We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, hotel, food and service!”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We have stayed at the Lakeside on business before, as ever, the Lakeside Hotel did not disappoint us. WE have just got back from our over night stay to celebrate my husband's 30th, we had a ground floor double lakeside room with your own garden back onto the famous lake windermere, the room was clean, comfortable and beautiful! The swimming pool was only round the corner from our room and we have enjoyed a lovely time swmming there - pool was stunningly beautiful and clean, just right! They even provide you with fresh towels and all the essentials, shampoo, etc. Customer service has been first class throughout., we were met by Tom the hotel manager, he was polite, thorough and friendly, certainly passionate about his hotel. We have chosen to dinne at the hotel even thought we knew it was not cheap, but the dinning experience has made our stay even more special, the food was first class and the service was excellent! All in all, we had a lovely, relaxing time at the lakeside and we would definately come back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fungifung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
There are newer reviews for Lakeside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2010

Stayed for the second time at Lakeside and was very enjoyable. Very nice greeting when we arrived, out to meet us at the car to take bags etc. Check in all fine and we were shown to our room while the bags were brought in. Hotel was very nice, room big enough for the 3 of us. One small word of caution, the swimming pool was cold, certainly more for "serious" swimming than relaxing paddle. We had dinner in the evening in the bar which was fine, although service a bit slow, but we weren't in a rush so not a problem. I needed an early breakfast and details were taken the night before and delivered promptly on time to the room - it was more than I had expected and very nicely presented, a big well done as it set me up nicely for the day! Overall, service and staff were very good.
Not the cheapest place, but is nice surroundings. Not sure about the formal wear for the staff, dinner jackets and bow ties in the evening, but that's just my personal preference for a more informal, relaxed look.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcarr2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We made a last minute booking here and stayed for just the Saturday night. A year after our last stay the hotel was as lovely as ever, the staff were very friendly, fresh flowers everywhere and the sun was even shining.

Our only disappointment was the room. We went for a cheaper option and, while we knew it wouldnt be as nice as the lake view with terrace that we had treated ourselves to on a previous visit, we were still a little dissapointed. The view from our window this time, was of a brick wall and a fire escape. The room was also very hot during the night and so we opened the window- only to hear the loud buzzing sound of a generator ouside!... we opted for closing the window and boiling in our beds instead!. I'm afraid neither of us slept very well at all and instead of feeling relaxed and rejuvenated we felt very weary the next morning. Yes, we were in a cheaper room but still, at nearly two hundred pounds for one night, you would expect a good nights sleep!.

On the plus side we ate in the brasserie in the evening, the food was amazing and the staff were great. We also enjoyed the very talented pianist who played through the evening. Drinks are pricey though- glass of wine £7.50.

So, all in all, we had a good time but having no sleep was a real shame, especially with a long week at work looming.... off to bed now for a catch up!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We did not stay in the hotel but took advantage of an offer for Afternoon Tea.We made a reservation as was advised over a week before we went.On arrival we were told to go into the conservatory but when we arrived there the waitress on duty had not received any notification of our booking.However a table was laid and in a short while we were served with the full afternooon tea as requested. The tea itself was excellent with plenty of sandwiches,scones and an unusual but delicious selection of cakes and biscuits.The only thing that spoilt it was that the hotel does not have its own car park.Resident guests apparently get a permit for the adjacent carpark which services the Lakeside steamer and the Aquarium but guest coming for meals have to pay. My husband put £2.20 in the machine for 1 1/2 hours so was constantly clock watching thoughout his meal. Not quite what you expect at a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Sagittarian_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Lakeside Hotel celebrating our first wedding anniversary and we loved it there. It had everything we were looking for - nice room, lovely spa, great food, peaceful and relaxing etc. However, the stand out feature of the hotel was the service. We were made to feel that our personal comfort really mattered and the hotel staff exceeded our expectations every day with a friendly and helpful attentiveness that never strayed into intrusion. Nothing was too much trouble and never a hint of 'someone else's job' - your happiness is everyone's job at the Lakeside. It's in a fabulous location as well. We saw a number of the other hotels that we'd considered as we drove around and so many were next to main roads or right in the middle of town but this hotel is at the bottom of Windermere - a short drive to Bowness but peaceful and away from the hubbub. I would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipsqueakNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed at the Lakeside Hotel immediately after it re-opened last month. The hotel was looking as beautiful as ever, if not more so. We had a wonderful relaxing stay and the food and service was of the usual high standard. We particularly enjoyed the new conservatory menu and had a lovely lunch and superb afternoon tea in there (not the same day!). It is the ideal place to sit and take in the views. We could stay there forever! Dinners in the restaurant were excellent and we enjoyed taking coffee in the conservatory and listening to the pianist. It was an experience we are looking forward to repeating as often as possible.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avalon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We had not planned to lunch at the Lakeside, but our first two choices of venue were unfortunately still closed for repairs and refurbishment following the recent flooding. As it was a beautiful day we seated ourselves in the lovely gardens just outside the conservatory, with stunning views over the Lake. We were aware of the high price of lunch, but my mother who was treating us thought it would be rather special to enjoy a leisurely lunch in such beautiful surroundings. The prices are not justified at £16 per sandwich and unfortunately the service was extremely slow. On venturing into the conservatory 40 minutes after placing our order, to enquire when we might expect our food, were told 'well it is because it is such a large order'. We were 3 adults and 3 children requiring sandwiches - not 10 requiring cooked meals. Consequently when our food [nice but not especially better than eaten elsewhere] eventually did appear, with apologies from our pleasant waitress, our experience was already a negative one.
Such a shame and would certainly put us off staying in the hotel, as if they cannot get the basics such as a simple lunch right, it does not fill one with confidence.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank foxone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
697 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
514 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £144 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing