We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had 5 days at this glorious hotel from 25th May to 31st May. Pure perfection from beginning to end. The staff so very professional and smiles all around even when busy especially at breakfast which is a wonderful experience. You woke up in the morning looking forward to breakfast. Not a baked bean in site. The conservatory perfect for chilling out and reading and watching the 'boating' on Lake Windamere. Rooms luxurious, with robes and slipper. wifi in every bedroom. Simply perfection in every way.

Room Tip: ask for room 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quinieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just returned from a 6 night stay - our annual visit; 7 of us, 3 generations (2 grandparents, 2 parents and 3 children).

We are obviously biased after our 10th visit but it really is a first class hotel; very friendly staff and superb location. Breakfast is as good as it gets, the Conservatory is great for chilling and the pool is fantastic.

If you can stretch to it, get a lakeview room; opening the curtains in the morning/sitting in a chair reading a book later in the day and gazing out over the lake is the most uplifting experience.

The only reason I am not awarding 5 stars is that (1) the evening meals are limited in options (not a problem if you are only staying for a couple of nights) and a touch expensive - but the quality is first class particularly in the main restaurant and (2) drinks are still too expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cymro-in-Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We visited here for a small wedding (25 guests) and were very impressed with the lakeside venue, the food and the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. The wedding breakfast included rack of lamb ( beautifully cooked) and a platter of desserts. The platter included sticky toffee pudding, pineapple upside down cake (both delicious and moist) and the best bread and butter pudding I have ever tasted. The chef is to be complimented.
We would certainly return here for a meal and could thoroughly recommend it for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7Dave7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here recently on a work event & had a great stay. The hotel is lovely - great service and I had a wonderful view of the lake from my room 201. Breakfast was fabulous - anything you wanted. Cumberland sausage should definitely be tried. Highly recommend this Hotel for anyone wanting to explore Windermere.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank LizzieW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The most wonderful spot on Lake Windermere. Lunch served in Conservatory overlooking lake and surrounding fells. Staff friendly and helpful. Food excellent in taste and presentation.. They also serve excellent afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne2087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We booked a lakeside view room with terrace and were very pleased with that. The hotel spa and pool etc is well maintained and was not busy whilst we were there. Our room was very close to the spa and we made use of the gowns and slippers in the bedroom. We ate in the bistro area on 3 nights and the main restaurant on the last night. The food is very good although the menu is a little limited and doesn't change too often we think

There is a lovely conservatory overlooking the lake

We had a boat trip and went on the steam train......both enjoyable

The hotel is fairly isolated so that needs to be taken into account

This hotel on the expensive side but in our view worth every penny and we will return

Room Tip: Lakeside view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montyglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Spent a very pleasant afternoon in the Conservatory and served afternoon tea in delightful surroundings, cuisine consisted of small tasters of soup, choice of sandwiches, scones and cakes all served perfectly with unlimited tea and coffee and offered boxes to take home what we were unable to eat, a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon, and would recommend this venue and cuisine to trip advisor followers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
725 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £148 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing