We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and easy going hotel”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here for 1 night but wish it could have been longer but we were en-route to another place, although on our return journey back home we called in for lunch. I requested a ground floor room and to our surprise were put into one of the ground floor suites which was fabulous and a great shower. The decor throughout the hotel is brilliant (modern with an old fashioned homely feeling). We ate in the bar for lunch - the pulled pork is fabulous, and evening meal in the restaurant - although it is the same menu it is waitress/waiter service in the restaurant. The breakfast was a little disappointing but was OK - I have eaten better. The tables for 2 are so small you can't fit everything on and constantly having to move cups/teapot/coffee about to get to things or stack plates/bowls up once used, as they were not removed from your table when the cooked breakfast arrived which made the table more cluttered, there were only a few diners at the time we ate so no excuse that they were to busy to clear items away. Didn't have time to use any of the facilities but they look fabulous. We hope to return for a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,375 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Just returned after a 2 night stay. The hotel is in a picturesque setting. Lovely river to sit by and enjoy a glass of wine. Rooms are spotless and comfortable. Ironing board in room. No fridge in standard room. Excellent river view. Car needed to explore wider area. The spa and pool area are lovely. Pool quiet at 7am!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Swan for a long weekend at the end of July. It was a great find. The decor is very quirky and cool. We had a lovely river view room. The only slight adjustment I'd suggest, would be a fridge in the room to have a cold drink. It was good to have complimentary bottles of water though. We ate in the River Room both nights of our stay. The food was perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely like to visit again. Great location and very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahfaraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

2 pints and a spritzer £15....ouch! Service really slow but very polite. Not very keen to help us find a seat inside when the bar was full, we had to push, but they did agree to let us sit in a restaurant area that was closed off. It's the price and speed of service, the rest is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tolchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel. We were celebrating his 50th Birthday. Everything about our stay was faultless. The accommodation was fabulous and the attention to detail second to none. The rooms were very clean & comfortable & beds huge enough to lose yourself in. The weather helped to make the stay enjoyable as we were able to enjoy the outside dining and the marina. Nothing was too much for the staff who were extremely helpful and friendly without exception. Food was of a very high standard, the full tables were an indication of its local popularity. Thank you to you all & for the chocolates from the 'reception girls'. x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel, and were very impressed by the attention to detail shown throughout the property as well as its beautiful ambience. The menu could do with an update however - it didn't quite match the quality of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here in April.
My boyfriend booked it as a surprise for my birthday (brownie points!!).
We visited on a sunday and had the Movies Package which meant we got to enjoy the room and watch a film. We also had a massage in the Spa and dinner in the restaurant.
The room was gorgeous. Really pretty. The bathroom was very swanky and all was clean and neat. He'd booked the movies pack as we'd had a big weekend celebrating my birthday so was really nice to just chill out in some luxury. A good selection of films available and we really enjoyed it.
Has a great massage in the Spa, the only thing i would say about it is that it was quite short. I'd glanced at my watch when taking it off and when putting it back on again. Was only 20mins of actual treatment. And the massages we paid for were billed as 30. I understand the need to have a consultation period and to allow the client to get dressed etc (i am a therapist mysefl!) but normally this is extra time on the session - eg 40mins total time spent, 30 of it treatment, 10 for consult and dressing etc. The girl was great though and i enjoyed the massage - just wish it had been longer!
We then used the pool and sauna etc. Some great facilities however the changing rooms were quite grubby and messy and the floor in there was soaking wet. I know the health facilities are open to the public so assume that this is just because it gets a lot of through traffic each day.
The food - My god! Amzing! Absolutely amazing. We had the Chateau Briand.... incredible. Worth the price. And the staff were just lovely. The same with breakfast too. I really enjoyed it and the staff were great, really helpful and attentive.

All in all i loved my Birthday treat. The hotel and grounds are amazing and the staff were all great.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morgankathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,334 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
530 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
21.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £175 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing