Windermere on a previous trip I was excited to book this for a night for a colleague and I to entertain customers.
Upon arrival the hotel we were informed staff that they had been affected by the recent high winds so the power had been off for several hours, it is in a remote location so I can understand how they would have issues and most certainly do not hold this against them nor the fact that due to this the evening menu was very restricted.
The staff were friendly and gave us a tour of the hotel upon arrival. The 'aged' smell and tatty corridors were a bad first impression. The pool area is brilliant and I couldnt recommend it enough. It is the dated carpets, furniture & general upkeep that really let this potential luxury spot down.
I understand having 'heritage' style rooms but my room was generally threadbare and small. It could certainly do with a lot of updating. When the hotel was practically deserted they could have given me a better room than the poky one I had which had a view of a dirty wall.
The evening meal was average, the breakfast was very nice and lunch was a let down for the price.
The location is fantastic so I think the only way I'd visit this hotel again wqould be for afternoon tea in the summer as the lakeside spot is perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VeritableVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,835 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing