We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location Beautiful Hotel.”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is really a lovely place to stay, it has everything you could want, beautiful bedrooms, stunning views and a lovely warm welcome.We stayed for two night's and wished we had been staying longer.Meals are expensive but beautiful, would certainly be going back in the furture.
The only fault was the massage I had, which was a full massage at £79.00 it was the worse one I have ever had, should have complained at the time but didn't.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrumpyNortheners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Everything very much as the majority view on here. Arrived Saturday friendly reception staff who arranged for luggage to room and car to be parked. Given a quick tour to orientate ourselves. Went for a late swim a few children no problems getting in jacuzzi, steam room or sauna. Children soon left and got the place to ourselves. Gym totally empty. Tried to book the A La Carte Restaurant and told that it was fully booked for the duration of our stay but they would put us on the reserve list. Room clean with side view of Lake very quiet and relaxing. Bed and pillows super soft all geared to a de-stress.

Went down intending to go to Ruskins stopped and had a look at the ALC menus. The Head Waiter with glasses asked if we were ok, said we were disappointed not to be able to visit him. He said "Just a minute", went in Restaurant came out and said 'I'll fit you in give me 5 minutes", took us into Conservatory got us a drink and then fitted us in. Great service nice touch. Wine list a bit pricey though.

Fantastic breakfast all local produce cooked freshly, fresh squeezed orange,super service even breakfast time. Walked to High Dam then steamer to Bowness. On return went to pool absolutely nobody there at all whole place to ourselves till 1915 then just two others, gym empty. Had dinner at Ruskins superb service yet again, steak and ale pie to die for. Had a chat with the pianist bit of a character !

Went for breakfast at ALC restaurant could not fit us in but lady in charge took us personally to Ruskins and got us sat down at a table, again over and above the call of duty. Super clean Hotel with obviously very experienced staff who enjoy giving service, bet the staff turnover is low. Would certainly take a break here again.

Room Tip: If you are just on a short break don't worry about trying to find somewhere else to eat the Rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramsdenschippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went here for bank holiday weekend break, the place had been recommended to us. First impressions good, lovely location and well kept hotel. Great tour and welcome, but not very excited by our room for 220 a night. Small touches like a fridge and fresh milk would be the least I'd expect for that price.
Spa didn't win many prizes for me - pool a good size and facilities fine but no supervision on a BH weekend meant children everywhere - in the saunas, steamroom, hot tub, swimming lane... Should have been more supervision to ensure everyone got to use the space. Gym is also tiny and should be at least 2 running machines as there's no way to run outside due to no pavements.
Breakfast amazing in this hotel, one of the best I've had, if lacking in space when hotel full. Sandwiches are lacklustre for lunch and over priced. We didn't have the full afternoon tea but it looked delicious.

A mixed bag but nice enough.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kerryad876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I travelled to The Lakeside Hotel for a 4 night break during the Easter Holidays. We were greeted and shown around the hotel and spa before we were shown to our room. As we stayed in the lodge our car was brought round to the lodge for us and our bags were delivered to our room. The view of the lake from the lounge was amazing and the garden area was very neat and tidy. The staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for us during our stay. As my wife is pregnant, we were a bit fussy when it came to food but the staff were more than happy to tailor the food to our needs. We had a small problem with the heating in the lounge area not working and this was rectified whilst we went for dinner. A temporary oil heater was installed and we were given the option to move rooms that night or wait until morning or make do with the heater (this was all at 10pm) the porter was very helpful and didn't rush us with our decision. The manager of the hotel was very helpful and made sure our stay was enjoyable. We dined in the John Ruskins Brassiere 3 times during our stay. At first I was hoping it was nice as there were no other restaurants/places (the closest being in Bowness around 10 miles away) I was pleasantly surprised at how good the food was and as mentioned before, this was where the staff tailored the food to the needs of my wife. The room was turned down each night and the nights that we were in the room, housekeeping would call to ask if we would like a turndown service that evening. I liked this as they didn't disturb us by barging into the room. The hotel also called us to let us know that a gardener was coming to mow the lawn and tidy the garden area and apologised for the noise. Again this was something which just added the extra touch to the service we received throughout our stay. We would both defiantly recommend the hotel as well as the restaurant in the hotel and also the afternoon tea. It was a peaceful holiday where we were able to relax and we will be going back there when we visit that part of the country again.

Room Tip: We recommend one of the lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

What a lovely hotel. Spent 1 night in a garden room, very comfy bed & a fantastic shower. Had dinner in the restaurant, food was excellent. If you are in the lakes this is the place to stay, would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We only stayed 1 night but it was a wonderful experience. We arrived early so our room was not available, however we were still checked in and given a tour of the hotel and facilities. Our car was parked for us and the keys returned when we returned to access our room The beds are the most soft and comfortable bed I have ever slept in. A nice touch is the turn down service which also provided a card with the forecast of the next days weather. We also requested an iron and ironing board which arrived almost before I had replaced the phone. Excellent service.
The pool area is first class. Very soft towels.

Staff were - sorry - are first class and nothing is too much trouble. Food is excellent also. Especially enjoyed breakfast with the fresh orange juice.

We had room 104 which was a lake view room with a small patio area. A great view of the lake and woke up to a view with a light mist rising from the lake.- magical.

We will be back such is the impression a 1 night stay made. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hottoddy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This was our fourth visit to the Lakeside Hotel. We were lucky enough to stay in a suite overlooking the lake. Fantastic room. We were traveling with family and the other three rooms were lovely too. As soon as you walk through the door all the staff can't do enough for you. They take your luggage to your room and park your car whilst you go to the conservatory and relax with a drink.
We ate in the brasserie and the table was fab accommodating all 11 of us. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing catering for everyone including a two yr old.
We booked treatments at the spa and enjoyed a daily swim in the pool. We can't wait to visit the hotel again, very soon I hope!

Room Tip: Room 55 fabulous great views, lovely lounge area, gorgeous bathroom and a dressing room area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fcmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,422 reviews
5.9 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,470 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £141 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing