We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel - perfect for all the family”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2011

A beautiful hotel in its own right - and definately the best family-friendly hotel Ive ever stayed at in the UK. The decor, the service, the location the facilities - all first rate. The Kids loved the pub lunches at teatime, the outdoor playground and nature trail, and the swimming pool. Me and my husband were really wowed by the food in the River Room - consistently brilliant food. Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: The inter-connecting bedrooms - perfect for famile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kicki1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,250 - 1,256 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

This is a lovely hotel, with the added advantage (which seems to be unusual in the Lake District) that you can book a weekend stay for just one night. Very recently refurbished, it has been highly interior-designed in a style which is homely yet fashionable, kind of Granny Goes Boutique.

The inn part of the building is very cosy, with low ceilings, plenty of beams and a good bar menu. The restaurant is in a grander, high-beamed space and is more hotel-ish than inn-ish. Given that the Lake District is more about cosiness than sophistication, eating in the bar will always be my preference. Our room was homely, warm and very clean, with a fantastic big, comfy bed. The rooms all seem to be in a more modern part of the building and so don't have much character in terms of architecture, but are very nice nonetheless.

It is a great place to stay if you have small children, with a playroom, swimming pool and plenty of other families around. However, despite the fact that all the kids were well-behaved during our stay, it makes the place feel more family-orientated than romantic or grown-up. And we were woken far too early on Sunday morning by kids next door and in the corridor. So it wouldn't be my first choice for a break with just a spouse or partner. Overall, though, it's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy5329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Overall, the Swan is a good hotel. The location is good - both in its setting by the river and its position for walking. During our weekend stay, most of the staff were excellent (even if the reception girls were baffled by the idea of walkers requesting a packed lunch and unable to help). The spa, pool etc. was fine. The food in both the bar and the restaurant were good, although overpriced. However, as is fate of many a weekend hotel guest, we were subject to someone else's wedding. Normally pleased to smile indulgently at these things (and hope you're room isn't above the dance floor), we were more than a little dismayed when fighting broke out at the wedding by 9:30 pm resulting in exodus of the impeccable restaurant staff where we were eating to the room above to sort out the problem. This was followed by the arrival of the police. We went to bed, but by 11.30pm were wide awake with the end of the wedding party, and what followed, which was rather like a bad farce. Screaming, arguing, swearing guests returning to rooms, breakdown of a hysterical bride in the corridor etc, which continued in to the early hours. I understand the police were called another 2 times and some guests had to be moved away.

This is probably not a typical weekend at the Swan. However, it was our special weekend for my 40th birthday, saved up for for a year. An e-mail apology following our both verbal and written comments would not have gone amiss. My advice: good hotel, but don't think of staying on a Saturday night unless you enjoy mixing with a lot of drunken yobs and watching a good scrap.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcowan009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We arrived at The Swan Hotel and Spa last Saturday at lunchtime and enjoyed a bottle of fizz and lunch by the river with beautiful views, great service and very tasty food. The hotel was extremely clean, the staff really helpful and the whole place had a relaxed feel. Furnishings were fabulous with lots of different rooms to sit and chill out in. Dinner on the Sunday night was yummy - great lasagne!
Sleep quality is rated 3 only due to a wedding on the Saturday night. It was fine on Sunday and I'm sure it would be every other night.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and we are already planning our return visit.
Hannah Squirrell

Room Tip: Book spa before you go. It was full :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squirrellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed at The Swan Inn for our wedding anniversary and had a great stay. It's a beautiful 13th century coaching inn situated by a river and the decor is beautiful - every room is different. The breakfasts were fantastic and the spa was fantastic. Our room was comfortable, roomy and quiet. We didn't try the restaurant or brasserie but I imagine the food was good if the breakfasts were anything to go by. Whilst there isn't much to do in Newby Bridge, it was a good location from where to discover the lakes. I'd thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking for a stylish break in the Lake District.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a spa treatment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Great accomodation, great leisure facilities, great food and fantastic service. With a 2 year old they ensured that everything we needed was on hand. Spa was also fab! The only issue I had was that the water was so chlorinated that the tea and coffee tasted horrendous - please sort this out so I can come back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Great hotel.
Great pool!
Lovely bar with delicious food and real ale. Again, kid friendly.
Lovely breakfast with kiddy sized portions for your wee ones!
Can't wait to go back and have a longer stay.

One thing for management - please update the toys in the library. Some one has pinched or broken the ones left. Great idea and i guess it's hard to stop children walking off with them.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_f_ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,357 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
504 reviews
11.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,428 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £106 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing