We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night away ”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic location!!!!
My partner booked up for a surprise night away 5/7/14 for our 2nd anniversary! Greeted by reception staff / doorman Ray as soon as we walked up to the hotel, offered to park the car. Ray showed us around the hotel too, never had that service before. Beautiful clean hotel, lovely lights in the entrance hall... Foods out of this world, attention to detail 10/10... Lake view room 304 we had and it was perfect ! One window wouldn't stay open & Mattress far too soft for our liking tho is our only quibble.
We had lunch in the conservatory after we unpacked consisting of soup & sandwiches . Breakfast options are plenty! Room was big & airy.
Pool looked Great. Forgot costume so missed out there!! Spa treatments sound great and will try hopefully in December as partners just booked up again for 19/20th dec as pre Xmas treat to ourselves whilst we are child free that weekend !!
Scenery is just so beautiful & I got up at 4:30am to go out and photo the lake to catch the mist! Pre dinner nibbles Olives & smokey almonds were yummy whilst having a drink in the conservatory , dinner later whilst the piano was playing was lovely . Appetizer before starter and pre desert treat is a bonus and we tried a few things new. The deconstructed poached pineapple was like a cheesecake I think and it had "green chilli" Ice cream.... Amazing..... Only stayed one night but felt longer as we really did relax here. Can't wait to come back in December.... My favorite time of the year is Christmas so I hope the hotel is looking very magical and Christmassy.
Thank you for a great break!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Titaniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great location with free on site parking. Quite a large hotel to manoeuvre around. Can get lost if not careful. Decor is grand. The conservatory gives great views as does the lawn. Entrance is charming as is the restaurant. Staff very friendly and approachable.stayed in the suite which was spacious and comfortable. Pricing is an issue though. Breakfast continental with fresh ingredients and products served. Wifi could be better. Close to steam train attractions and ferry rides.

Room Tip: Book early as possible. Lake views are sublime so request if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zuber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We've been coming to the Lakeside for a number of years (including Christmas 2012) and have recommended it in the past to numerous friends who have all stayed. We are really saddened that this was our favourite hotel but since the flood in 2009 the bar prices took a step change and that "step" has now become a "staircase". The drinks are simply too expensive, we can expect & accept a high room rate, that's our choice before we book, we can even accept an above average charge for food, because the surroundings & food are definitely above average, but when you have an average bottle of wine starting at £40+, aperitif's & cocktails cost the best part of £10, it's now burst the bubble and sadly there are better value for money alternatives.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank WarringtonJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Well you get what you pay for! I have visited this hotel 3 times on business conferences and the facilities are top notch. The welcome is always friendly and efficient, rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the food is beautiful. Nothing is too much trouble for staff at this hotel. I only wish I had time during my stay to visit the spa however as mentioned I have always visited on business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngeLea77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped off at the Lakeside for one (Saturday) night to break our journey from North to South - and it was lovely. Another reviewer used the phrase ' a balanced blend of friendliness and formality and I think that is dead right. The rooms, grounds, scenery were all beautiful. The food was very good. The staff couldn't do enough for you and so the service was also very good.

It is a pricey place - leveraging its 'shores of Lake Windermere' location to the maximum (hence only four stars rather than five). Nonetheless I would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely honeymoon in a great location. Staff were fantastic and v helpful.
We got one of the offers otherwise it would of been very expensive.
We would stay again and recommend it to people.
Bad points if being picky - had hd sky box but no hdmi cable in room and when conference was on it took over the restaurant and staff v busy.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellieMEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Lake District, in the NW of England is a favourite destination for unparalleled scenic vacations. Some go hiking around the shores of lake Windermere, the largest lake in England, about 10.5 miles long by 1 mile wide, surrounded by fells (low mountains to us) that are old and richly covered in forest.

The Lakeside Hotel was built before the planning restrictions put an end to such grandeur, and the wainscoting, for example, with its linen fold motif, bespeaks the priorities that were those of the builder.

Whether you take a Pimm's Cup on the lawn at lakeside, and watch the antique steamers pass by, or board one of them for an excursion to other towns up the lake, you'll be soaking up atmosphere that you might have thought was dead before you were born.

The rooms are smallish by modern standards, but in great shape, with updated carpet and case goods somewhat modest. The bay window that overlooks the lake has a pair of teacups and a note advising that fresh milk is available from reception.

The traditional dining room is supplemented by a brasserie, that although very modern, is sensitive to the nature, with large windows in native rock. The food is excellent, and the staff friendly and eager to accommodate.

The Oak Room, is a lovely bar for an after dinner cognac, and the glass covered conservatory offers a third option.

And I mustn't omit the spa. Beside an pool, excellent in size and appearance, and rounded out by a slightly better than mediocre gym, it offers the usual range of pampering treatments.

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
467 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
717 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,912 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £147 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing