We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa was excellent”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Both myself and my partner visited the spa. Treatments were well priced rooms were exceptional and modern. All equipment was modern and spa staff were very competent. Lovely view over the river. I would return tomorrow can't comment on hotel as we didn't stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank misscassiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stopped by for dinner last night in the bar restaurant. Staff were friendly, and advised a 20minute wait for meals. Fair enough. However 1 HOUR later the food finally arrived - at least 3 of our four ordered meals. The 4th had been forgotten. The staff did a good job at recovery (free desert), but with two young and tired children this was too little, too late. We could tell from the faces on other tables that we were not the only ones enduring excessive waits. Poor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank jimjams01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My wife and I stopped here by chance, as weary and disabled visitors looking constantly in vain for restaurants with nearby free parking on Lake Windermere. It's one of the very few such places, at the bottom of the lake. From the outside it looked very attractive, on the waterside and we had high hopes of a good meal. But we were terribly disappointed. Food took well over half an hour to arrive, we didn't get what we ordered and we could have gotten a far better and far less expensive meal had we not been on grossly over-rated and grossly over-priced Lake Windermere. We would not recommend this to anyone as a good place to stay or eat, instead head many miles away to Windermere or Boness-on-Windermere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for our 'mini moon' at the beginning of March. The hotel and spa were very good but it was let down by the bar and restaurant. There were always lots of staff behind the bar but it took a while to get served, we had to wait a couple of times whilst people who had arrived after us got served as nobody bothered finding out or noticing who was next. Service in the restaurant could have been slicker too.
On the tables in the bar they were also advertising 'stay one night and get one free in March'. Whilst we didn't expect to have this applied to our stay it was a bit frustrating to have to look at whilst trying to relax and enjoy a drink!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Llcra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The restaurant is a total joke for a hotel of this standard. It is the same menu as the bar area so by the time we sat down and having waited 20 mins to place our order most of the specials were sold out, as well as some of the standard offers. Totally spoiled our stay and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hookdvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Met with work colleagues for dinner .. bar service excellent .. moved to the restaurant where we had reserved a table, this is where the wheel fell off .. service was slow, the waitress had no idea about the specials, however on we ploughed ... food was a mixture of very average meals albeit the starters beating the main course by a mile .. then came the bill .. 217 GBP for the five of us and after some discussion it was decided to leave a tip of 23 GBP .. the waitress refused to add the tip to the bill for the credit card as she complained it just "disappeared" and she saw none of it and we must pay the tip by cash .. I asked for her manager and a lady appeared who when I pointed out that what was being done I believed was illegal she tried to fob me off with oh well we could do it on this occasion as the end of the tax year was approaching !! Very strange indeed and hopefully something that will be addressed ...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Robincmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Visited area and visited here for lunch and dinner. Both were very enjoyable. Nice clean modern setting, quirky decoration. Ate in the bar at lunchtime and couldn't fault it. Soup and sandwich hit the spot. Decided to come back in the evening for dinner and wasn't disappointed. Staff were all very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaybel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,355 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
543 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
11.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £109 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing