We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish i could of stayed longer”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wish i could of stayed longer”
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This was my second trip to the Swan Hotel after it was recommended by a friend. I am very hard to please and I would have no hesitation in recommending the Swan Hotel to others. We booked for two night’s accommodation for a girly weekend for 16 of us. The rooms had been renovated since my last stay and were lovely in all aspects. On the Friday we dinned in the restaurant this was again first class. Breakfast on Saturday was faultless. We had booked Spa days - it was amazing to have the Spa to our selves – the therapists were prefect and I highly recommend. I have read others reviews and I totally disagree saying the Swan was pricey. Lunch was excellent value for money for the amount of food, and quality of the produce, and service. The cost of treatments were very similar to other hotels in the area, I researched this before booking for such a large group of people. The only fault was the Spa had rung the bar to say there was a group of us for lunch, please seat these people together, I understand it was a busy day, but that didn’t happen, but the service and the quality of the food made up for this. The Swan is in a great location. One friend booked in again for her wedding anniversary with her children. The relaxed atmosphere made a prefect weekend away, we used all the factilies the staff were helpful and very pleasant – my only regret is that I couldn’t say for longer.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    333
    134
    90
    58
See reviews for
336
649
16
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stockport
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed at The Swan for a short break over the school half term holidays. We've stayed quite a few times before, always having a really nice experience, and this visit was no exception. All the staff were incredibly courteous and helpful, the quality of the room was superb, and the dining was excellent. We stayed in one of the suites which have a connecting room, which is ideal if you have a family and you want to get the kids settled down to an in-house movie while you take take the opportunity to dine in the restaurant! The pool/gym and spa are also both first rate facilities, and you get the same level of customer service as in the rest of the hotel, which is excellent. The Swan is an ideal venue for a family break and one which I would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockp0rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at the swan Hotel. We have stayed there before but, have always left our children at home. This time we took our children 3 and 8 as we were celebrating my Birthday and we were not disappointed. The hotel is great for children and people of all ages. The hotel bedrooms have been renovated since we were last there along with the rest of the hotel which is to a very good standard. I found the hotel to be exceptionally clean and I am fussy! We all eat in the restaurant we had a table for 11 the staff in the restaurant were exceptionally helpful and for all you Coeliacs out there I found the menu catered for my needs. They always have lots of specials on and are very quick to help if you have any allergies or special requirements. We will be visitin the Swan again hopefully soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

five of us went to this hotel for a spa day on sunday the 13th feb we had saved for ages. The hotel was indeed beautiful we went to use the facilities the pool was great .... we went into the steam room then the sauna all good but then .... when we came out the pool had turned int a childens playground we couldnt sit around the edge of the pool as kids were running all over splashing throwing toys , balls ect the jacuzzi was broke so we could not use that , one child was even taken into the steam room !!we then went to sit in reception we had been given robes (no slippers) but there was not enough seats two of us had to sit on the floor. We then decided to go to the chill out lounge to wait for our treatments but there was not enough seats and as we were in our robes it would have meant us going back down stairs to sit in the lounge and to get dressed and undresssed, after being asked to be quiet by the therapist ,we then had our treatments which were nice but we were not relaxed, we were not told when we booked about the lack of seating arrangements or about the volume of children around the pool area, we wrote and complained but the hotel believe that this spa day is exellent what we would say is lovely hotel but if there is a group of you book else where for your spa day do your home work and ask about how many people can be accomodated comfortably it cost us 350.00 for one of the most unrelaxing days we have ever had!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephineCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We had a two night, midweek break and from check-in to check-out the trip was fantastic.
Outside the hotel was immaculate and beautifully maintained, inside it was stunning.
The decor was beautiful, our deluxe river view room beyond expectations, pool area modern and very clean. Restaurants and bars were excellent, the food divine. Just a shade pricey, our only negative. Staff were attentive and friendly, breakfast was superb.
We are booked to return!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshirecouple92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

My friend and I stayed for one night after finding the Swan on Mr and Mrs Smith hotels. Be careful when reading older reviews. The hotel has been totally renovated since it was flooded and re-opened 2010. So older reviews are for pre flood and aren't representative.
The pool, sauna, steam room etc are wonderful. The public rooms are modern and there are lots of areas to relax in. Service and food in the restaurants and bar were great. Breakfast upstairs was the best I've had in a hotel.
The bedrooms again are modern with a lovely bathroom. The only thing letting the rooms down was some rather ordinary and somewhat out of place standard hotel wood furniture.
I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone. There was a good cross section of guests. All ages and everyone appeared relaxed and chilled.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewhite101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We had dinner at the Swan one wintry Sunday evening. The decor and atmosphere is lovely, lots of little rooms with log fires and it's very peaceful for spending the afternoon readng the paper etc. The style reminds me a little of the Punchbowl at Crosthwaite or the Plough at Lupton so if you're a fan of those try here. We chose to eat from the bar menu and even though it's a little pricey, the quality of food, standard of service and atmosphere is extremely high so you get what you pay for. Our only gripe is that they served my husband's pie and mashed potato in separate pots on a wooden board which made it very difficult to eat. We ended up swapping our plates as I was having the gourmet burger. We don't mind these kind of gimmicks but they need to suit the meal being served otherwise eating your dinner just becomes a challenge of your dexterity. Minor gripe though and would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank City_FolkTravelBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
8.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
506 reviews
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,365 reviews
21.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,100 reviews
11.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Property: Swan Hotel & Spa
Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing