We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swan Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Newby Bridge Hotel(Newby Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Lakeside Hotel(Newby Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,455)
Filter reviews
1,455 results
Traveller rating
762
380
151
99
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
380
151
99
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverroom restaurantnature traillovely hotelsunday lunchbar areastandard roombirthday treatbeautiful settinglovely foodbar menuhigh standardweekend breakboth nightsfish and chipssauna and steam roomwedding anniversary
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
880 - 885 of 1,455 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just returned home from a lovely stay at the swan.. Stayed there before hence why we picked to stay for our mini honeymoon there.. Restaurant serves really nice food.. Breakfast is especially good.. Rooms are nice.. Spa facilities were excellent.. Hotel is very child friendly, and so a lot of families were staying, so not quite as romantic as we would have liked, but hotel cannot be blamed for that... Would definitely stay here again as location is great for the southern lakes..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed locally elsewhere but every night we came the use the Swans public bar. The food is wonderful and traditional, locally sourced and plenty of it at a reasonable price. The staff are very attentive and switched on. Very rarely have I found service like this. A very pleasent change.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maximus165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The upsides: great breakfast, pleasant front desk staff, and a nice gym with good steam room and friendly gym staff. At the same time: small rooms with uncomfortable duvets that made us sweat profusely throughout the night (we adjusted the temperature, that wasn't the issue). The restaurant doesn't reserve any tables for guests staying in the hotel which we thought unusual - so we ate at the pub, where we waited over an hour for our main dish because someone forgot to put the order in. They offered free dessert. Very expensive food and drink for Christmas Day. I pre-ordered the wine as requested for Christmas Day but they got the selection wrong for both lunch and dinner (at dinner the server wasn't aware of any order being placed). We found out the more expensive room ("Deluxe room") entitled us to free movies and a higher floor - slightly underwhelming. The trails weren't very impressive in the area, so if coming from London or elsewhere without a car it might be best to bring a few books. Packed full of kids over the holidays which is great, but not necessarily for a couples escape over Christmas break. Overall, a bit disappointed as they just couldn't seem to get it right, and we were very much looking forward to coming home which shouldn't be the case when a stay is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonoutbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have been to the Swan 5 times and go every year for our wedding anniversary. The hotel was refurbished completely a few years ago and the rooms are lovely. It's great for kids too, we take our baby boy swimming there and the pool is great for kids, it's open to non residents as well as residents but it's usually really quiet (much better than local council run pools!)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsC1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

I decided to take my partner here after our civil partnership for a few days away and we were not disappointed on arrival!

We had a suite which was absolutely beautiful and cleaned on a daily basis with all the room amenities being topped up on a regular basis.

The staff were pleasant and we were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay! The staff could not do enough for us.

Upon arrival we were welcomed with a complimentary box of chocolates welcoming us on our honeymoon.

The first evening we went for a lovely meal however, found food to be quite expensive for what we got but as we didn't want to drive anywhere we were happy to pay it.

The only thing is when you're staying there for a few days the food is repetitive and looking at the same old boring menu becomes a chore!

The breakfasts were beautiful and you could have as much as you wanted.

The spa facilities were lovely but one downside to the experience was children! We were there for a mini honeymoon and whilst trying to enjoy the spa facilities this was spoilt by children having swimming lessons in the pool.

For the price of the suite we would have thought the facilities were exclusive to guests however, this was not the case!

Overall I would rate our experience a 7/10.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RyanKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews