We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not disappointed”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed for 1 night and every service was very good. Handy location although a little close to a busy road. Food is very good at reasonable prices. Breakfast was excellent. We did not use the spa. Hotel area is full of chill out areas where you can relax often in front of a log fire.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms overlook river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    319
    118
    82
    54
See reviews for
309
598
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A very dissapointing meal. For one of the more expensive restauarants in the area and a very interesting menu:
- the service was amateurish and surly.
-one of the meals was cold when it arrived and was simply represented with the same food having been through a microwave
-the starter portions were miniscule

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I've stayed at the Swan at least 30 times in the last 10 years as I have to go to this part of the world for work(!). however, it is unfortunate that this hotel never seems to recognise, acknowledge let alone give benefit to frequent visitors like myself. the facilities in the hotel-parking, spa, fitness, pool are great and the location just of the A road, 15 mins from my place of work make it an ideal location for me and for many others to explore the lake distrcits, however, the lack of recognition seem to keep disappointing me. though the food is average at best, the breakfast is superb. Free Wifi, good TV channels, etc make it a very comfortable hotel, but I just find the service a little impersonal. would I stay there again-yes I would, but always would wish for a more personal and personable experience.

Room Tip: prefer not to stay on the ground floor and the river facing rooms could get a little noisy from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AshishJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We didnt have a room here as we had booked in over the road but we did eat here on two nights. The food was amazing and i can honestly say is up there with the nicest meals we have ever eaten. Next time we escape for a few days guess where we will be staying!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teejay969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The Swan Hotel is in an attractive location at the southern end of Lake Windermere. The bar has a nice atmosphere and helpful staff. The menu offers a wide range of dishes at reasonable prices, especially the starters. An appetising and quite substantial lunch can be created by combining a few starters together which can be shared between several people.

Room Tip: Cannot comment, only ever used the bar restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skinnydipper884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We'd spent the day in the lakes and were feeling cold and hungry so we popped into the Swan Hotel. I was really impressed.

It looked fantastic from the outside, being a large traditional-Lakeland building set on the waterfront. Inside was even more impressive. Walking past the sophisticated spa we went into the restaurant and bar: polished wood, simple colours, all warmed by a real fire.

It was busy but not uncomfortably full. There was an extensive wine list and good real ales. The meals weren't cheap but that reflected the standard: the food was local, high-quality and cooked freshly, the only complaint being the limited vegetarian selection.

For a stylish place to eat out in the Lakes, this would be high on my list.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just arrived home from a fabulous weekend break at this Hotel & Spa.

Upon arrival we were allocated our room which overlooked the river and gave us a stunning view.
We stayed for 2 nights and pushed the boat out to live a weekend of luxury - which we pretty much achieved.

We felt like The Lord and Lady of the manor sitting in our 'hotel dressing gowns' eating our room service breakfast over looking the water. (£3 tray charge to bring to room).

The food and drink were excellent and service was efficient. The bar was modern with a great atmosphere, comfortably busy without making it difficult to find a table (although this did lead to having to wait whilst 2 red wine glasses were washed for us on the evening of day 2)!

The room was very comfortable with added bonus of docking station. We also found the daily newsletter left on your bed really handy with suggested walks and weather updates.

We had a fantastic weekend with nothing really to complain about and will definitely be returning very soon.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the river is a MUST
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janian28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
#2 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing