We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend break here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights with the use of a Groupon voucher. We were upgraded to a room with a balcony and spa bath. Sadly the weather was not good enough for us to make use of the balcony but we loved the spa bath! The views were fabulous from the balcony and window - the hotel is in a wonderful situation. The room was large and clean, the staff were very friendly and the pool was very good. We have no complaints about breakfast whatsoever and we liked the free cream tea and wine on arrival. Free wi-fi was included in the price so all in all we were very happy and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Fabulous views especially from the balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryblue001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    245
    114
    37
    32
See reviews for
129
473
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Phoned direct and got a 4 poster room for the price of a standard room. Room overlooking river - be prepared for noisy river, which we found theraputic. Steam train passes hotel at regular intervals throughout the day. Room was spacious, well maintained. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly. Prices in bars and restaurants were not cheap, but acceptable for 4* hotel. Food was very good, especially cooked breakfast. Spa was attached to hotel. Was not overcrowded, which was surprising for August weekend. Facilities were clean and atmosphere was relaxing. I have been to many spa hotels in the UK and this one compares well. Hotel is a little way away from main Lake District tourist area and there is not much to do around hotel without transport, but it is a great get-away hotel

Room Tip: Ring direct rather than using agent websites - may get better price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whirleygirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

we stayed here in June, we bought a voucher from Groupon. Hotel very nice, Staff pleasant, and the room was large but a little dated . We had a Jacuzzi in our room but we couldnt get it to work -no-one came to look at it, but because it didnt work they sent a bottle wine. In the morning just as we were leaving our room we found the emergency cut off switch for the jacuzzi in the wardrobe in the bedroom!!! The pool was really nice but unfortunatley we couldnt use it in the morning due to chemical imbalance. Breakfast was ok had better though, powdered scambled egg never good.We had a good time and for the 89.00 we paid the hotel was worth it but wouldnt have wanted to pay 250.00. we left a card saying we were disappointed about the jacuzzi but have never had a reply.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riley021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This hotel is TOTALLY NOT disabled friendly. It is a labyrinth of passages and stairs. While it does have 2 lifts they don't help. The leisure center was well done HOWEVER IT WAS ACROSS THE ROAD. BUT I must say they do a great Shepherds pie, a little dry, but fine with extra gravy..Enough reason to stay?? Not if you have stair and walking issues

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLD-N-DANCIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk west midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

A starrrr brilliant and going to try and go back every weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brademi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Staff at the front Desk excellent, @the bar and restaurant excellent in-short all staff are Excellent was a very warm welcome, stayed in a superior room overlooking and hearing the water falls on a river large bright rooms,
The Food was tasty and great cooked from your taste, the hotel is very clean, quite and best place to relax your head if coming from major busy and noisy cities.
Gym is not the biggest i have been (only because i normally use the Olympic gym) but it suits guests/visitors needs.
Surrounding environment is great for a walk.
All in all this is a ***** quality hotel me and my partner will definitely come back here during the winter for another amazing experience and will recommend to friends as well.
Thanks to all WhiteWater
Amadeus & Nanzia
05/09/2011

Room Tip: book superior ones overlooking the water falls with more money book the ones with top balcony its th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanziaDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

The service we received from the moment we arrived was exceptional, the room was very comfortable with a stunning view from the balcony, the food in the restaurant was tremendous. All the staff were helpful & friendly

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
2.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
9.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
8.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
8.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 STAR PROPERTY WITH A ONE ROSETTE FINE DINING RESTAURANT AND THE DOLLY BLUE BAR AND GRILL RESTAURANT. SITTING ON THE BANK OF THE RIVER LEVEN, THIS PROPERTY OFFERS STUNNING VIEWS AND THE PERFECT BASE TO EXPLORE THE AREA. CLOSE BY ARE THE LAKES AQUARIUM, HAVERTHWAITE STEAM RAILWAY, LAKELAND CRUISES, BEATRIX POTTER AND THE LAKELAND MOTOR MUSEUM FEATURING THE DONALD CAMPBELL BLUEBIRD MUSEUM. THE PERFECT LAKELAND VENUE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing