We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
england
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad staff”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is nice right next to a river. It's clean. But staff are terrible . They just seem slow and not intrested at All. Breakfast 1 day was table service n was lovely . Next day buffet style which wasn't as nice. The pool n gym are good. But sadly not much else near by to do.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahfoley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    258
    120
    39
    34
See reviews for
139
515
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Special thanks to Chris and the team for laying on a wonderful 30th Birthday Luncheon after
this years AGM. The Owners Club and the Whitewater enjoy a very special relationship as
partners at the wonderful Lakeland Village resort.

Holiday owners of the apartments and cottages always enjoy the superb food and services provided by the hotel and leisure centre, this special occasion was exceptionally well attended
and the food and atmosphere did not fail to make this a very special and memorable gathering.

Wally Francis - Chairman Lakeland Village Owners Committee

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review and for the 5 star rating. We are pleased the 30th birthday celebrations went well and those who attended enjoyed the event.
The hotel will continue to strive to provide first class facilities and services to the owners and guests of the adjacent time share resort and the hope the next 30 years will be as succesful.

Thanks and Regards from the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel is nice and it's location is good, but there is a massive problem with staff.
There were no waitresses available to show customers to tables when they were waiting to be seated in the restaurant.
There was one barman who was very slow trying to do the bills and take orders and pour drinks and couldn't cope, 15minutes to get a drink!.
The medium-rare fillet steak came out well done, probably because there were no waitresses to bring it out as soon as it was done.
At breakfast there were lots of waitresses, but the buffet ran out out of orange juice,bacon and beans while people were waiting and the tables weren't set up with cutlery or cups. I've never heard so many people asking for cups/plates/knives/butter/hot water/toast .....
Overall a nice place let down by a lack of evening staff and very inexperienced breakfast staff.
CHOOSE SOMEWHERE ELSE UNTIL THEY TRAIN and EMPLOY more staff !

Room Tip: Dont go until more staff have been employed/trained up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 864Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that your stay was marred by some service issues. The hotel and team send their apologies for the shortfalls you describe.

Kind Regards,

The Team at the Whitewater Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seascale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight before launching the cruiser on the lake for the season. On arrival I was asked if I needed help with my luggage and given good information about the facilities. We made good use of the fantastic gym, swimming pool, steam room, whirlpool and squash courts. Had a top quality meal at the bar, all the staff we were greeted by were excellent albeit friendly and easy going. The room we had was the family room which had plenty of space, was exceptionally clean and tidy, shower was amazing. We have stayed in various hotels around the area and this was by far the best one for me, personally. The only improvement would be wifi strength. Would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and for the excellent 5 star rating. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

As a thankyou and in the hope we might see you for a return visit, if you quote your TA pseudonym we can offer you a 15% discount off best available rates.

Kind Regards,

The Team at the Whitewater Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddleworth
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Booked just a night for a relax. Rang the hotel for ideas on packages as the website wasn't clear. We were offered an executive room with a reduction Very disappointed the balconies are wasted, no chairs and feel very council building! Room ok. Leisure club and spa treatments fantastic . We ate in the restaurant and it was good BUT £25 for the beef is really expensive, we can eat at Michelin starred restaurants for the same price . We had a lovely relax but for £350 for a night , dinner and an hour of treatments just not good enough

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliejofsaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your reveiw and for the 4 star rating. We appreciate your response and feedback.

As a thankyou and in the hope we might see you for a return visit, if you quote your TA pseudonym we can offer you a 15% discount off best available rates.

Kind Regards,

The Team at the Whitewater Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

It is a hotel / B&B.
The Internet and phone reception was extremely poor any where in the building. Which makes it extra hard work if you are on the road for business.
the beds where good. Have a massive health club in the next build was a huge plus. latest equipment and plenty of room for the free and machine weights.
I had been told the food is below par, the breakfasts were full and hearty. the dinner in the bar / restaurant was good.
The laundry service was very good too
Would be good for couples or families having a escape.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMtraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and for choosing the whitewater hotel despite having heard / read mixed reports before your visit. I am not sure by reading your review if you actually enjoyed your stay or not.

As a thank you and in the hope you did enjoy your stay and that we will see you make a return visit soon, we will offer you a 15% discount off the best advertised rate for any subsequent stay. Simply call the hotel direct, quote your TA pseudonym and we will offer the discounted rate.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Whitewater Hotel

The WW Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night after a walk round coniston on a bed and breakfast basis on a late rooms deal. Room was lovely, though we did have a view of a roof. The food was amazing, bit pricey but very nice. Will stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and for the 4 star rating. It is important to us that we get feedback, both positive and constructive.

As a thank you and in the hope you do make that return visit soon, we will offer you a 15% discount off the best advertised rate for any subsequent stay. Simply call the hotel direct, quote your TA pseudonym and we will offer the discounted rate.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Whitewater Hotel

The WW Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
1.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
501 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
7.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.8 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,107 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Property With A One Rosette Fine Dining Restaurant And The Dolly Blue Bar And Grill Restaurant. Sitting On The Bank Of The River Leven, This Property Offers Stunning Views And The Perfect Base To Explore The Area. Close By Are The Lakes Aquarium, Haverthwaite Steam Railway, Lakeland Cruises, Beatrix Potter And The Lakeland Motor Museum Featuring The Donald Campbell Bluebird Museum. The Perfect Lakeland Venue! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing