We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I travelled to The Lakeside Hotel for a 4 night break during the Easter Holidays. We were greeted and shown around the hotel and spa before we were shown to our room. As we stayed in the lodge our car was brought round to the lodge for us and our bags were delivered to our room. The view of the lake from the lounge was amazing and the garden area was very neat and tidy. The staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for us during our stay. As my wife is pregnant, we were a bit fussy when it came to food but the staff were more than happy to tailor the food to our needs. We had a small problem with the heating in the lounge area not working and this was rectified whilst we went for dinner. A temporary oil heater was installed and we were given the option to move rooms that night or wait until morning or make do with the heater (this was all at 10pm) the porter was very helpful and didn't rush us with our decision. The manager of the hotel was very helpful and made sure our stay was enjoyable. We dined in the John Ruskins Brassiere 3 times during our stay. At first I was hoping it was nice as there were no other restaurants/places (the closest being in Bowness around 10 miles away) I was pleasantly surprised at how good the food was and as mentioned before, this was where the staff tailored the food to the needs of my wife. The room was turned down each night and the nights that we were in the room, housekeeping would call to ask if we would like a turndown service that evening. I liked this as they didn't disturb us by barging into the room. The hotel also called us to let us know that a gardener was coming to mow the lawn and tidy the garden area and apologised for the noise. Again this was something which just added the extra touch to the service we received throughout our stay. We would both defiantly recommend the hotel as well as the restaurant in the hotel and also the afternoon tea. It was a peaceful holiday where we were able to relax and we will be going back there when we visit that part of the country again.

Room Tip: We recommend one of the lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    309
    85
    27
    19
See reviews for
283
659
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. Spent 1 night in a garden room, very comfy bed & a fantastic shower. Had dinner in the restaurant, food was excellent. If you are in the lakes this is the place to stay, would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We only stayed 1 night but it was a wonderful experience. We arrived early so our room was not available, however we were still checked in and given a tour of the hotel and facilities. Our car was parked for us and the keys returned when we returned to access our room The beds are the most soft and comfortable bed I have ever slept in. A nice touch is the turn down service which also provided a card with the forecast of the next days weather. We also requested an iron and ironing board which arrived almost before I had replaced the phone. Excellent service.
The pool area is first class. Very soft towels.

Staff were - sorry - are first class and nothing is too much trouble. Food is excellent also. Especially enjoyed breakfast with the fresh orange juice.

We had room 104 which was a lake view room with a small patio area. A great view of the lake and woke up to a view with a light mist rising from the lake.- magical.

We will be back such is the impression a 1 night stay made. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hottoddy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbac
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our fourth visit to the Lakeside Hotel. We were lucky enough to stay in a suite overlooking the lake. Fantastic room. We were traveling with family and the other three rooms were lovely too. As soon as you walk through the door all the staff can't do enough for you. They take your luggage to your room and park your car whilst you go to the conservatory and relax with a drink.
We ate in the brasserie and the table was fab accommodating all 11 of us. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing catering for everyone including a two yr old.
We booked treatments at the spa and enjoyed a daily swim in the pool. We can't wait to visit the hotel again, very soon I hope!

Room Tip: Room 55 fabulous great views, lovely lounge area, gorgeous bathroom and a dressing room area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fcmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My Wife, me and our two girls just back from three day break at the Lakeside Hotel and we will return again as soon as we can. We have stated in many hotels which cater for family breaks and this was by far the best. Hotel, location, staff and food all excellent, bit more sun and would be perfect so hoping for cloud free summer, thank you all at Lakeside, Chris, Jemma and the girls.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Churlishnotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a really lovely hotel with amazing staff.

From the minute you arrive here you can feel totally relaxed.

The staff are very welcoming and very eager to show you the hotel and talk about the area. Car parking is free and they will give you a form to display parking on your car.

Beautiful rooms if you are lucky to get one that has been refurbished. Each room has mood lighting in the bathroom - very trendy.

Swimming pool fab - bar area fab - breakfast amazing!

Cant recommend this hotel enough.

Would be great for corporate events for large companies to take their staff.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncater
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just returned from a two night stay with friends, their kids and grand kids, total party size of 11. Hotel did us proud with nice spacious rooms overlooking the lake and great service during breakfast and dinner. A special mention for Kelly as she worked so hard for long hours but never showed any signs of stress.
Had meals in both brasserie and main restaurant, who surprisingly share many of the menu options. All food served was of excellent quality , the main restaurant having the better presentation and a more extensive wine list.
A great hotel, a bit out on a limb but local steam train and boat station are within a few hundred yards.
A high class hotel to use as a base for exploring the area around Windermere.

Room Tip: Look out for the dinner, bed breakfast inclusive deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markY462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing