We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely setting, great spa massages, great relaxing few days”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at Swan Hotel and have had a thoroughly relaxing few days.

The location on the river is stunning - even better from our room overlooking it on the 2nd floor which was a bonus! Agree with other tripadvisor comments, it is best to not be on the ground floor as there is constant traffic (of cars and people). I requested a high floor at booking and got one without issue.

The hotel is tastefully decorated. I had 2 spa treatments and they were great - lovely massages with aromatherapy and facial, really relaxing setting with well trained staff.

Very good choices for in room breakfast - very impressive - and delivered on time (for no extra cost).
Lovely, ample choices, in the breakfast room too that we had on the second day.

Cannot comment on lunch/dinner at this hotel as we ate elsewhere. Points to note from our brief look-about, the music played in the bar is rather loud, the place was full too so unable to find a "quiet spot" and the prices were on the expensive side - hence why we ate whilst out exploring.

One key thing to note is how thin the walls are upstairs - you hear everything, from the corridors to the TVs in the next room. Not ideal, especially the loud group of revellers going to bed ~ 1am Friday night, but I imagine this is typical and consistent to how the building is made. Unfortunately for us we were housed very close to the hot water tank too which made a bit of noise, especially in the morning.

That said it was a perfect weekend and had nice touches like complimentary water in the room, lovely bath products and robes, and being allowed to check out 1 hour after the schedule check out time at no cost. I absolutely loved the massages I had so it was a great pampering experience.

Thanks again

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynda82012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,146 - 1,152 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

The situation of this hotel is idyllic beside the river. On the day we arrived we were able to sit out on the riverbank with a drink.
The staff were friendly and efficient. On the Friday evening the restaurant and bar area was extremely busy yet the food was excellent in quality and served promptly.
Our room was at the rear of the hotel but had a lovely outlook over to the hills. It was clean and a good size and the bed was very comfortable.
Food and drink I felt were priced reasonably for a hotel of this quality. An 8oz sirloin cost around £17, a pint of beer £3.10 and a large glass of wine around £7.
This is a very family friendly hotel. We had a 3 and 6 year old in our party and they thoroughly enjoyed the facilities, childrens indoor play area, swimming pool, adventure playground and nature trail.
Although this is a family hotel it will not deter me from visiting as a couple as there are a number of small rooms off reception area with seating for a little peace and quiet.
For those wishing to do some exploring by car the hotel is well located.
I hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Suggest preferable to have rooms on 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a trip to the Lakes and spent one night in the Swan Hotel. It is a lovely modern hotel, tastefully decorated, situated on the river. The weather when we arrived was glorious, so we saw the hotel at its best.
.
The room we had was spacious, modern and well equipped, and the bed was very comfortable with crisp white linen.

We ate in the restaurant and the meal did not disappoint. The full cooked English breakfast is also a must. The drinks however are a bit on the pricey side, particularly the wine.

The bar area also offers excellent bar meals, and the staff were polite and efficient.

The pool and spa area were very clean and not too busy at any one time, so it allowed us to chill out and relax.

I indulged myself and treated myself to a luxury pedicure which I had been really looking forward to, but was very disappointed with. It was not what I expected for the price and I would not recommend this, as you can do a better job yourself. Opt for one of the other treatments like a massage, which I heard a couple of other guests remarking on how good they were.

Overall the hotel is well worth a visit, and we would return again if we are in this area

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOCKY09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have stayed at the swan before we returned on the 16/17/18 of march I can,t say enough about this hotel lovely spot rooms very nice & quiet hotel pool gym & bar area are excellent the food is also very good all the staff are very helpfull &cheerfull peterandgloria we will be back

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quiet &have a nice outlook I have not stayed in a river room but they look very g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestYorksPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The rooms are well appointed and pleasantly decorated. I had a suite which unfortunately was on the ground floor. Problems with ground floor suite are the path by your window-everyone leaving the car park walks directly by your window and to the lounge area those that don't know the path walk directly by your lounge area. This room lacks privacy for anyone who wants to take advantage of a suite, I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past and would suggest it is better for young families-under the age of 14
The food in the restaurant is still of high quality and the restaurant manager deserves a special note for his flexibility in accommodating our needs
The down fall of this hotel lies in reception: they recognise they can fill the hotel with weddings and corporate events and as a result of this lack the interest of a booking so small as ours.
I would also like to add that now the hotel has utilised a lot of its space : ie lounges for young families who of course don't fully utilise as they have come for the roaring fires as well! some corporate decisions appear ill advised. We booked 3 suites for our family trip.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are to be avoided. If you have a ground floor room avoid the garden view. The ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julo063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Just returned from Swan Hotel which has been refurbished since we last visited. Hotel furnishings are exceptionally stylish and although we stayed in a standard double bedroom it would have been classed as deluxe in other hotels. It had a large comfortable bed, chairs and tables and a clean modern bathroom. Decor was modern and stylish with lovely views across the hills. All the staff at the Swan are friendly and helpful and the River Room dining areas, bar, and lounges are stylish and comfortable. Having a swim in the pool was like taking a warm bath and the rest of the leisure facilities were good. The breakfast choice would suit everyone - the scrambled egg with local smoked salmon is my favourite every time. Well done Swan Hotel. We have always loved it here and will be back again.

Mr and Mrs E.D Holme
Preston. LANCS

Room Tip: All rooms decorated to a high standard. Just choose according to your needs and budget. You will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineandEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Really enjoyed our visit there last weekend. The only downside was 1/2 hr wait for our breakfast on Sunday- other than that a really good experience

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooseberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,359 reviews
8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
11.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £158 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing