We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeland Break”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have visited the Lakeside Hotel many times over the last ten years - Why do we we keep returning?
Its simple really - great food, great location, great spa, our favourite place to relax and unwind - all delivered with superb understated service with a Cumbrian accent!

Try it......

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Twoshedseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just come back from the Lakeside after a lovely break with my husband -we went last year with our teen and loved it so much we decided to revisit.
The staff are all lovely and very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble - the rooms are spotless as is the rest of the hotel and the service the staff offer is exceptional, you are made to feel really special and pampered.
The Lakeside is in a wonderful spot overlooking Windermere and we went on the cruise that is just outside the hotel - this took about two hours visiting Bowness and Ambleside, although we could have got off and walked round we stayed on the round trip as the cruise was so relaxing, we then went on the steam train, also outside the Lakeside - we booked these tickets online - less than £31.00 for two people and we spent the entire day on the cruise and train so an absolute bargain, think it is slightly cheaper if you book the cruise package online - on the steam train, the ticket collector on the train informed us it was the last train and wouldn't be returning (it was only about 5 or 6 o'clock) and as he realised we were going to be stranded, he brought us back himself in his car - what a wonderful kind gesture -so again thank you to this gentlemen you really did go that extra mile for us - in fact all of the people in this area are friendly, genuine and so welcoming
The only negatives we noticed at the Lakeside, which we didn't on our last visit was there were several lockers in the spa/swimming area not working - both in the male and female sides and also whilst in the pool two workmen/maintenance men came into the pool area and neither of these had covers on their shoes and it didn't bode well, men in work boots uncovered by the pool is quite unhygienic.
But overall this hotel is exceptional, and we will definitely be visiting again and again - in fact we plan on visiting here with our entire family very very soon

Room Tip: If the day is sunny, a good idea is to sit on the lawn at the front of the hotel, the views are wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northwestlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have stayed at this top rated large hotel 13 times in the last 12 years, initially with children latterly as a couple.
For a short break or indeed a one week stay it really is ideally placed to explore the southern Lake District.
They offer a choice of rooms at different pricing, the best (dearest) overlook the garden and lake with superb views. The rooms in the newer extension have been refurbished in the last 12 months.
It is expensive (£280+ per night DB&B) for a couple in the best rooms, but its worth it! It is a good idea to contact the hotel directly to get access to any discounted offers, (B&B only, Book in advance rates, Courtyard Room rates etc) as they offer two restaurants; with the Lake View at £48 per person for a 5 course meal but the Ruskin Brasserie offers main dishes at £12+. So a more cost effective stay can be arranged. if staying for several days, note the main Restaurant menu only changes with the season, so vary where you eat for variety.
The Spa and Pool are outstanding. We swam every morning and as the hotel does not allow non residents to use the pool, we had it to ourselves most of the time.
The gardens are a showpiece and extremely well kept. In fact while we were there they had a group getting a guided tour with the head gardener.
Cruises on Windermere depart from the pier 100yds from the front door hourly at high season. You can travel from this southerly point to Bowness and Ambleside, explore both or either and return in the day.
They do cater for Weddings and Conferences, but the main Conference Suite is in a separate building and although we were conscious of a group being present during the week, they did not intrude on our holiday.
It appears that a great deal of thought has been put into the business strategy and it shows!
The majority of the management team have been here many years, which is a good sign, so this hotel always lives up to expectations! We will return!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Pool, room, restaurant and reception staff all very good and all we expected. Unfortunately the bistro and the room cleanliness were not up to standards expected. I had to ask housekeeping to come to room and clean all black fingermarks from bathroom and room doors. The vegetable risotto in the bistro was vegetable soup. The worst experience was being served in the bistro by an 'apprentice'. This girl's only point of reference was obviously a fast food outlet and had no ability to smile, be courteous or to clear the table without help and huge effort. She often came up to the table with 'are you done' which was very abrupt and uneccessary. The rest of the staff were wonderfully welcoming and efficient. Location is superb. We will return as very relaxing and friendly. I will just not go near the bistro and ensure room is properly cleaned.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glencora65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have just returned from an overnight stay and really didn't want to return home. An amazing location, peaceful and tranquil. The building itself is beautiful to look at and is extremely well-kept - no tatty edges! I stayed in a garden room which was very tastefully decorated and I was asleep in minutes in the amazing bed. I had steak in the brasserie which was cooked to perfection and the conservatory is a lovely place to relax. The manager informs me a dedicated superfast broadband will be available towards the end of the year which is great as you can only access wi-fi in the rooms. Not a problem though as it forced me not to work and to sit back and enjoy the view. It is a four star hotel so expect four star prices on everything. A couple of guests were making comments about the prices, but to be honest the drinks are on a par with the city centre bars, the Brasserie meals comparable to a good steak house and the Restaurant on a par with fine dining. I would definitely return. The staff, location, rooms and food were excellent and they have the best location in Newby Bridge.

Room Tip: They have a wide selection of rooms. You can't go wrong with a lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Even though the Lakes weather was wet and cold, Lakeside and their staff were warm and welcoming! Great food, great location, amazing room! The Spa was a lovely relaxing treat to this work off-site. All in all, a lovely night away. Thanks!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but a Lake view room is the nicest for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank coffeekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I had our first romantic weekend here 12 years ago and decided to return for a night for an anniversary treat. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had a couple of pre dinner drinks in the conservatory which has amazing views over Windermere and then ate in the Brasserie. The food and wine were excellent my only slight criticism was the delays between courses. The rooms are large and comfortable, ours had a sofa and chair and TV, so after a hard days walking one could have a cup of tea in the room and relax in the bathrobes provided.

12 years on, we were not disappointed, we had a great time and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank benjyboyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,441 reviews
1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
561 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £142 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing