We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“- but things 'aint what they used to be”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

-so probably unfair to make a comparison with the Swan of the eighties and nineties before the old hotel was sold on and 'modernised'
In doing so much of the original history and charm was lost to make it more commercial and most likely more profitable.

The rooms are probably no better or worse than most English hotels, comfortable and adequate for a short stay. Simple printed instructions on how to work the room heating/cooling system would be helpful.

The 'old Swan' breakfast restaurant has changed but still recognisable and maintains the trad standards
Great breakfast and prof staff.
Wonderful that the restaurant manager from times past is still making guest appearances.

Oh dear! Whatever hapened to the the famous peaceful Swan restaurant, cuisine and memorable feasts.

The main restaurant seems to have been replaced with a sort of bistro cum canteen serving gastropub cuisine.
Nothing wrong with that I suppose and you have to accept change
The hotel has become essentially family friendly, and mum and dad and their yelling kids have to eat somewhere. Our experience was intollerable and we moved to a less rowdy table.

Would be nice to have a quieter place to enjoy an evening meal.- perhaps reception could automatcally point you in the direction of a good nearby restaurant.

But if the hotel's main restaurant can only provide pub grub it should appreciate that it is unacceptable to charge silly prices for such basic food with chips.
Once there you are a bit of a captive audience.

Also suggest you check your meal and drinks bill!

Overall an enjoyable couple of days and will probably return -- for B&B at least.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IJS251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spent two nights dining at the Swan. This is a great place to eat with much hustle and bustle.
The food is great and the setting delightful. If you are in this area please give the Swan a try. Also, the Swan is a hotel as well and offers some specials. Check it out

Room Tip: We stayed at a B&B about one mile from the Swan. It was fabulous and is called The Knoll Country...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cuisanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Great hotel, very relaxing, comfortable and friendly .The food is delicious and beautifully presented
staff were very helpful and the service slick
Great place for kids , lots of walks from the hotel can recommend high dam
The best gateway to the lakes

Room Tip: Those over looking the river are worth asking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I had booked two nights for a weekend trip. Unfortunately due to a serious family emergency I was unable to attend. Both the receptionist and manager at the Swan were polite, understanding and considerate in dealing with a very difficult situation. I cannot stress how good it is to know you are dealing with people who care about customer relations and I will be booking again in the future as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Mingotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Swan Hotel and Spa at Newby Bridge on a Saturday night. We stayed in room 211 double deluxe. It was an absolutely beautiful room. The bathroom was clean and tidy and designed and finished to a high standard (my boyfriend is a plumber who pointed this out haha). The bed and pillows were extremely comfy and the view from our window (river view) was lovely.

There were only a few disappointing things but not massive things....

When I called and made the booking I was offered a reservation in the hotel restaurant. I was told 21:30 was our allocated time. When I called reception at 20:40 to confrim the time they informed me that there was no reservation for us and that the restaurant was fully booked. I then informed them of their mistake and they said we could come down at 21:00 giving us only 20 minutes to be ready. Very annoying.

We went to use the swimming pool and hot tub at tea time. When we went downstairs to the pool entrance there was a sign up saying " due to unforeseen circumstances the pool and surrounding area will be closed for the rest of the evening". Not ideal when you've paid £220 for a hotel for the night which included full facility usage!!

Check in wasn't great. I was told no information. Only room number and that I needed to pay upon leaving the hotel. I had paid for breakfast the following morning (B&B) but was not informed of the procedure, how it worked or where to eat etc. I had to call the hotel reception to ask them.

The breakfast was nice and plenty on offer. The restaurant food was nice. The onion rings are huge but very very bland. The steak however was perfect and reasonably priced.

All in all a good stay just a shame the pool was closed and the reception staff not up to scratch. Still worth a stay though.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stiffmeister7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Had a couple of nights here last week with our two year old. Toys ready in room for her,library room where she could enjoy toys and books and handy playground. Lovely food throughout and we all enjoyed pool. Ideal family atmosphere for us, will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my girlfriend.

Food was amazing and great value I recommend the fillet steak and mars bar cheesecake.
Hotel was amazing, service, room etc.
Spa was amazing.

Had a great time and would defo come again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,359 reviews
8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
11.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £120 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing