We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2008

Our stay at the Swan Hotel in May this year was absolutely fabulous. The only thing missing was the weather!
The staff were all outstanding. So helpful and friendly nothing was a bother. They were also very helpful with our little one.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniepankles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,347 - 1,353 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2008

Was very impressed with this hotel. Only booked a day or two before arrival date and requested a king size bed (other comments had been that beds were a little too small) and room with a river view, I was hoping that I might get at least one of the two requests so I was delighted when I got both. The staff here are excellent - nothing is too much trouble and as someone who is a professional meeting planner - staying in hotels all around the world (including many 5 stars for 15 years) I was very happy with the Swan. The food was great, with a choice of three restaurants to choose from. Fabulous location also. The best thing for me were the staff though - they totally made my stay and should make the owner / manager very proud - make sure you keep them. If there is one down side it is the stained velvet chairs in the restaurant /breakfast room - other than that I cannot find fault. I would recommend this to others - if I didn't want to keep it secret to myself:)

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Clymping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

Make sure if you book online for Newby Bridge that you choose the SWAN Hotel which this review is about.

This is one of the best hotels that I have been in for a long time. All the staff we met were excellent. Very smart and well chosen by the management.

The reception area is well set out and from the first moment give a good impression of the hotel.

The room was well furnished . Had a really nice bed . A super view from the window. A modern large flat screen TV with even Sky sports 1. The cleaning of the rooms was excellent and those extra little touches like the covers being turned down and a small chocolate placed on the pillow.

Quite a large fitness room for a hotel, nice pool, changing rooms,sauna etc All really well looked after.

Food in th restaurants was a total pleasure. The breakfast was cooked to order.

My only regret was that I had only booked in for three nights.
Not cheap but a quality hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

We got married here on the weekend of the 5th April and had an absolutely superb time.

Staff were extremely helpful all weekend and in particular John, Ben, Lindsay, Steve the porter (who never comlained despite having to move all our stuff about 6 times) and Nils. The rooms were lovely although i would recommend taking one of the new rooms and the Spa bedroom in particular looked great.

Our wedding breakfast and ceremony were dealt with very professionally and everything ran very smoothly.

My only slight complaints would be that they claim to be very child friendly but were unable to organise a babysitter for one of our guests (who was saying at the hotel) despite 36 hours notice and there wasn't a great deal for the kids to do and the housekeeping staff were a bit overeager for us to move out of our room at the appointed 11am on the morning after our wedding despite a new room not being ready for us so we were stuck in the lobby for 3 or 4 hours when we would have been much happier spending a bit more time in bed.

All in all and other than these minor points it was a great weekend which will live in our memory for ever!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stuartd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Swan for 2 nights ( 01/04/08). Very impressed. The location next to the river makes it a wonderful setting.
This was a mid-week break and the hotel was not full, just busy enough for the time of year. The room overlooking the river was great, clean, nice decoration and a good size. Room also had some welcome features, ample size flat screen TV, fridge, plenty of storage, small table and chairs in the window, and bathroom with good shower. It’s a standard hotel room and bathroom layout (shape), but with some nice quality features that is hard to find in the Lakes. Good beds and lovely crisp cotton sheets provided that extra touch of quality.
Dining is expensive. We had a meal in the Roland room (main restaurant) on the first night. The meal was OK, but not fantastic for the price.
Breakfast is also served in the Roland room, and chairs are marked (kids drinks being spilled). Not what you would expect at these meal prices.
Whatever area you are dining in, (bar, River, Roland) the meals are expensive. However this does tend to keep out the ‘cheap as chips’ brigade, which is a bonus. So to sum up, a good midweek break with good accommodation and decent meals, in a wonderful setting.

Mike & Beverly

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MikeH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2008

We stayed at the Swan Hotel after a dissapointing room allocation at a facing hotel. The refurbishment is now complete the staff were courteous the porter was extremely polite and helpful and the stay was an absolute joy. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious. We wanted to stay a further night but the hotel ws fully booked because of a wedding. We are now waiting to book for March to go back and have another enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrs-ajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

Just got back from a two night stay at the Swan Hotel. The setting of the hotel is lovely, just by the river. Didn't get chance to sit outside but lovely seating area by the river. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The health and fitness suite was excellent. Lovely swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna which we used both days. There are three eatings areas in the hotel The Swan Inn, Roland and the River Room. We only ate in the River Room, food was nice and staff really friendly. Breakfast is served in Roland and there is a good choice and the full English breakfast looked really good, however, i opted for scrambled eggs on a bagel which was lovely.

If you've got a car and don't mind driving out at night I would recommend going into Ulverston or Windermere where there are a nice selection of retaurants.

We stayed in one of the standard rooms. Nice big space with double bed, really comfortable. Bathroom ok. Although the cleaners had been in they failed to see the previous guests pants which had been left on the shelf above the shower! We were offered a discount on our next stay there on account of this. Toilet seat was loose which was irritating. Apart from that I cannot fault this hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claretp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,355 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
543 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
11.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £109 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing