We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't eat here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Dalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Beautiful hotel in a lovely location, but my experience of the food in the restaurant was not one I would recommend. My daughter and I decided to have the steak and ale stew. The service was fast and the server very nice and polite. Delivered on a breadboard with the stew in a couldron type pot which made it impossible to cut up the meat and potatoes even if you could have got a knife through them. The potatoes were almost raw, and the meat was as tough as old boots, with lots of gristle. The flavour however was beautiful, so the bread and gravy were edible. Obviously the chef doesnt try the food before they send it out or he/she would have known it needed another half hours cooking at least. Worst meal I've had in a restaurant. A very dissapointing experience and not one I would want to repeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joanhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    307
    112
    77
    50
See reviews for
289
566
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Lovely hotel and the food in the pub and restaurant is delicious. We were in a standard double room which was a little bit small but it was still very nice. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. Will go back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Recently had a 2 night stay at the hotel with our two young children (aged 3 and 5) and stayed in the Beatrix Suite (double room and adjoining twin room) - accomodation was excellent, staff couldn't be more helpful and the atmosphere in the hotel was great. High standard of accommodation, comfy beds, convenient location and very good food (choice a bit limited and not a huge selection of wine). Great for children without getting the feeling it was over run by them!!! There was a nice man that brought the children milk and biscuits (in the shape of a swan) at bed time. Great areas for the children to play and load for them to do nearby - steam railway, Windermere boat trips, that Beatrix Potter stuff etc...

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beatrix Suite which was superb for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

This really is a wonderful hotel, the breakfast especially was superb. We were there for a wedding which was hosted up in the conservatory which was great, the only downside being that we didn't really have time to use the pool and spa facilities. The pool did look quite busy but it was half term and I can't really comment on it apart from that.

Our room was lovely, very spacious plus a great shower! There is also a brilliant pub that is part of the hotel but again it can get really busy. I didn't have any of the food in there but it looked very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

We have now stayed at the swan twice, and each time we have had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The staff are always friendly and the rooms clean. I had my first ever massage which did wonders for my back, and although a little pricey (in my eyes anyway) it was worth it. The spa facilities are basic in comparisson to others i have stayed at, but enough to spend a few hours relaxing in. Restaraunt is an added bonus and serves very good food. Cartmel is a short drive away, good for a stroll around the racecourse and a visit to the sticky toffee pudding shop. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FourCheesePizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

i stayed here with my best friend for a girly weekend. the initial thought when approaching was very traditional but as soon as we got inside the decor and furnishings were modern, clean and fresh. you can tell good money has been spent with this hotel and it looks great. the room was lovely,2 settings of light switch in the bathroom, heated mirror (wish i had that at home!) two very comfy single beds with double duvets. cant fault it.
we had the 2 hr hot stone therapy and it was amazing. the spa was very well kept, the staff were friendly and the experience was excellent!
we ate in the pub, which is an extended version of the restaurant. the food was great, the only thing i can say at fault here was it was very noisy and very very busy. but as there is no other place around i understand that.
i would definatly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: rooms facing the river are excellent with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinnekef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

my friend and I had a brilliant spa break last weekend excellent hot stone massage, lovely character hotel with very modern insides and greal log fires. overall service great even had self cleaning mirrors in tha bathroom. would recommemd as a base for a break in the lakes.

Room Tip: downstairs on riverside have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing