We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel for exploring the lakes”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel for exploring the lakes”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed in the riverside Beatrix Suite. The room was beautiful and well laid out, there was a dolls house in the room for my eight year old daughter and a psp for my 11 year old son. The service and food were both exceptional and the kids loved calling room service at night to get their complementary hot milk and cookies. The hotel is in a great location for exploring both sides of Lake Windermere.

Room Tip: If travelling with children consider paying extra for a river view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion_McGiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    320
    122
    83
    55
See reviews for
317
612
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed on the17 July for a special treat for my wife and I.
Reception check in was excellent and very friendly, thank you, also well done to the new receptionist who was training.

We had room 105 this was perfect and of a very high standard of housekeeping and decor,
the bathrooms very modern, the queen size bed perfect.
View from the room was of the patio area and river, again wonderful.
Mid afternoon we used the spa,excellent!

Booked a table in the restaurant for 8.15 .the chef needs to inform the waiting on team once dishes have run out, having studied the menu for 15 minutes and seeking advise from my wife on choice ,only to be informed at point of ordering that the kitchen had run out of that item ( you then have to choose a new dish on the spur of the moment) this happened on 3 occasions.

The bar and lounge areas are very pleasant and relaxing and good service offered

Breakfast was of good choice and service

Excellent Hotel to be based at for the lakes or to relax in a very well managed friendly setting

Thank you to all

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

dont know were to start, food was bland and overpriced for what it was, my wife got served the wrong meal she asked for salad and it came with veg they took the plate scaped the veg off replaced it with salad and returned it? She then asked for condiments to which we are still waiting.
When we complained and asked about this we were met with well.....
And are still awaiting to see the Manager who would not front up to explain this or the actions of his/her staff....
Keep well away.... It looks like they serve you with the feeling they can do what they want as they will never see you again as most likely you are on Holiday.

Sean W

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank woffy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a mini suite for our 40th wedding anniversary. The room was excellent with all the facilities we would have wanted. It was a very busy weekend but the bar food arrived promptly despite that. Later for dinner, we had to chase a couple of things up but the service was very good and any issues were well explained (mostly to do with running out of some options due to the very heavy day they had).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We called here a few days ago as the setting is beautiful and found a table outside overlooking the river. I went in to order drinks and picked up a menu whilst my husband stayed outside with our three dogs.. I didnt get so much as a hello or welcome from the man behind the bar. I ordered my husband a pint of bitter and asked for a Bulmers pear cider. Barman proceeded to fill a glass with ice without asking me. I advised i would prefer not to have ice (as i assumed the ice was for me) so he just threw the ice back in his bucket without a word. We then ordered some food and my husband had the same miserable experience from the same man. I ordered Halloumi popcorn and sweet potato chips as I usually love halloumi and my husband ordered fish and chips. My choice was a mistake as I received small squares of halloumi that had been fried in a salty spicy sauce (when halloumi is salty enough already) and i couldn't eat it it was so bad. I didnt bother to complain as i guessed what reception i would receive from the barman... my husbands fish and chips were OK. Overall, such a shame as the setting was stunning the property looks lovely inside and out, but the service was awful and the food mediocre.

Room Tip: I am guessing that the rooms over the river have a lovely view, and would avoid those that overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We ate at the Swan as we stayed at a nearby B&B. We didn't book so the restaurant was full but the bar served the same food.
There wasn't a huge choice for main meals but the food was very good and very generous portions.
Overall the food was very nice it's just the bar lacked a little cosy / warmth feeling so wasn't somewhere we felt like staying for the rest of the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPKelogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel three times now. It's a lovely hotel. If you like floral prints you'll be in your element.

The rooms are very comfortable. Bathrooms great, beautiful fittings.
If I had to be picky the mattresses are way to soft for me, but that's a personal preference for a medium/firm mattress. And the bedroom furniture (dressing table/bedside tables etc) perhaps should be updated to match the decor better. But overall, very comfortable. Even the regular rooms are spacious. Request a room looking out onto the river.

Breakfast though was much improved compared with our last visit in 2012. No more self service toast and a bigger choice of cooked breakfasts (particularly if you like eggs). Nice to see that pancakes are still an option though! Breakfast room service much better than the bar.

But it's the restaurant/bar which I don't enjoy. The food is unforgivably overpriced. And not that special. The service is not good enough either. We had to ask three times for our table to be wiped. Is it not normal to wipe table after previous diners have vacated? And the gap between the first two diners in our party getting served and then the third and fourth was just a sign of poor communication between the kitchen and the waiting on staff. That really shouldn't be happening at a place that presents itself as The Swan does. Their prices show where they see their position in the market, but their service doesn't reflect that position.

We've also eaten at the Black Swan in Lower Withington three times and I'm really sorry to say we won't be going back. Exactly the same, very much on the expensive side (for what it is) with poor service and forgettable food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
484 reviews
21.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,048 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing