We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We only stayed 1 night but it was a wonderful experience. We arrived early so our room was not available, however we were still checked in and given a tour of the hotel and facilities. Our car was parked for us and the keys returned when we returned to access our room The beds are the most soft and comfortable bed I have ever slept in. A nice touch is the turn down service which also provided a card with the forecast of the next days weather. We also requested an iron and ironing board which arrived almost before I had replaced the phone. Excellent service.
The pool area is first class. Very soft towels.

Staff were - sorry - are first class and nothing is too much trouble. Food is excellent also. Especially enjoyed breakfast with the fresh orange juice.

We had room 104 which was a lake view room with a small patio area. A great view of the lake and woke up to a view with a light mist rising from the lake.- magical.

We will be back such is the impression a 1 night stay made. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hottoddy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our fourth visit to the Lakeside Hotel. We were lucky enough to stay in a suite overlooking the lake. Fantastic room. We were traveling with family and the other three rooms were lovely too. As soon as you walk through the door all the staff can't do enough for you. They take your luggage to your room and park your car whilst you go to the conservatory and relax with a drink.
We ate in the brasserie and the table was fab accommodating all 11 of us. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing catering for everyone including a two yr old.
We booked treatments at the spa and enjoyed a daily swim in the pool. We can't wait to visit the hotel again, very soon I hope!

Room Tip: Room 55 fabulous great views, lovely lounge area, gorgeous bathroom and a dressing room area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fcmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My Wife, me and our two girls just back from three day break at the Lakeside Hotel and we will return again as soon as we can. We have stated in many hotels which cater for family breaks and this was by far the best. Hotel, location, staff and food all excellent, bit more sun and would be perfect so hoping for cloud free summer, thank you all at Lakeside, Chris, Jemma and the girls.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Churlishnotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a really lovely hotel with amazing staff.

From the minute you arrive here you can feel totally relaxed.

The staff are very welcoming and very eager to show you the hotel and talk about the area. Car parking is free and they will give you a form to display parking on your car.

Beautiful rooms if you are lucky to get one that has been refurbished. Each room has mood lighting in the bathroom - very trendy.

Swimming pool fab - bar area fab - breakfast amazing!

Cant recommend this hotel enough.

Would be great for corporate events for large companies to take their staff.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just returned from a two night stay with friends, their kids and grand kids, total party size of 11. Hotel did us proud with nice spacious rooms overlooking the lake and great service during breakfast and dinner. A special mention for Kelly as she worked so hard for long hours but never showed any signs of stress.
Had meals in both brasserie and main restaurant, who surprisingly share many of the menu options. All food served was of excellent quality , the main restaurant having the better presentation and a more extensive wine list.
A great hotel, a bit out on a limb but local steam train and boat station are within a few hundred yards.
A high class hotel to use as a base for exploring the area around Windermere.

Room Tip: Look out for the dinner, bed breakfast inclusive deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markY462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Beautiful surroundings and excellent spot for ferry to Bowness. The hotel is well kept and extremely clean and tidy. All the staff wear uniforms and on the whole very polite and curtious. The pool area and changing rooms are clean and tidy and kept to a high standard. The rooms are comftable and well furnished.The afternoon T was beautiful well presented and very tasty.The only thing I found not to be quite right was they removed your plate from the table in the resturant when you still had food in your mouth and they did not leave your wine at the tableey took it away to keep cool and we were left with empty glasses having to ask for the wine that we had purchased. We also tried on Saturday morning to book into the main resturant for our evening meal but the resturant was full. They said they would let me know if they had a cancellation. At 7:30 we got a call to our room to ask were we were as they had put us in for 7:00 but had not left a phone message or a message under the door. We had by this time made other arrangements. All in all this was agreat place to spend the weekend and I would not hesitate to return or recommend to friends.

Room Tip: could hear the room upstairs pacing the floor in the night (think they had baby)so the highest would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyholidays6969_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Popped in here for a drink and look at the menu while we were out for a walk. The hotel area and dining room look very opulent so we opted for the cosy little bar area with a lovely warm open log fire.
Cocktails were okay and bar nibbles were available.
The restaurant menu looked okay but nothing jumped out as interesting and at £48 per person for a basic three course meal we thought we may loo out of place in our walking boots and coats so gave it a miss.
The hotel is right on the lake side so the location and view is exceptional. However, other than the scheduled boat cruises and seasonal timetable trains there is little to do near by. Except for the Lakeside Aquarium which is 1 minute walk away and definitely worth a visit.
Next time we stay in the lakes we might try this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GazBouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,422 reviews
5.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,470 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £141 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing