We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant overall”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2009

I think the other reviewers (bacardi69, ke1234 bolton, and allanb21) are being quite harsh on what we found to be a pleasant experience. we enjoyed a lovely mid-week break in August 09 and in spite of the terrible weather, found the facilities to offer everything we could have asked for.

The room was fine (neither exceptional, nor terrible) and unlike the other reviewers, found it to be entirely clean and pleasant. The absence of AC did mean we needed to use the fan they had provided though (dare I say) with the opening of a window, we found the air to be perfectly conditioned! nice toiletries (Occitane) too.

breakfast was delicious - choice of fruit salads, cereals, bread and pastries, then a good menu of anything from eggs benedict to full English to American pancakes (the latter was smaller than expected). service was excellent - they couldn't do enough for us.

leisure facilities - understandably sympathetic in design and layout to the old building within which they are located. Fitness room - good overall. pool/sauna/steamroom - average, because of size more than anything else.

evening - bar and restaurant menus were good (esp restaurant) - everything we tried was excellent, esp the risottos, though the bar burger was also great. perhaps a touch pricey but the experience was good. again, the service was excellent.

Vu Spa - massages were very good. very relaxing experience in peaceful surroundings.

The hotel decor in the communal areas had just been redone and we thought was very stylish, with comfortable chairs, cosy corners and enough technology. big screen TV in the 'play room' to watch the Ashes was most appreciated too.

There was a mix of residents - couples of all ages and families - to be expected during the school holidays anywhere in Europe. We acknowledge our experience was in the high season, so probably the busiest the hotel is going to be (esp given school holidays) and yet we still found the staff to be very pleasant and organised. not sure what the other reviewers expected: I can only hypothesise that looking after the wedding results in the rest of the hotel being under-staffed (there wasn't a wedding when we were there)? Or perhaps there is a different set of staff for the weekend?

vicinity - good location overall - opportunity to explore south/mid/west lakes very comfortably. hotel is close to Windermere, Bowness, Grassmere (don't miss the gingerbread shop!) and Ambleside. Coniston/Hawkshead also close by. the drive from bowness to Keswick was beautiful, while Ullswater was worth a drive north, as always.

If you are considering a stay in the lakes, I would recommend a stay here. Certainly better than the Newby Bridge hotel (just opposite the road/river) from The (much superior) Swan.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandAllison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,323 - 1,329 of 1,406 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2009

We have been regular clients of The Swan Hotel for a good few years now and have recommended the hotel to a lot of our family and friends but after our latest experience we will never go back and spend another penny at this place.

My husband booked the hotel for 6 nights as a surprise for my 40th birthday and booked the most expensive room in the hotel 'THE LUXURY SPA ROOM', the room is lovely at first glance,but on close inspection the carpets are filthy , the bathroom looked like it hadnt been cleaned properly and the dust on top of the units was appalling.The toilet cistern ran constantley (which the maid confirmed when we checked out), and the mini bar fridge was heating not cooling. A word of warning take ear plugs if you ever stay in this room as it is located next to the function room and is extremely noisy when there is a function taking place.Unfortuantley for us our first two nights we were unable to sleep as the partying went on into the small hours of the morning.
I know this is only a small complaint but we had no biscuits with the tea & coffee facilities, on the 3rd day i wrote a note to the maid to ask her to leave me a pack of biscuits ,i recieved a note back saying' as a rule this room does not normally get biscuits' -very strange even the cheapest hotels leave bikkies. Another quarm 1 tiny bottle of shower jel left in the bathroom-my teenage sons who were staying in the standard room were given at least 4 bottles of shampoo, shower jel etc, i know this may sound petty but the point is surely the most expensive room would be given priority!!!
The rooms werent getting cleaned till after 3 in the afternoon-(which is no good if you fancy an afternoon nap).

The most annoying thing was the attitude of the so called manageress, a very rude and unproffesional lady. The night of my birthday (3rd night) we went for a meal in the restaurant, my husband had bought me a very expensive bottle of champagne (which we had saved for this occasion) and took it into the restaurant in the ice bucket that had been provide by the hotel.This was carried in by my 14 year old son -who had been informed by the waitress that there would be a £15 charge to drink this in their restaurant.(My son only told me this later)
Had a fantastic meal no complaints there at all, and my husband also paid for another bottle of champagne (£75 LPR), the bill arrived and as you can imagine we were not happy to see the £15 charge on the bill,especially as we had spent an absolute fortune on the meal and various drinks.(At this point my son sheepishly told us that he had been told about the £15 fee.
We asked to see the manager (who turned out to be the lady which served us the Laurent Perrier that we had purchased from THEM, she was extremley rude and very unproffesional, and had not mentoned to us about the £15- to be honest it wasnt the £15 that upset us its the fact that we had spent a fortune so far at the hotel and in the bars , restaurant's and Spa during our so far 3 day stay, and it was just sheer greed !!

The impression we recieved was they couldnt give a damn , we mentioned to her about the Spa Room being noisey and dirty, and they reply was ' yes it is noisy when the functions are on', and it was basically if you dont like it tough!!

We decided to cut our stay short as we didnt want to stay another day or spend any more money with The Swan, after feeling we didnt matter to them wether we stayed or not-there was no compromise given , and the fact that we were spending a lot of money with them (on a regular basis )didnt seem to matter.

I am very disapointed as it spoilt what would have been a lovely birthday surprise, but one thing for sure-I WILL NEVER GO BACK AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vjg980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed overnight on Sunday at a reduced rate of £120 for a double room with breakfast. The hotel itself is located in a nice spot just by the river. There is nothing else nearby in the way of restaurants, shops etc, so you are restricted to the hotels services and tariffs unless you are prepared to travel by car. Our room was on the 2nd floor overlooking the river, it was fairly modern, although there was signs of mould on the ceiling and around the wooden window frame. - Nothing too nasty, I'm being critical but factual - this could have been cleaned up by the cleaners prior to our arrival! My fiance also complained of hairs being found in the bath belonging to a previous guest.. there was no air conditioning in the room and we found it most uncomfortable and stuffy overnight so we didn't sleep very well. The hotel staff were generally not very welcoming. When we arrived the hotel reception staff were not very informative about the hotels facilities or very friendly. There was a wedding on, however its no excuse and service with a smile isnt much to ask for. The staff in the bar/restaurant weren't friendly either no 'thank you's or please's or smiles", they looked fed up and uninterested.. the tables and bar area were filthy and sticky, there was plenty of staff on, they were not very well managed or bothered about the cleanliness of their bar/dining area or the customers comfort.. maybe a busy weekend, but that's no excuse.. 4* hotel, so I'd expect 4* service! The drinks and meals are extremely expensive, and not the best nor the worst I had experienced. I had a rump steak in the bar with onion rings and chips for £14.95, however after asking for a medium steak, I received one with half the way medium and the other half red/rare - so not very well cooked! Overall a fairly nice place, the staff need a good pep talk and maybe the management need to think about installing air conditioning in their '4 star' hotel and reviewing their bar/restaurant tariff's. I think that this hotel will lose repeat customers untill this has been addressed. Unfortunately, I wouldn't return unless these points were addressed. Shame really, could be a lovely, comfortable and welcoming place to send some time away.. PS Get there early, parking can be limited..

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacardi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Fab stay, excellent staff, just a little expensive to stay more than a long weekend, but they say you get what you pay for and in this case, that is right!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisR200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

on checkin we where asked for a credit card to swipe to cover any room expenses (presuming we wanted them !!!), and given a vague introduction to the facilities, no information given on dining facilities. We were given a room key and directions to the room. The room was on the second floor, which was still being cleaned 2 hours after checkin time, so we had to avoid cleaning trolleys and put up beds on the corridor. We had requested a deluxe double, which was not what we where allocated. The room was small, and dated. The bathroom had mould in the shower, which hadn't been cleaned form previous occupants. The bedroom was very warm, with small windows, but did have a fan, the room over looked the garden, which had a gate which was constanly blowing in the breeze and slamming against the post. There was a layer of dust round the edge of the bed and round the tv. On opening a drawer we found human hairs, not to mention the dead flies on the window sill. We contacted reception who informed us that all managers where dealing with a wedding and would deal with us when they had time. When the manager came to the room he was totally uninterested in our issues, and didn't offer us any solutions or alternatives. This left us with no choice other than refuse to stay in a very overpriced, dirty hotel with uninterested staff. On immediate check out we where offered no apology or alternative. Be warned the website looks fantastic but is very misleading. Reget not taking any photos.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ke1234Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Hi,

Sorry to write this but you want to stay clear of this hotel.

Sure the food is excellent and location is ok - but after that it's terrible. The standard rooms are shocking - no way on earth it's 4 star...more like faulty towers star.

The room they put us in one of the worst rooms i've ever stayed in (travel lodge p*ss all over it). There was mould/dirt everywhere you looked in the room, the toilet seat was broken, the shower was cracked, mould was growing up the whole of the wall, the shower head looked like it had never been cleaned. plus the room was so small you expect it to be single room - not double room for min 2 night stay!

Not only this, the facilities they said you could use was fully booked up....every person who booked into the hotel was shocked at the fact they couldn't use anything apart from the VERY small pool and bar.

Oh by the way - it's 1st come 1st serve in the restaurant....so good luck with that!

The place is mainly used by people using the restaurant and people staying for a wedding at the venue.

I would not recommend this to anyone who wants a romantic weekend away or a weekend with the kids. The hotel is located next the lake - however, so is the main road....it's a main route to the lake....enough said!

Only thing pulling this hotel into a 4 star is the food, which is excellent....apart from that stay clear unless you want to pay the premium for the luxury room.

I would give this hotel 3 stars max - i'm not joking - writing to AA to rethink the star rating for this place.

There is no air con in the rooms or fans...although it's not always hot in this country, god help you if its.

Oh yeah the wifi didn't work so the staff had to log on their own computers to find alternative accommodation - quality.

Very limited parking space so get there early - oh if you want sit next to the lake, that's a free for all - German style.

Sorry for not taking pictures - regretting this now.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allanb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We got married here a few weeks ago and had a wonderful time. The staff are always very friendly and helpful and the location is beautiful. For our wedding I stayed in a regular, river facing room and the deluxe Spa bedroom. While the regular rooms are nice, I do think that they are overpriced. Even at their lowest rate of £99, they are quite expensive for what you get. There is no a/c but they do provide a fan and the bathrooms need to be re-grouted. Essentially, they just need to be touched up and refurbished to be perfect. The do have comfy beds, gorgeous views and nice televisions.

Our spa bedroom for the night of our wedding was amazing though and we would highly recommend it. My husband loved the posh tap, the room was plush and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We'd love to go back!
The breakfast (included in the rate) was delicious and in fact everything we ate was really tasty. I've had breakfast, both lunch and dinner in the pub, dinner in river and our wedding meal and everything was tasty. Food and drinks are little spendy, but they are good quality.
Didn't get a chance to use the pool, fitness centre or spa but would love to return and take advantage of them, they looked great!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YankeeInTheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,355 reviews
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
543 reviews
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
11.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £109 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing