We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting but a little overpriced”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 14 July 2009

The hotel is right on the lake and has a lovley view - the only down side is there is a large carpark at the front of the hotel as there is an aquarium and lots of tourist some to visit it. The hotel carpark is in fact behind the aquarium. On arrival your luggage is taken and your car park - which is good as a bit if a treck from the carpark.
The room was spacious - the only downside was the bed was terrible, so soft your head was lower than your feet and we could hear the guys in the room above us snoring all night - one of the worse night sleeps i have every had.

However the food and the service in the resturant was fantasic and the spa facilites wonderful. We stayed on a sunday night and the hotel was quite and we ended up being the only ones using the pool and facilites which was very relaxing. I have a spa treatment which was lovley.

The view is lovley and you can sit the garden overlooking the lake and just relax.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixx07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,221 - 1,227 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2009

We stayed for 2 nights. We had our bags taken to our rooms and the car was parked by consierge. The place it's self was clean, the staff were happy and helpful. However, we would adivse when you book here to see whether there is a conference or large booking the time you are to go. All stops go out to the large parties and not the Hotel guests.

The first night we could not go for "Fine Dining" as there was a conference on and all bookings had been taken, so we were put in the Brassiere. This, however was superb. Apart from the heat in there the food was amazing. The rooms are a tad antiquated and need updating. The bed we had was amazing and snug. The Spa/Pool was top class.

The views are spectacular, the best i've seen.

The second day was "different". We were at breakfast for 8.45am and could not get into the Restaurant and was placed in the Brassiere again. Breakfast took 45 mins to be served. We tried to book the fine dining again but told was full. The staff did go out of their way to try and get us in there. We didnt want to eat in the Brassiere again because...1. It was literally the same menu, 2. It was too hot to eat in there. 3. The service was slow.

We sat outside and had light snacks in the eveneing which is not exactly allowed but Ben ( Deputy Manager) gladly catered for us. Apart from a slight "hick up" with a couple from Middlesborough, the 2 days were superb.

Though they were understaffed on this weekend, the staff were very pleasant and courtious. Many thanks to Ben for doing his best for us. Service was very slow though.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BealeFamilyWallasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We went there with our two year old daughter and we stayed at one of the lodges with an amazing view. The hotel is very charming, our rom was very clean and the furniture were in very good condition. The location is fantastic. It has a very secluded and peaceful feeling yet the ferry that goes the Bowness stops right near the hotel and the aquarium is less than 5 mins. walking distance. There two restaurants in the hotel and both serve very delicious food. Our daughter enjoyed the green areas, the lake side, the pool, feeding the ducks and the swans.

The staff was very helpful with all our demands. It was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

I booked this hotel, based on previous reviews, and was not disapointed!. I was married on the 6th of June, and due to personal circumstances my wife and I could only get away for 2 nights so booking this hotel was in essence a short Honeymoon for us. Right from arriving we were impressed by the level of service, the receptionist came out to the car, and helped us with our luggage, and the porter parked my car, and then proceeded to take the luggage to our room. Whilst that was going on we were personally shown round the hotel and up to our room. I had emailed the hotel telling them it was our honeymoon and a bottle of decent champagne and fresh fruit was delivered to our room. I had booked a lakeside view with a jacuuzzi bath. Our Room were spacous, clean and well laid out. A very modern room with an old word theme. The hotel itself is charming, with a victorain feel, but also very modern too. We used the Spa, which to be honest is the best I have seen in any hotel. Mordern ,clean and well laid out. I was particualry impressed with the changing areas. Clean towels are provided, no paper towels, but clean face cloths. Shampoo dispencers in all shower compartments. The pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were excellent very bright and modern. There is also a gym, although I didn't use it it looked to a fairly high standard, if a little small. I work out 4 days a week so I know what I'm talking about!.

We ate in the hotel on the 1st night, as per prevoius reviews it isn't cheap, but to be honest it was worth the money as the food was superb and the service excellent. The General manager came out to our table and introduced herself, and congraduated us on our marraige. Its little touches like that that really makes your stay!
Breakfast was top notch and you have a fair choice, its self service for the uncooked food, plenty of choice. and you get a menu for cooked breakfast. Freshly sqeezed orange juice too! Plenty of toast and tea coffee also.

To sum up an amazing stay which for us was too short. We stayed on a Monday and Tuesday nights so it was quiet with not many children running about as in previous reviews. It is EXPENSIVE, no doubt about it, in my book I was prepared for it, and it was worth it. But it is well worth being aware of from the outset.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdel5412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Stayed here and had a really nice time, felt really at home sitting in the living room, infront of the fire, reading the papers, listening to the pianist! All very posh!. The pool and steam room/sauna were all great but shame they closed so early! (7pm!). Loved sitting in our room after the pool in the white robes. The food was really expensive but we just ate elsewhere in a pub down the road or had some snacks in the room. Great service, and breakfast was fantastic! Would visit again in a shot! x

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quesara666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

A real gem of a hotel, but a little overpriced. One of the nicest hotel swimming pool I have seen. Shame about the huge car-park at the hotel. It takes away from the otherwise lovely setting. Do not go there at weekends, kids running around noisily up to 2 am. Service was a little patchy, sometimes very efficient, sometimes ...... If the weather improves in the Lake District I will be back! (Not a hope I suppose)

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Stayed here for two nights based on this sites reviews and were not disappointed. Right from our greeting from our car. Fast check-in very friendly staff. Rooms very spacious more like a suite. Tea and coffee in the rooms, lovely bathroom and showers. The pillows and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in. Spa and pool area very serene - although the showers here seem to run hot and cold. The Fine Dining restaurant deserves more than the 2 AA Rosettes. £45 for 6 courses - every mouthful was a delight and the service exceptional. The Bistro was £39 for 3 courses, where the food was all very salty and the service was slow - although they tried their best. For the extra £6 I wouldn't bother with the Bistro - the service and the food is noticeably different by comparison. They could do with a notice on the confirmation and the website that they have a parking service - we spent 10 minutes looking for the car park. There car park is behind the aquarium. The location and views are stunning, but the fact that you can get the Lake Ferries straight from the door of the hotel, go on the old steam train or visit the aquarium without getting in a car - makes the location even more remarkable. This was pure luxury and we enjoyed every minute of it, just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
468 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
718 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,913 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £147 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing