We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well you get what you pay for! I have visited this hotel 3 times on business conferences and the facilities are top notch. The welcome is always friendly and efficient, rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the food is beautiful. Nothing is too much trouble for staff at this hotel. I only wish I had time during my stay to visit the spa however as mentioned I have always visited on business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngeLea77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped off at the Lakeside for one (Saturday) night to break our journey from North to South - and it was lovely. Another reviewer used the phrase ' a balanced blend of friendliness and formality and I think that is dead right. The rooms, grounds, scenery were all beautiful. The food was very good. The staff couldn't do enough for you and so the service was also very good.

It is a pricey place - leveraging its 'shores of Lake Windermere' location to the maximum (hence only four stars rather than five). Nonetheless I would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely honeymoon in a great location. Staff were fantastic and v helpful.
We got one of the offers otherwise it would of been very expensive.
We would stay again and recommend it to people.
Bad points if being picky - had hd sky box but no hdmi cable in room and when conference was on it took over the restaurant and staff v busy.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellieMEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Lake District, in the NW of England is a favourite destination for unparalleled scenic vacations. Some go hiking around the shores of lake Windermere, the largest lake in England, about 10.5 miles long by 1 mile wide, surrounded by fells (low mountains to us) that are old and richly covered in forest.

The Lakeside Hotel was built before the planning restrictions put an end to such grandeur, and the wainscoting, for example, with its linen fold motif, bespeaks the priorities that were those of the builder.

Whether you take a Pimm's Cup on the lawn at lakeside, and watch the antique steamers pass by, or board one of them for an excursion to other towns up the lake, you'll be soaking up atmosphere that you might have thought was dead before you were born.

The rooms are smallish by modern standards, but in great shape, with updated carpet and case goods somewhat modest. The bay window that overlooks the lake has a pair of teacups and a note advising that fresh milk is available from reception.

The traditional dining room is supplemented by a brasserie, that although very modern, is sensitive to the nature, with large windows in native rock. The food is excellent, and the staff friendly and eager to accommodate.

The Oak Room, is a lovely bar for an after dinner cognac, and the glass covered conservatory offers a third option.

And I mustn't omit the spa. Beside an pool, excellent in size and appearance, and rounded out by a slightly better than mediocre gym, it offers the usual range of pampering treatments.

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We managed to palm the kids off for the weekend and arranged to stay 1 night here at short notice. We have seen the hotel before and walked around it briefly, but never had chance to stay until now. We arrived about 11am on Saturday knowing the room wouldn't be ready till 3, with a plan to spend time in the pool / gym. Parking was a minor faff, but entirely my fault as I didnt take them up on their offer of valet parking (I will next time). Reception was smooth enough and we were quickly shown to the pool area by a friendly member of staff. The gym was small but adequate, with just a few cardio machines, one multi weights station and a few free weights. The pool was impressive, with a carefully designed childrens area, small jacuzzi and adjoining steam/sauna rooms. We had a good couple of hours with the facilities to ourselves, before going to check into the room,

We chose a lakeside view room and got one on the second floor overlooking a small jetty with a truly beautiful view across Windermere. The room had a small seating area to allow you to take in the view, which was slightly cramped and a little quaint - think "nicely sized" as opposed to "large" and you get the idea. The room itself was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only real downside was poor sound insulation to the adjoining corridor, but it didn't prove to be a significant problem.

Where the hotel really scored was on the quality of service. We had a reservation for 8pm so wandered down to the public bar (bit like an old school country pub) to get drinks beforehand. We then took it upon ourselves to occupy some sofas in the reception hall between the two restaurants, and were quickly scooped up by the very efficient waiting staff who brought olives and nuts, along with dinner menus. I dont know if we were supposed to be sitting there or not, or indeed if they even knew that we had a reservation, but the staff were swift to serve us nonetheless. Fifteen minutes and half a bottle of Louis Roederer later we were invited to the restaurant to choose our table, which was a nice touch. The choice was largely irrelevant though as all tables seemed equally good. The main dining area was spacious and formal, with plenty of room between tables to allow a good degree of privacy. The ambience was friendly as well as formal, with the staff mixing efficient service and light humour together very effectively. Service standards remained high throughout the meal, I think I once had to reach for the decanter but that was all.

Food quality was extremely high, although for me the menu might have had one or two extra choices. Nonetheless, everything we ate was simply delicious - the place doesn't have a Michelin star but it is hard to see why not, although the absence of a tasting menu seemed a little odd. Given the quality of the food, I thought dinner represented extremely good value. The wine also seemed to be very fairly priced in comparison to other high-end eateries, boasting an extensive list with a specialism in the Rhone valley. Our Gigondas was fabulous but they ought to have thought to decant it early without me reminding them - not a big deal but their list does specifically ask you to order early so that they can present the wine at its best. As a self-confessed wine snob I was also delighted to see Riedel glasses being used throughout. The ambience was enhanced by having a pianist playing throughout the evening as well, not in the dining room itself but just outside.

Breakfast the next morning was in the same room, with waiter service for cooked breakfast options, which seemed to be prepared with the same care as the meals the night before. Even the toast tasted as if it had been made using freshly baked bread. We finished off by hiring the hotel's rowing boat for a quick trip round the southern edge of the lake, taking in the sunshine and the views before having to leave.

In terms of price the Lakeside is far from cheap, but it offers good value in most respects. Without a doubt we will return, simply because it was a splendid way to relax and de-stress. We were well looked after without fuss by a service team who were on top of their game, always efficient but never rushed.

Room Tip: We had a lakeside view on the second floor which we really enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

visited this hotel as a recommendation for a offsite conference - i cannot highly priase the staff enough, nothing was a issue, everybody went out of their way - the hotel has a seperate venue for meetings, weddings, parties etc just across the road from the hotel therefore not interferring with any of the guests in the hotel, it was just perfect, had all the facilities that we needed - the hotel itself is gorgeous, right on the lake - we had lovely weather as well and took the evening trip on the lake, the food is spot on - I tried out the pool facilities which again were perfect, nothing i could say negative about the hotel and all that it can offer.

Room Tip: ask for a lakeside view, you won;t be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizzybee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel is in a beautiful location, a lovely hotel with kind attentive staff. The food is nouvelle cuisine and for someone with a hearty appetite I found the portions at both breakfast and dinner inadequate. On the first morning we had to wait for 45 minutes for the cooked breakfast to arrive but the service was very good on the second day. The food itself was not cheap and I was suprised that although coffee was included in the price of the dinner, when one of our party requested tea instead they were charged extra for this. We were part of a large group and when we arrived there was a mix-up of the names on the rooms and originally we thought there was not a room for one of the party. On leaving there was a mix-up over the payment for the rooms. These were both resolved fairly quickly but for a hotel of this calibre the mistakes should not have happened. The sound proofing in the room was not very good and we could hear the people overhead quite clearly. I was suprised that the rooms did not have a safe in them and there was no air conditioning in the rooms.

Room Tip: The rooms with a lake view are vey nice, as are the rooms with a private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajsb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
468 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
718 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,913 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £147 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing