We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location and pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
North Wales
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely location and pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2008

Just got back from a two night stay at the Swan Hotel. The setting of the hotel is lovely, just by the river. Didn't get chance to sit outside but lovely seating area by the river. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The health and fitness suite was excellent. Lovely swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which we used both days. There are three eatings areas in the hotel The Swan Inn, Roland and the River Room. We only ate in the River Room, food was nice and staff really friendly. Breakfast is served in Roland and there is a good choice and the full English breakfast looked really good, however, i opted for scrambled eggs on a bagel which was lovely.

If you've got a car and don't mind driving out at night I would recommend going into Ulverston or Windermere where there are a nice selection of retaurants.

We stayed in one of the standard rooms. Nice big space with double bed, really comfortable. Bathroom ok. Although the cleaners had been in they failed to see the previous guests pants which had been left on the shelf above the shower! We were offered a discount on our next stay there on account of this. Toilet seat was loose which was irritating. Apart from that I cannot fault this hotel and the staff.

  • Liked — Swimming Pool
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claretp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    307
    112
    77
    50
See reviews for
289
566
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2008

To make you aware my job involves staying at hotels almost every week all over Europe.
My girlfriend and I stayed over New Year 07/08 for a package booked late. I'm 38 and she's 29. We were a little apprehensive because of the location of the hotel being far away from a town but thats one of the nice things about this hotel. Even though it rained for the whole 3 days we stayed we found plenty to do both inside the hotel and our excursionsout.
The hotel is FANTASTIC. Completely. The reception staff and pleasant. The bar staff are hardworking and pleasant. The young restaurant manager completely stood out with his lovely attitude to customer satisfaction. The food was to the top standard, hot, well presented and tastefull. I'm a vegetarian and equally their was a nice selection for me from both teh bar and restaurant menu's. The hotel is clean spotlessly clean. Rooms very comfortable.
The Hogmanay evening was a black tie event which wasn't made clear but fortunately i had a black tie packed for the event. Their was a few older retired couples and families but that didn't stop us making friends and having a really fantastic time.
This hotel is very well recommended by me! Actually it well deserves its 4 star rating and the food is fabulous. Don't be fooled by cheaper alternatives. This is the hotel to stay! I will definately be returning.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank vacforming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2007

We have had the most fantastic time at this hotel over 4 nights at Christmas. The hotel is beautiful. The decoration in the public areas is modern and striking. The staff could not have been better. Every single person was friendly, helpful and a joy to deal with. The pool was lovely and the spa and gym facilities looked great, although we didn't use them. The food was fantastic. We ate in the River (a brasserie) on our first night (not part of the Christmas programme) and it was great. Then we ate in Roland for the rest of our meals and they too were excellent. The Christmas Day menu comprised something like 8 or 9 courses and was delicious. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would always choose it if I was staying in the Lakes again.

  • Liked — The striking décor in the public areas
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ShrimpStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2007

Half term break with wife and 7 yr old daughter. Paid £180 per night B&B for double room with rollaway bed for daughter. Very well located as a base for exploring the Lakes.
Arrived at 2.15 and invited to use pool as room not ready (not guaranteed until 3 anyway). Our room on first floor looking out over river was lovely, bed and bedding truly sumptuous, bathroom spotless and generally a very good standard of room. Meals in both River Room and Rolands of a high standard, if a little over-priced. Restaurants have a nice atmosphere and were full most of the evening. That said, it's a hotel and there's not a lot else out there other than pub food. The Swan probably does the best grub for some distance. Wine list pretty good too but you pay a premium. A pleasant Pinot Grigio at £16 for example.
The hotel retains its' lovely 2 or 3 fireplaces in the various river facing cosy areas between reception and the bar and these were all lit from about 5.30pm. Get a seat here in the evening, wine or beer to hand and you'll hate having to risk losing it for dinner. These spots are lovely, and popular.
The pool, sauna and steam room area gets top marks apart from some really sloppy attention to detail with loose and rusty fittings which let the place down. Gym looked pretty good. All you'd expect. Surprisingly, we seemed to get the facilities much to ourselves - never busy or crowded.
The warm milk and cookies at bedtime for kids, delivered by room service at no extra charge was a big hit. The 'adventure trail'was a bit tiddly and little more than a small park play area and the library and games amounted to a single shelf of fairly old books and a cupboard of board games. Rather over-sold on the website I think!
All in all a place we'd go back to - especially if they get shot of the receptionist who seems to regard customers as an irritant. Everyone else fine but she reallty spoilt our arrival. Management - get her on a customer service course!

  • Liked — cosy fireplaces and quality room
  • Disliked — just one of the reception staff
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg999Reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2007

My husband had a 2week conference at the Lakeside Hotel but because we have a 2yr old daughter, we bought into the Swan's website about being so child-friendly. What a mistake! Their 'adventure trail' in the back and their 'child-friendly' library room, does not make up for the rudeness of staff.

In keeping with many other reviews, the staff were unpleasant, unhelpful, and never smiled. Very unfriendly.

The receptionist was the rudest receptionist i have encountered in my years of 'hoteling'. My chatty daughter was greeted with rude blank stares whenever she said hello to most staff.

We stayed in a suite and paid a LOT of money for it - the room was not clean to the 4* standards. For 5 days they cleaned around everything and didn't even bother to pick up the phone to clean the months of dust under it. Behind the toilet and tv was filthy, etc.

For the next week we booked into the Lakeside and that was truly a gem. Despite our telling the Swan that we were cancelling our booking solely because of bad service, we weren't offered our £50 booking fee back, which just cemented our bad feelings.

Also - if you don't have a car, the Swan is inconvenient for children as you probably don't want to go through the trails with them, and the only other way out is by wrestling with cars on a very narrow road. The Lakeside has the departing boats and trains right across its parking lot, as well as the Aquarium, and ample green space around it.

One thing - the food was very good at the Swan but I'd stay somewhere else and drive to it - that is if you don't mind putting up with the rude service (some of the evening restaurant staff were friendly).

And despite the same kitchen cooking the food, I wanted a small bown of steamed grean peas for my daughter instead of the steamed brocolli (those were the only two vegetables offered all week) but was told that was only served in the upstairs restaurant - very unreasonable - again considering that you can order anything you want at the Lakeside hotel for children.

For the money we paid, we expected not only courteous and professional, but friendly service. They couldn't pay me to stay there now. If you want to tour the District, you at least get what you pay for at the Lakeside Hotel.

  • Liked — Food quality and choice
  • Disliked — Service and isolated location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingwithchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2007

Myself and my husband stayed at the Swan Hotel, for our daughters wedding, and it was everything it promised to be, and more.

The wedding went without a hitch, the staff were very friendly, and couldn't do enough, and the food was dellicious.

The bedrooms were a little warm but very clean and comfortable.

The hotel is in the process of refurbishing and I can't wait to go back to sample the new Spa treatment rooms and new menus.

All in all a very luxurious stay, and a definate must go back.

  • Liked — Very Friendly
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LancsDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in The swan Hotel, Newby bridge. Everything from check in to check out was very nice and uneventful. We both feel that the customer service needs a little attention especially as they being promoted as a 4 star establishment. There was definately no pamper factor, although as I said before there was no faults either. I hope they find their personal touch soon and this Hotel will then, stand out from the rest.
We would go back.

  • Liked — Pool, Views, Location
  • Disliked — Customer Service at the Front Desk
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripster_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing