We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but you pay for it”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent but you pay for it”
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Truly a cut above the typical creaky floorboard sticky carpet mouldy bathroom British hotel. Outstanding location - easy to get to but quiet once there. Very good accommodation with proper beds - none of those boingy squeaky mattresses here. Excellent food - but very pricey. Service generally of a very high standard although pace of service is relaxed in restaurant (the food is worth the wait) and was too slow in the bar. The wireless internet in the rooms kept dropping out and mobile reception is variable here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    317
    90
    29
    20
See reviews for
294
684
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

After the volcanic ash ruined my partner's idea of proposing to me in the Indian Ocean, he surprised me with a weekend to the Lakeside Hotel. We could not have asked for a better few days. The lake view room was gorgeous with french windows opening out onto the grass and lake.

The food was exquisite - we ate in the hotel for breakfast, lunch and dinner on both days as it was so good, with lots of choice. My boyfriend had booked us each a massage in the spa on the Sunday morning which was lovely followed by a lazy time in the sauna, steam room and pool.

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the lakes, you must come here. We will definately be coming back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwest UK
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Stayed at the Lakeside Hotel for the 4th visit for 2 nights in May. As a previous guest I get mailshots with good offers so tried to avail myself of one of these. Was unable to book on web as wanted a twin room,(didn't fancy sharing a double with my sister!!) Telephone call to reservations was very productive as was offered a better room (garden room) for web price of lower grade room. Obviously was extremely pleased. Check in as usual was smooth and efficent. Our room was not ready so we decided to go for a drive and were contacted by phone when it was available for us. Lovely room, furnished with antique furniture, with a fantastic deep bath, and our own small garden. Were slightly perturbed later though when a window cleaner appeared in the garden...good job were we fuly clothed!! Wanted to eat in the Brasserie but it was not available during our stay..possibly because of low occupancy, but it would have been good to be informed of this earlier. Offered booking in fine dining but declined, as we preferred a more laid back venue on this occasion.
Breakfast was usual superb standard, staff very attentive and courteous, quality of food exemplary. Pity then that breakfast was marred by the attitude of some "guests" who were rude and boorish and seemed to think staff were their servants. Basic manners appeared to be missing in their vocabulary but the professionalism of the staff certainly could have taught them something.
Bedroom was lovely and comfortable but sadly attention to detail appeared to be lacking on this visit. The sink taps in the bathroom rotated through 45 degrees when turned meaning that the water tended to flow out of the sink. Light bulbs were faulty in bedside lamps though this was remedied very quickly following a call to reception. Complementary water was not replaced, but a 3/4 used bottle was returned to the table for further use. Dusting appeared to be generally poor with many surfaces covered with a thick layer of dust, area behind the television and the top of tall boy were particularly bad....seemed to be a case of out of sight, out of mind. Free wifi in the garden room quite poor...had to resort to garden at one point to connect. Overall though we had a lovely stay and will return but was disappointed to find that the lack of attention to detail meant that the previous standard was not met. It would be a shame if this became the norm at an otherwise exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cobham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Our room was so unique on the lakeside of Lake Windermere..... large spacious and stunning view from the large patio windows. Lovely sauna in the room! highly recommend this for a very private and romantic retreat. Food was exceptional breakfast and dinner exquisite. Service was exceptional. I have travelled extensively and this is a wonderful proper four star hotel with five star location!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristgalore8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

My husband booked this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary as we didn't get to celebrate our first properly. I was quite hesitant to travel 6 hours or train and taxi it to the hotel... so I spoke to the manager and tried to get the booking cancelled. They explained the deposit was non refundable however they would hold the credit and we can use it within 6 months. Finally I came around to idea of going along with it and I am so so pleased. The manager upgraded our room and was very reassuring. I think this hotel has a few mixed reviews recently but i would honestly say that it's really not that bad. It's a preference and I'm rather fussy with hotels etc... but this has been one of the best hotels I have stayed in the UK. It's not super modern but quite nicely decorated and looks elegant. The food in the fine dining was good value for price and quite comparable to some top restaurants in London and well priced. We wanted to try Brasserie but unfortunately we went on the wrong night and there was a delay with the service. I believe the food was still outstanding there from what we saw, the other customers seemed happy with it. The manager took us through to the Fine Dining and redeemed themselves with once again another round of excellent food and service at no charge.
All members of staff were incredibly helpful and polite- the only bad thing we saw was a customer giving one of the staff a very hard time.
The spa is amazing and I would advise to book in advance as treatments are booked up quite quickly. The spa team made the Gents feel comfortable as more men were seen going for treatments.
Once again all staff members were very delightful and made our stay special. No job was ever a big job for them. The evening staff were very nice and polite. I can think of a few names apart from the management that were very good- graham and julie and John the porter. (They were ALL very good but cannot remember names). Our comfort was their priority.
The view was superb and the location was great for getting around.
We are planning to return by summer and this time we will take our 5 yr old daughter as it's very child & family friendly. It's a good one for everyone no matter what age or occasion. The children were so placid in this beautiful environment, that we hardly noticed them around. The Beatrix Potter attraction is very close too.
Good for entertaining clients as they will enjoy all the fine elements of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CumbriaLA7 7RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We have stayed at the Lakeside on business before, as ever, the Lakeside Hotel did not disappoint us. WE have just got back from our over night stay to celebrate my husband's 30th, we had a ground floor double lakeside room with your own garden back onto the famous lake windermere, the room was clean, comfortable and beautiful! The swimming pool was only round the corner from our room and we have enjoyed a lovely time swmming there - pool was stunningly beautiful and clean, just right! They even provide you with fresh towels and all the essentials, shampoo, etc. Customer service has been first class throughout., we were met by Tom the hotel manager, he was polite, thorough and friendly, certainly passionate about his hotel. We have chosen to dinne at the hotel even thought we knew it was not cheap, but the dinning experience has made our stay even more special, the food was first class and the service was excellent! All in all, we had a lovely, relaxing time at the lakeside and we would definately come back soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fungifung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Stayed for the second time at Lakeside and was very enjoyable. Very nice greeting when we arrived, out to meet us at the car to take bags etc. Check in all fine and we were shown to our room while the bags were brought in. Hotel was very nice, room big enough for the 3 of us. One small word of caution, the swimming pool was cold, certainly more for "serious" swimming than relaxing paddle. We had dinner in the evening in the bar which was fine, although service a bit slow, but we weren't in a rush so not a problem. I needed an early breakfast and details were taken the night before and delivered promptly on time to the room - it was more than I had expected and very nicely presented, a big well done as it set me up nicely for the day! Overall, service and staff were very good.
Not the cheapest place, but is nice surroundings. Not sure about the formal wear for the staff, dinner jackets and bow ties in the evening, but that's just my personal preference for a more informal, relaxed look.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcarr2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,362 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,876 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
506 reviews
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing