We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swan Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Swan Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed many times over the years and enjoyed the place every time. Our kids cannot wait to return as they love the pool and the games room just by the lobby. Since the refurbishment after the flood, the rooms are very nicely decorated. It can get very busy at the weekends with the bar at times being packed making it hard to get a table, but I find this preferable to scarcely populated hotel bars where you are frightened to make any noise, especially when you have young children. Have stayed in various rooms from standard doubles to the larger suites, and have never been disappointed. It is a bit pricey, especially the food and drink in the bar, but overall this hotel is one of our favourite places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    313
    113
    81
    53
See reviews for
302
577
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have just spent 3 days here on a work related course and will certainly return both for work meetings and pleasure. Staff are incredibly helpful - nothing is too much trouble. Food was first class and rooms to a very high standard. Absolutely nothing negative to say at all

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sewies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here overnight for a spa break with the girls! From the moment we arrived we felt totally relaxed, the staff were attentive and very informed on the local area. Our deluxe rooms were both beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, the hotel also boasts lots of attractive lounge areas to relax in. The breakfast was amazing, so much choice, served in a superb restaurant, no need for lunch! The spa area and treatments couldn't be faulted. We will definitely stay here again, truly a gem in the Lakes.

Room Tip: Would recommend the rooms with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balestan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
560 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Nowhere in the Lake district is available at a real bargain price, so we bit the bullet, paid more than the cheapest places, and chose the Swan hotel. The building is a lovely old place sensitively brought into the 21st century, and the rooms comfortable and luxurious.

The spa however isnt up to much, the sauna barely warm, but maybe my stadards are too high compared with my excellent gym.

Breakfast was superb though, and set us up perfectly for our days walk.

I said that nowhere is a bargain in the lakes, but at this premium price, you have to be really amazing to get top marks. Would stay again though.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel with our 11 month old son and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We booked through a third party but needed to contact the hotel before arriving and had no difficulty getting through to someone who new of the booking and were very helpful. we arrived slightly before the usual check in time but no questions asked and we were able to get straight to out room. The room was very clean and quite spacious with a clean and modern bathroom. The only downside to the room was that we weren't quite clear how to get the airconditioning/heating to work and there didn't seem to be any instruction - barely worth mentioning really.

After settling in we took our son downstairs to look around and very easily found a small playroom for children, complete with coffee table and television. There was a whole library of childrens' books and several different types of toy. We were also able to enjoy the swimming pool and the shop stocked many items that may be needed including swimming aids and a few toys for children.

The evening meal in the restaurant was very good also. I would say slightly expensive to what we would normally pay, but having said that, the portions were excellent and food delicious.

Outside the hotel is a lovely area to walk on the waterside, and I can imagine in warmer weather, enjoy a drink. We didn't get as far as walking along the marina but did go to the childrens' play area.

All in all I would say this is the most family friendly hotel I've ever stayed at (admittedly I've probably only noticed this sort of thing in the last year since we've had a baby). Even without children I would say there is plenty of space and quietness for everyone to feel comfortable. The staff are genuinely friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. The only small negative is that there was a cost of £10 for provision of a cot which though one may say is a very fair cost, I have to say I've never had to pay for provision of a cot before. I will update the review if this seems to be a very standard tariff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Where_2_nextthen?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is truly a child friendly hotel, which may suit many bit perhaps not all. It can get noisy, but in fairness if you are engaged in your own activity it isn't a problem. The Spa is excellent and as a local it is why we go there,as well as when family visit and we want to go somewhere a bit more high end of the market. It isn't cheap, but the service is good and the quality is generally of a high standard. The lounge area could be cleared and cleaned more frequently so that when you sit down in the gorgeous surroundings you are not aware of the last parties clutter and food etc. Every time we have visited there are always large family groups and young children around so just be mindful of that if staying and you want peace and log fires, which I generally don't focus upon as I am a local user.

Room Tip: Possibly a good idea to avoid the ground floor as it can be a busy route past room doors and windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julescumbria1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We did not stay here - but would quite like too! The public areas and outside are very nice. It was a lovely day and we sat outside (in February!) it was glorious. The bar is child friendly and quite noisy, so if you dont like children - stay away! However, if you dont mind families and large groups it is great. Food quite pricey but very good. My only complaint would be that the bar seems to be understaffed. Quite a long wait to order foods and drinks. We visited twice during our stay in the Lake District and both times there was a lack of staff behind the bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing