We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakeside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Newby Bridge Hotel(Newby Bridge)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Swan Hotel & Spa(Newby Bridge)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$323
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$302
US$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampsfell House Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,401)
Filter reviews
1,401 results
Traveller rating
916
338
96
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
916
338
96
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewjohn ruskinafternoon teamain restaurantan aquariumfine diningtraditional hotellake districtper headnothing is too much troublesandwichesstunning locationspecial occasionlovely hotelhotel facilitiestop classsteam train
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
813 - 818 of 1,401 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We only stayed 1 night but it was a wonderful experience. We arrived early so our room was not available, however we were still checked in and given a tour of the hotel and facilities. Our car was parked for us and the keys returned when we returned to access our room The beds are the most soft and comfortable bed I have ever slept in. A nice touch is the turn down service which also provided a card with the forecast of the next days weather. We also requested an iron and ironing board which arrived almost before I had replaced the phone. Excellent service.
The pool area is first class. Very soft towels.

Staff were - sorry - are first class and nothing is too much trouble. Food is excellent also. Especially enjoyed breakfast with the fresh orange juice.

We had room 104 which was a lake view room with a small patio area. A great view of the lake and woke up to a view with a light mist rising from the lake.- magical.

We will be back such is the impression a 1 night stay made. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hottoddy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our fourth visit to the Lakeside Hotel. We were lucky enough to stay in a suite overlooking the lake. Fantastic room. We were traveling with family and the other three rooms were lovely too. As soon as you walk through the door all the staff can't do enough for you. They take your luggage to your room and park your car whilst you go to the conservatory and relax with a drink.
We ate in the brasserie and the table was fab accommodating all 11 of us. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing catering for everyone including a two yr old.
We booked treatments at the spa and enjoyed a daily swim in the pool. We can't wait to visit the hotel again, very soon I hope!

Room Tip: Room 55 fabulous great views, lovely lounge area, gorgeous bathroom and a dressing room area
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fcmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My Wife, me and our two girls just back from three day break at the Lakeside Hotel and we will return again as soon as we can. We have stated in many hotels which cater for family breaks and this was by far the best. Hotel, location, staff and food all excellent, bit more sun and would be perfect so hoping for cloud free summer, thank you all at Lakeside, Chris, Jemma and the girls.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Churlishnotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a really lovely hotel with amazing staff.

From the minute you arrive here you can feel totally relaxed.

The staff are very welcoming and very eager to show you the hotel and talk about the area. Car parking is free and they will give you a form to display parking on your car.

Beautiful rooms if you are lucky to get one that has been refurbished. Each room has mood lighting in the bathroom - very trendy.

Swimming pool fab - bar area fab - breakfast amazing!

Cant recommend this hotel enough.

Would be great for corporate events for large companies to take their staff.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just returned from a two night stay with friends, their kids and grand kids, total party size of 11. Hotel did us proud with nice spacious rooms overlooking the lake and great service during breakfast and dinner. A special mention for Kelly as she worked so hard for long hours but never showed any signs of stress.
Had meals in both brasserie and main restaurant, who surprisingly share many of the menu options. All food served was of excellent quality , the main restaurant having the better presentation and a more extensive wine list.
A great hotel, a bit out on a limb but local steam train and boat station are within a few hundred yards.
A high class hotel to use as a base for exploring the area around Windermere.

Room Tip: Look out for the dinner, bed breakfast inclusive deals.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markY462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews