We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISSAPOINTING”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Had a lovely night and dinner on valentines evening, i tried some of the products that were in our bedroom ( NOT clearly marked as NOT complimentary ) and found them to be good products , I took them home and also bought £95 of said products to bring home!!
On returning home we got a phone call to say that we had to pay for the ones out of the room?? if we'd know that was the case we certainly wouldn't have spent an extra £95 and then £101, I said the products were good , but not £200 worth of good !!!!!!
what a shame this action spoilt our evening, will not be returning to The Swan again, so guests BEAWARE the products in your rooms are not comps - cons maybe ???

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theshipatelswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Passed the Swan many times and never had a meal, stopped for soup and sandwich lunch enroute back home from Lakes, very busy for a Monday, lots of young trendy people, their sort of a place, beautiful setting by the lake and rustic pub area. Had cup of soup and half a sandwich £6.95, not cheap, soup was cold when it came, but was taken back immediately and reheated, sandwich quite tasty, soup came back hot but was very spicy, enjoyed it, but wouldnt say value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valueformoney124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked this hotel through Mr and Mrs Smith and I'm sorry to say it was not up to the usual standards we have grown to expect from them. The communal areas are great, the restaurant was good, the pool and spa facilities are nice but the rooms are a real let down.

The photos they show of the room are cunningly taken so that they look big and modern. In reality the rooms are those you would expect from a business/conference hotel but with a lick of paint and some new wallpaper/tiles in the bathroom. The furniture is meant to look vintage but is obviously the old furniture that they have been too cheap to replace, the bath is old (you wouldn't want a relaxing bubble bath) the rooms are small and the layout isn't great. We stayed on the bottom floor and not only could we hear people in the corridor, there was a path next to the window of the room so people were walking past and could look in at any time. So there was a choice between blocking out natural light and having some privacy or being exposed like a fish bowl. Not exactly conducive to a relaxing or romantic weekend!

So, although we had a nice enough time it just wasn't as special as expected and it felt really pricey for what you end up getting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 83blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Called in here last Sunday after a family trip to the nearby Lakes Aquarium. There was an excellent choice of food, with three different roasts for Sunday Lunch and a good selection for children. We ate in the bar area rather than the restaurant. Excellent quality food, good service and well priced. We will definitely be back again

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Addi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had a wonderful new year. Excellent, knowledgeable and polite staff made us very welcome. One minor point why do you have to book for restaurant when it is equally busy with young families as is the bar area. Ambience of romantic meal could be spoiled by lots of overtired toddlers and babies in formal restaurant. Despite this we will be back. Spa great.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We booked a night away with a special offer by calling the hotel directly. We were given a Deluxe room with a River view which was modern, spotlessly clean and gorgeously furnished. It was really warm at night so we had to open the windows but I think this is standard for most hotels! We used the Spa facilities before our Dinner reservation in the River Room. Food and wine were excellent and we were well looked after. After dinner we had drinks in one of the lounge areas by a lovely fire. This is a very family orientated Hotel and there were lots of families staying as well as couples. This didn't bother us really but i think it is worth mentioning in case you are looking for a completely romantic getaway. The Spa has a 10m pool, Sauna, Steam room and Jacuzzi which was lovely for what we needed. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and generous portions. We would have loved to explore the surrounding areas if we had more time.

Room Tip: We were in 313 which was Deluxe room River facing on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Didn't stay but was passing and it looked a nice place for lunch. Had a nice meal - good food and extremely prompt service in a nice setting. Well kitted out for families with small children. Tempted to come back some time and stay in the hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,375 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
571 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £100 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing