We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Superb hotel! Great staff amazing food. Lovely room and very clean

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here 10+yrs ago in the time share and had a great week, and 10yrs later another break & we were not disappointed.
All the public areas were smart clean and comfy, but cant understand why Dolly Blues bar is there ,whilst upstairs remaing closed all day is a lovely lounge with bar, but OK no views out over the whitewater.
Breakfast is good , no complaints,run of the mill buffet or something from the menu,Your choice ,its good either way.
Our room 215 was nice,with a view over the car park, not that bad ! we had our own private balcony with table &chiars.Walk to the Transport museum for a morning or afternoon out, its really good.

Room Tip: dont have one, as we had room over looking car park, which wasnt a problem asdwe didnt stay in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 246aberdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The Whitewater Hotel is situated in a nice location. We were allocated Room 102 (Superior Room). A tidy enough, spacious room but with a rather small, rock solid, double bed. Unfortunately we had a trouble with the toilet. The flush mechanism was not working and this was reported to the receptin staff who were polite enough. We recieved no feedback on this and the problem persisted until check out. By the time we were leaving there was a slight stench from the pipes. We enquired into the report of the fault on leaving and were told that a part had been ordered. Fair enough, these things happen, but feedback and or the opportunity to move rooms would have been nice.
The biggest dissapointment was the "buffet" breakfast. Poorly set up and very tight for the amount of guests. The orange juice tasted off and the food was generally unpleasant. This despite cheerful and friendly staff. We gave the breakfast a miss on the second morning.

A real shame, lovely looking room with nice view over waterfall but dissapointing, non remedy to issues and a very poor breakfast. Also a rather uncomfortable bed. Potential to be a far better hotel.

Lake Windemere and surrounding area beautiful, will return but unlikely to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

learned about this hotel through groupon.

Upgraded our deal to a room with 4 poster overlooking river, it was lovely.

staff very friendly, breakfast was lovely and leisure facility excellent

would certainly go there again as just 15 minutes from Bowness and lots to visit.

would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: ask for upgrade if you can afford it but the standard rooom looked nice because we could see in when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We held our wedding reception at the Whitewater Hotel on 25th June 2011. We were looked after extremely well from when we booked the venue right up until we left the morning after our wedding. Charlie, who managed our booking, was always at the end of the phone or email, ready to answer questions, give advice, or help us in any way she could with any awkward requests. On the wedding day, everything went really smoothly and we felt happy leaving the running of the day in their hands. The wedding breakfast was beautiful - many of our guests complimented the quality of the food, and were also extremely pleased with the quality of their rooms. We were extremely happy with our choice of the hotel for our wedding reception.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We had our wedding here in June 2011, we had 40+ guests stay the night before and 70+ the night of the wedding.
We live in the USA so arranging a wedding over the phone / email was a daunting task, however Charlie the wedding planner could not have made things any easier for us. She was amazingly brilliant about all our last minute changes and very flexible about menus and the beverage options. Charlie helped us to find local flowers, make up, hair and all the other important stuff. Prior to the wedding my bridesmaid and I stayed at the hotel for an evening to taste the food and get an idea of the layout. Charline in particular was wonderful and helped us will all our questions. We were given keys to empty rooms so that we could get an idea of the different standard of rooms. Food that night was wonderful and the chef cooked a few extra taster veggie dishes for us to sample for the wedding meal.
The hotel gave us a blanket rate for bed and breakfast for the guests and also did a wonderful deal for the night before the wedding dinner. Every guest was happy with the food (one friend ate at least 3 desserts) on the night before the wedding and every guest commented on how welcoming the hotel staff were. Not one guest complained about their bedroom and most were more than happy with their rooms. We were able to personally assign rooms to our friends and family which was brilliant as we could put family members in rooms with adjoining balconies and also accommodate any guests with special access requirements. The day before the wedding most guests were sat out in the sun at the Dolly bar, everyone had great food and had a wonderful afternoon.

The wedding day itself was fantastic, although it did rain, the staff were wonderful, they were attentive without being intrusive and they seemed to be enjoying the party as much as the guests. Charlie was a must have on the day, she helped coordinate with the registrar, florist and helped to make sure the day went to plan. The wedding breakfast was amazing, we had lamb which everyone really enjoyed and the sticky toffee pudding was unbelievably good- same friend ate about 4 portions. We took our own cheese wedding cake and they were great about storing it and cutting it up after dinner. Beer/ wine etc were very reasonably priced, especially for a 4* hotel.
Our wedding suite was lovely, plenty of room for getting ready and a stunning view. Receptionists could not have been more helpful, down to checking the weather forecast every hour for me when it looked like rain was due. They were great at recommending local places to eat and visit.
In summary, a wonderful weekend for all and most friends & family have asked if we can do it all again next year!
Thanks to all the staff who made our day so wonderful

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeyUSA_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Booked a romantic package for 2 nights at this hotel which included 2 hours of massage each. When we booked, the hotel reception told us we could have any treatments we wanted as long as it's 2 hours, but forgot to mention it to the spa....total lack of communication.

So just imagine, my husband and I turned up at the spa to book our treatments, and there were bluntly told that we don't have a choice and we need to have what's in the package deal! I don't see many men who would be thrilled at the idea of having a facial 2 days in a row! Neither was my husband!

After hours of going back and forth between the spa reception and the spa mangers, we finally came to an agreement that would work best for both parties! And please let me mention how kind (or not) of the reception to write the treatments down so we don't forget!

Treatment day, band on time, we turned up at the spa, excited to be pampered......but to our great disappointment and frustration, we were told ONCE AGAIN that we can only have what was included in the package! So all that was agreed the day before by one of their staff, means "bananas" to them! They messed up twice, but did not offer to help neither did they apologise for messing us about!

In the end, we just cut our stay short as we did not want to spend any more time in such a place where everyone is so argumentative and useless! And some people said it right, the staff did not care and could not be bothered!

As a final word, you have ruined a very special time for us, and for that reason I would not recommend you to any of my friends or family, and to anyone reading this!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Dviks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
2.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
530 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,913 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: £125 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Property With A One Rosette Fine Dining Restaurant And The Dolly Blue Bar And Grill Restaurant. Sitting On The Bank Of The River Leven, This Property Offers Stunning Views And The Perfect Base To Explore The Area. Close By Are The Lakes Aquarium, Haverthwaite Steam Railway, Lakeland Cruises, Beatrix Potter And The Lakeland Motor Museum Featuring The Donald Campbell Bluebird Museum. The Perfect Lakeland Venue! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing