We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitewater Hotel Newby Bridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Annan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Whitewater Hotel Newby Bridge”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Dinner (chicken salad) was tasty when it arrived one hour and 10 minutes after it was ordered. 2 hours from request to receipt of an iron and ironing board. Breakfast awful, coffee and toast arrived 10 minutes after I had eaten the poor attempt at cooked bacon and the mush that was masquerading as scrambled eggs (there was no-one around to offer the option of a fried egg!). Very young staff who could not cope with a busy hotel, not a sign of any Duty Manager. All in all one of the worst hotel experiences I have had. It was almost as if the staff, rather than welcoming you, ran the other way to avoid any questions they may be asked. Doubt I'll be staying there again even though it is in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Gordon,

We are really sorry your experience with us was not great and for the delays with the service we provide. We appreciate your comments and will take them on board.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us this time.
Apologies and Kind Regards,
The Team at the WW Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    258
    120
    39
    34
See reviews for
139
515
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Me and the wife stayed here for 2 night and were very happy . Location is superb, gorgeous scenery and the comfort in the hotel was fantastic. The staff were so professional(Robyn) and would definatly return for another stay .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mb1972brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TA and for the perfect 5 star score! It was very pleasing to read your comments and again, thankyou. Your comments will be passed on to the whole team whom I am sure will appreciate the read as they do work hard to keep our guests happy.
We hope to welcome you back to the Whitewater again, and as a thankyou gesture we will be happy to discount our best available rate to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks and Regards,
The Team at the WW Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

On arriving we were given a room I can only describe as a cell with a tiny window looking straight at the roof and skyline with zero light or view . My wife went to reception and the staff changed the room for us to room 202 , what a difference the room was fantastic .We have for the last ten yrs stayed at the swan on our wedding anniversary at this time of year and fancied a change which is why we picked this hotel. The staff were pleasent but all seem to have two or three other jobs besides their own. What a contrast the spa staff were , poor at best would describe the receptionist no idea , no enthusiasm , I have had my own beauty and hair business for 35 yrs so I am speaking with some knowledge. Dirty windows by the pool , rust on railings and a need for paint generally .
Overall the hotel was ok the food in the restaurant was fantastic but it's back to the Swan nxt year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 187069Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel for the past 20 years. However over time (more recently) it isnt half as nice. Its decor needs a facelift including all rooms. Its expensive as well. We now stay at the Swan which is just down the road. Its similar price, rooms and hotel its self are gorgeous.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Krystyna,
Thanks for taking the time to post your review.
Your comments have been noted; in terms of decor etc, this is very subjective and we do appreciate we will not cater for all tastes in terms of colour schemes etc. I would say however that the communal areas of the hotel have all been re-furbished and in some cases re-built since 2010 and in general terms the hotel has a fresh & modern look and feel to it. We generally receive good feedback on the rooms too which also undergo a permanent refurb and redecoration programme. You comment that "all rooms" need attention but you only stayed in one of them so I am not sure how you can justify that comment?
I can´t say I feel the hotel has gone downhill; I have been involved with it the past 10 years or so and I know all we have done is spend money on improvements but as I say, we will not suit all tastes and budgets. Thanks again for posting your subjective and speculative review,
The team at WWH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Started in the Spa with a hot stone massage, facial and lunch (pamper package). A lovely, lovely experience, fab facilities and super friendly staff. Had drinks and tea in the Dolly Blue Bar, again cracking service and tasty food. Breakfast was as I'd hoped it would be...I'm very fond of a hotel full English :) Staff really helpful and friendly, happy to get any extras you might need (I asked for mustard, poached eggs and extra coffee).

Room was spotless and comfy.

Location is a bit 'out of the way' but perfect for getting away from it all and Ambleside and Windermere are a short drive away. The riverside setting is lovely and peaceful.

Will be returning for another weekend away in hopefully not too distant future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PurpleDPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience you had with us on the TA forum and for the great 5 star review. We welcome your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your spa and meal experience.
As a thankyou gesture and in the hope we will see you again, if you wish to visit us again, call the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym to receive a 15% discount off best advertised rate.

Thanks and Regards,
The Team at WW Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is in a lovely situation with excellent rooms and good leisure facilities.
We are a family of 3 staying for a spring break.
The staff were polite and enthusiastic and keen to please.
Unfortunately there seemed to be a distinct lack of senior supervision here. Our bookng of a family room became a double room. There was enough space for an extra bed to be added, and we were given a discount.
During our 3 day stay we overheard many other similar mistakes being made, with presumably similar discounts. For example a steak in the restaurant which I ordered rare was served nearer to well-done. Another little discount.
The owners really ought to take a little more control to prevent these frequent problems with bookings and service. They would reduce losses because of discounts, and improve their reputation.
By the way, I am a tolerant kind of person who will put up with some idiosyncracies, but for these prices, they should really pull their fingers out!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi,

Thanks for these constructive comments, which have been noted and will be acted upon.

Kind Regards,

Whitewater Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very impressed with this lucky find. Very friendly staff with happy smiling faces. Comfortable room and comfortable bed, which is unusual - even in four star hotels the beds can be cheap and hard. Good bathroom and shower, well lit. Excellent restaurant overlooking the river, exceptional food and lovely staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Obviously a river view would be number one choice but we were only there for one night so the car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickle2014, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Karen,

Many thanks for writing this review and for awarding us the 5 score. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a good meal experience.
As a thankyou and in the hope we will see you again we will be happy to discount our best available rate to you by a further 15%. For any future booking if you contact the hotel direct and quote your TA pseudonym we will be able to apply this discount.
Thanks and Regards,
The Team at the WW Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
1.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
500 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,286 reviews
7.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
381 reviews
5.8 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Property With A One Rosette Fine Dining Restaurant And The Dolly Blue Bar And Grill Restaurant. Sitting On The Bank Of The River Leven, This Property Offers Stunning Views And The Perfect Base To Explore The Area. Close By Are The Lakes Aquarium, Haverthwaite Steam Railway, Lakeland Cruises, Beatrix Potter And The Lakeland Motor Museum Featuring The Donald Campbell Bluebird Museum. The Perfect Lakeland Venue! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing