We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Surrey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed at The Swan Inn for our wedding anniversary and had a great stay. It's a beautiful 13th century coaching inn situated by a river and the decor is beautiful - every room is different. The breakfasts were fantastic and the spa was fantastic. Our room was comfortable, roomy and quiet. We didn't try the restaurant or brasserie but I imagine the food was good if the breakfasts were anything to go by. Whilst there isn't much to do in Newby Bridge, it was a good location from where to discover the lakes. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking for a stylish break in the Lake District.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a spa treatment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    307
    111
    77
    50
See reviews for
288
565
12
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Great accomodation, great leisure facilities, great food and fantastic service. With a 2 year old they ensured that everything we needed was on hand. Spa was also fab! The only issue I had was that the water was so chlorinated that the tea and coffee tasted horrendous - please sort this out so I can come back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Great hotel.
Great pool!
Lovely bar with delicious food and real ale. Again, kid friendly.
Lovely breakfast with kiddy sized portions for your wee ones!
Can't wait to go back and have a longer stay.

One thing for management - please update the toys in the library. Some one has pinched or broken the ones left. Great idea and i guess it's hard to stop children walking off with them.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the_f_ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

Just returned from a relaxing stay at the Swan. Modern decor in an old building, lovely swimming pool and a good restaurant with excellent waiters.
One of the best hotels in the Lakes because it is not stuffy like so many of the big hotels and it is perfectly maintained, so no peeling paint or frayed carpets in hallways.
My only dislikesare receptionists with headphones talking loudly, it would be so much better if they were more discreet. Also, the main doors are drab and dark, unlike the rest of the hotel. Would definetly recommend and other hotels could learn much from their example

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkMikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

We have just stayed four nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and well presented. The other public rooms were nicely decorated and plenty of seating room. We ate three times in the restaurant and twice in the bar needless to say the food was excellent and the service friendly and efficient. The breakfast was excellent and again the staff were only too happy to accommodate any requests made. If we have a criticism it was that the staff on reception were not as friendly as staff in other areas also we require twin beds and this is the first hotel we have come across that charges a supplement for a twin room. Overall our stay at this hotel was most enjoyable and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverview00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Quite unusual for the lakes, this hotel ticks every box! Beautiful location, amazing welcome from reception staff, with friendly & professional service throughout. Good clean spacious room & bathroom. We ate in the pub twice (simply because the food was so good there on the first night). Breakfasts were delightful. Small but adequate spa. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s_r52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

I was taken to this hotel on a surprise romanic trip away and was over the moon. I can be fairly picky with accommodation, but the decor is fab, service was brilliant and the food is great. You really don't need to leave the hotel. The only downside is that there aren't other pubs or restaurants in walking distance, but the hotel facilities are so good it doesn't really matter. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lousim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing