We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing New Year Break”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing New Year Break”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for four nights at the beginning of Jan. We had a lovely time. The Spa was lovely and and so relaxing, and all the staff were lovely and friendly. The hotel feels nice and upmarket, but it isn't stuffy and pretentious at all. The food in the pub/restaurant it great, and the sticky Toffee pudding is amazing! My only quibble would be that dining in every night felt a bit repetitive, and there aren't really any different sort of restaurants in walking distance. Its quite near an A road, but we couldn't really hear it in our room, and after 9pm it's pretty empty anyway.
A lovely hotel for a short break.

Room Tip: A river front room actually faces the main road, so bear this is mind when you book, though up on fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    327
    125
    88
    58
See reviews for
326
632
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elswick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Had a lovely night and dinner on valentines evening, i tried some of the products that were in our bedroom ( NOT clearly marked as NOT complimentary ) and found them to be good products , I took them home and also bought £95 of said products to bring home!!
On returning home we got a phone call to say that we had to pay for the ones out of the room?? if we'd know that was the case we certainly wouldn't have spent an extra £95 and then £101, I said the products were good , but not £200 worth of good !!!!!!
what a shame this action spoilt our evening, will not be returning to The Swan again, so guests BEAWARE the products in your rooms are not comps - cons maybe ???

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theshipatelswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Passed the Swan many times and never had a meal, stopped for soup and sandwich lunch enroute back home from Lakes, very busy for a Monday, lots of young trendy people, their sort of a place, beautiful setting by the lake and rustic pub area. Had cup of soup and half a sandwich £6.95, not cheap, soup was cold when it came, but was taken back immediately and reheated, sandwich quite tasty, soup came back hot but was very spicy, enjoyed it, but wouldnt say value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valueformoney124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked this hotel through Mr and Mrs Smith and I'm sorry to say it was not up to the usual standards we have grown to expect from them. The communal areas are great, the restaurant was good, the pool and spa facilities are nice but the rooms are a real let down.

The photos they show of the room are cunningly taken so that they look big and modern. In reality the rooms are those you would expect from a business/conference hotel but with a lick of paint and some new wallpaper/tiles in the bathroom. The furniture is meant to look vintage but is obviously the old furniture that they have been too cheap to replace, the bath is old (you wouldn't want a relaxing bubble bath) the rooms are small and the layout isn't great. We stayed on the bottom floor and not only could we hear people in the corridor, there was a path next to the window of the room so people were walking past and could look in at any time. So there was a choice between blocking out natural light and having some privacy or being exposed like a fish bowl. Not exactly conducive to a relaxing or romantic weekend!

So, although we had a nice enough time it just wasn't as special as expected and it felt really pricey for what you end up getting.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Called in here last Sunday after a family trip to the nearby Lakes Aquarium. There was an excellent choice of food, with three different roasts for Sunday Lunch and a good selection for children. We ate in the bar area rather than the restaurant. Excellent quality food, good service and well priced. We will definitely be back again

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Addi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful new year. Excellent, knowledgeable and polite staff made us very welcome. One minor point why do you have to book for restaurant when it is equally busy with young families as is the bar area. Ambience of romantic meal could be spoiled by lots of overtired toddlers and babies in formal restaurant. Despite this we will be back. Spa great.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We booked a night away with a special offer by calling the hotel directly. We were given a Deluxe room with a River view which was modern, spotlessly clean and gorgeously furnished. It was really warm at night so we had to open the windows but I think this is standard for most hotels! We used the Spa facilities before our Dinner reservation in the River Room. Food and wine were excellent and we were well looked after. After dinner we had drinks in one of the lounge areas by a lovely fire. This is a very family orientated Hotel and there were lots of families staying as well as couples. This didn't bother us really but i think it is worth mentioning in case you are looking for a completely romantic getaway. The Spa has a 10m pool, Sauna, Steam room and Jacuzzi which was lovely for what we needed. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and generous portions. We would have loved to explore the surrounding areas if we had more time.

Room Tip: We were in 313 which was Deluxe room River facing on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,285 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
500 reviews
21.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,070 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing