We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel!!”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous hotel!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

When we turned into the junction for the hotel we saw a very attractive building peering over an old stone bridge. (Please note turn right after you've gone over the bridge to head to the car park- not overly clear)

We were warmly welcomed by the reception staff at check in and the reception of the hotel was tastefully and impressively decorated.

We shared a light lunch of a BBQ pulled pork flatbread which was laden with pork/jalapeños/tortilla crisps&peppers, garnished with coriander and a portion of seasoned fries. The flatbread was a delicious fusion of flavours-we would definitely recommend!

Unfortunately the afternoon we arrived the heavens opened so we didn't venture out of the hotel after check in.

We checked into our room and we were very pleased. Although we had selected a 'standard room' the room was still beautiful and spacious, with a king size bed, a small seating area, tea&coffee facilities, built in wardrobes & lovely crisp white bedlinen. The bathroom was contemporary, spotless and with full sized complimentary toiletries to use during your stay.
We had opted for a 'river view' which was lovely from our window, until a disabled car parked outside, however it wasn't there for too long and there are double yellow lines to stop other people parking there.

We used the pool/sauna/jacuzzi/steam room facilities which were all clean, the lockers were free and towels were provided.

We booked a table in the restaurant, intimate lighting, again tastefully decorated with contemporary furnishings with a flourish of feminine floral classic touches and complete with a large open fireplace. Service was smooth and leant itself to being a relaxing environment, generous portions and beautifully presented dishes. My husband chose the fish and chips and I had sirloin steak and chips. My husband was very impressed with the large fish and the mound of chips he was presented with and my steak had been cooked to perfection served alongside real home made chips and large lightly battered onion rings. We then ordered deserts: mars bar cheesecake and crème brulee served with lavender shortbread. The mars bar cheesecake is a tower of gooey naughtiness and very sweet- again presentation beautiful! The crème brulee was a generous pot of yumminess and the lavender shortbread (a first for me) was delicate and moreish!

Next day we woke early and decided to have a small walk pre-breakfast since we hadn't gone outside the hotel since 1pm when we had arrived the previous day, then headed for breakfast which is in a room above the restaurant we had dined in the night before. Upstairs was a spacious loft with a large wooden breakfast table as its centerpeice offering continental breakfast of cereals, pastries, fruit, milk, & juice all served in rustic baskets or spode-like design jugs and bowls. Breakfast is cooked to order- we both went for the Cumbrian cooked breakfast which consisted of: 2 large sausage, 2 thick cuts of smoked bacon (best I've tasted!), beans, perfect runny fried egg (no grease), a round of mixed toast, and it also came with mushrooms, a large tomato and black pudding but we requested to not have any of these three items as we are not keen.


In our room we had been left an information sheet with the days forecast and suggested things to see or do, we decided to do the suggested walk around High Dam which was up the road from the hotel, this is a lovely walk which took us a leisurely 1.5hours - beware some of the paths consist of jagged, cracked rocks and tree roots so wear suitable shoes and believe it or not even though the path starts in the middle of practically nowhere there's a parking meter!

Fantastic stay, wonderful location, delicious food and excellent staff. Would recommend to couples. I would love to go back some time in the future!

We were in Room 103 which was on the bottom floor first few rooms from reception- if you select a 'river view' you will be on the path/road so you will have the odd person walking past your room, they can't see in however you do see their heads bobbing past!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    329
    125
    88
    58
See reviews for
328
634
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Fantastic location, clean, friendly and good value for money. Excellent facilities for children. We went for a wedding and they hosted a brilliant day. There was a play room for children and the hotel was in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I was taken here as a surprise for my birthday and it was probably the best birthday present ever!

The bedroom was beautiful, huge bed, very tastefully decorated with a spacious and immaculately clean bathroom.

We ate in the bar and in the restaurant and the food was exquisite each time. We did spot a rat though in the scullery which we made the staff aware of straightaway - this is to be expected though I suppose in a country hotel! The breakfast was incredible, with table service in addition to a buffet - HEAVEN!

Whilst here I was lucky enough to sample the spa offerings too as I was booked in for a massage. The spa was also very impressive.

Based on this experience I would love to return, I will have to choose a weekend with better weather next time though as due to the weather this time we were unable to make the most of the beautiful surroudings.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights 25th & 2th June. The hotel is in a great spot for exploring the lake district especially for those driving up from the south. The location was stunning over looking the river and the hotel's mini marina. There are plenty of outdoor tables for a relaxing drink or meal by the water.

The decor and fit out of the hotel was also very impressive, maintaining a boutique feel despite its size and prominence. Lots of places to escape and relax and a large bar area and dedicated dining room. Cleanliness, facilities, friendliness/helpfulness of staff were also to the highest standards.

The food appeared a little pricey but once we'd tried it, given what you pay in the rest of the Lake District, the price tag was more than justified.

We will definitely come back again,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

Went to the swan for some Sunday evening meal with my boyfriend, we hadn't booked but the staff were nice enough to squeeze us in the restaurant. Food was absolutely lovely couldn't fault it would recommend anyone to go. Complements to the chef ... I believe her name was Claire x-) xxx

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yasminjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

The Swan was always special to our family. We have been coming to eat off and on for 40 odd yrs, as we stay nearby.
The last 3 A la Carte meals however were so disappointing, slow service, small portions & dirty plates. I'm in the hospitality trade so I'm quite hard to please.
This time however 7 months later...what a transformation. Everything was spot on. Service was faultless and unobtrusive. The FOH training is so obvious.
The room (16) was lovely overlooking the river. The location obviously beautiful.
The steak - 'chateaubriand sharing platter' the best I think we have had ever, (and we've had a few!).
They have taken care to pay attention to detail, staff are so friendly and accommodating (even the maid hoovering smiled and said hello). OK, to cynics out there who say 'they're just doing they're job'...yes they are, but what a job they're doing.
5 stars to the Swan for a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmmlovetoeatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We ate here whilst staying at another nearby hotel. Although a little expensive for pub food ( I challenge anyone to find a bargain in the lake District these days ) the food was excellent, service speedy and the general atmosphere warm and relaxing. We will be returning to stay at the hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RichSarahHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
382 reviews
6.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing