We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Break in Great Location”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Just had a couple of nights away over the Bank Holiday weekend in the Swan Hotel and really enjoyed the break. Had to book a suite as we are a family of 4, nice size and great bathroom with walk in shower and double bath. Really family friendly with lots of little areas for the kids to play and a library of DVD's to hire. Cookies and milk are available for the kids at night. Pool not the largest but has a decent steam room, jacuzzi and sauna. All food and drink was excellent with the breakfast staff particularly helpful. Pub very busy on Bank Holiday Sunday and Monday. A thanks to the Restaurant for fitting us in on Monday night when already full. Pity about Cartmel Races being cancelled but we enjoyed the hotel instead. Be back next August!!

Room Tip: Keep off the ground floor and away from the car park to avoid noise from the busy bridge in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAZPBWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,049 - 1,055 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

Hotel
The hotel is a lovely hotel with nice sized guest rooms and a great bar and restaurant area.
There is a gym and this in on the small size and the pool is also on the small size.
The hotel is situated on the river and there is an outside seating area on the river too, which is nice in the summer.

Rooms
The rooms have are large and well decorated, with a bath and over shower. there is also the bonus of in room air conditioning.

Food
excellent food and drink weather you dine in the restaurant or eat in the bar area.
the breakfast is a must too with a wide choice of cooked food, fruit and pastries.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed over the August bank holiday, celebrating my 40th birthday. Been here many times, but only for a drink or something to eat, never stayed. So glad we have. Stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the river, brilliant room very clean. It's so good you don't really notice the staff, as they are so efficient! Six of us stayed mainly relaxed in the hotels lounge, which is sadly being missed as I write!!! Food both in the bar and restaurant excellent! I cannot find one negative about this hotel, the best weekend away fact!!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tideswell40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

On visiting the Lakes I had never stayed as South as Newby Bridge. The location of the hotel on the river edge was beautiful and it was nice to sit by the river enjoying a few drinks. The spa was adequate for a short break with a small pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. The bar meals looked lovely and there were plenty of people eating who were not staying in the hotel. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were delicious. The standard rooms were large and I must say had the most comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Booked the swan hotel for a trip with my partner who had just returned from America after two months. The location of the hotel is perfect especially if it is sunny and you can sit out by the water with a cool drink. It is also very easy to travel around the lake from the hotel. The hotel decor is very stylish but warm and welcoming at the same time. However during our stay there were a few negative points. We arrived early and understandably were told our room wasn't ready yet but if we tried again before 3pm it might be ready early. So we had some food at the restaurant; my sandwich was good but my partner's chicken sandwich had a bone in it - not the best start. At about half two we asked if our room was ready but it wasn't yet. Again, this was not a problem, we were early and the hotel was busy. So we waited in the foyer...and waited. I don't mind waiting but I do mind not being given an explanation and an apology for the delay. So at twenty past three when nobody had explained to us why we were still waiting and I had to ask again if our room was ready, I was not impressed. The room itself was nice, although some of the furniture seemed a bit outdated compared to the rest of the hotel. We weren't impressed by the fact that we had to pay for bottled water in the room - we stayed at the missoni hotel in edinburgh for less money but the room came with bottled water, food and a coffee machine. My opinion is that if you are paying a certain amount for a hotel room then there should be certain things that are included with the rate. That said, the penhaligon's toiletries were appreciated. Our evening meal was very good and the breakfast was excellent as well. We had massages at the spa which we thoroughly enjoyed - the girls there were very skilled. All in all a nice hotel but could improve in some areas.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

After driving almost six hours to get to the swan inn and spa I was very very pleased. The drive over the small bridge to the hotel was a perfect setting. Me and my wife were greated with a lovely river setting and by very helpful and cheerful recption staff. We had a lovely river view room, which was very clean. The decor in the room is very nice and the beds are very comfy.

Calling reception or restaurant (river room) at any time the staff are always very helpful and cheerful.

As we don't drink we did not make use of the bar/pub but did have a view walking past and was very busy. As it was very busy we decided to have dinner in the room next to the window over looking the river which was very very nice! Better than sitting in the restaurant! If however the restaurant is busy and the weather is good I would strongly recommend sitting outside next to the river!

Brekfast was lovely, well cooked and a good range of choice! Again as we don't eat pork/bacon etc I found the selection very good and staff were very helpful in swapping and mixing up the menu for me :)

There is an aspect of the room which I found that could good be better and that is that any noise from corridor can be heard (doors shutting and kids running) however this was not in the night and not a huge issue in the day. Also this did not mean you could hear anything from adjacent rooms i.e hearing other people talking etc in their room. TV was very good, good selection of movies!

I did think it was a bit pricey and if your staying a few nights it can turn out quite expensive!

Overall I thought the stay was excellent!

Good food, staff and setting!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ammar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I didn't feel comfortable at all in this hotel. It was busy and noisy. The pool is small and the leisure facilities quite poor. The food was fine but the bar is not relaxing (it felt to me like an upmarket Wetherspoons!). The room was clean but VERY NOISY throughout the whole night. It seemed that when water was turned on on the floor an aircon noise started. Breakfast choice was varied but the cups were dirty!
I couldn't wait to check out. We left after one night (despite paying in advance for 2).
To be fair it may be that it just wasn't our cup of tea, we do like boutique style b and bs and hotels. Other guests seemed to be enjoying their stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KDJEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,355 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
543 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
11.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £109 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing